$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Dream South Beach

4 stars
View map of 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dream South Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loving Couple
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 22, 2011

Miami Madness

Our stay at the Palmer House Hotel was wonderul the atmoshere was very elegant and romantic. When we arrived at the hotel one of the staff members greeted us at our cab to take our bags inside. Once inside we was greeted by the receptionsist who checked us in our room even though it wasn't check in time. When we entered the room we were really impressed with it. It was a little smaller than we expected but it still was suitable for our stay. The lighting was a bit of a problem when it came down to getting diva-fied but other than that the lighting was great... The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs.. Our stay was GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chipwich
Business
Belleville, NJ, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Good to try out

This hotel is definitely different from most other experiences. Why? It's the lighting. The front lobby allows ample sunlight to pour through during the day and is lit enough by night. The elevators have dim lighting which is fine. So, you hit the floor for your rooms and it has the feel of something psychedelic. The carpet has an interesting embroidered print that could easily be on a curtain and the white light around the individual doorways are what provide the most illumination for the floor. Then you get into your room and there is no bright light. You do have to play with the buttons to figure out how the light settings work and the brightest setting they have is what you're going to get. There's no way to make it any brighter. Also, there were no windows for our room, so our circadian rhythms were thrown off for the first night. We woke up and thought, 'is it night or day?' With that said, it was an interesting experience and definitely worth trying once for a short stay since no other hotel I've been to, abroad or in the US is set up like this. Of note, we were in the room to shower after the beach, to get ready for the evening, and to sleep. So, we were not spending large quantities of time hanging around the room. If we did, we probably would've gone a little stir-crazy. The beds are quite comfortable. There are switch-operated lights on either side of the bed with flexible heads which were a nice touch for night reading. The shower pressure is decent with good temperature. There is turn-down service in the evening to prep your bed/room. They change towels, prep your bed for sleep, and leave organic chocolates (interesting texture and taste) on your bed. The provide ice in your ice bucket each night. There is no ice/water machine you can access yourself. When we needed more ice, the front desk staff gave me another bucket filled with ice. Oh yes, another thing to note is that in our room, the doors for the toilet and shower are glass which means it's all transparent. This may be uncomfortable for friends going on a trip perhaps. But, there are french doors that could be closed to block the sleeping area from the shower/toilet area. So, it's not as though you can't have privacy. The staff was very pleasant and cooperative. We never had any problems with them. They were very polite and accommodating. There is an initial $300 charge to cover potential costs during your stay that is returned to your credit card afterwards. The "business center" they talk about on their website is actually one computer in the lobby that you have to pay to access, pay to print, and pay per the minute. We never used it, but had asked about it. I had to do some work which I ended up doing on my cell phone. The hotel is conveniently located--2 blocks from the beach, 1 block from Ocean drive with many restaurants, 4 blocks south and 2 blocks east of Espanola Way also with many restaurants and bars. Some places we ate at within walking distance were: David's Cafe (moderately-priced cuban food), Spiga (homemade fresh Italian), Tudor House (Dream's restaurant which has interesting combinations prepared by a well-known food network chef), Puerto Sagua (cuban food with cheap breakfast), etc. The rooftop area is nice with a pool that has a max depth of 3 ft. So, it's more for lounging around and tanning than any kind of swimming. The rooftop bar has amazing drinks and the happy hour from 5-9pm offers 2-for-1 drinks that can be shared among 2 people. A lot of other 2-for-1 offers are per person at other places. Peggy's punch and the mango mojitos are my recommenations for refreshing alcoholic beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
juhasev
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 1, 2011

Fantistic boutique hotel

Located in the center of South Beach and surrounded by coffee shops, restaurants and top tier night clubs the location could not be any better. You do not want to bring your car to this hotel ($34 / night), walk around instead. If you need a car you can rent one at south beach. The staff at the hotel is exceptional, however there are couple of issues with the amenities. The biggest problem is the lighting in the rooms, there is no way to get bright lights on, things like ironing a black shirt will frustrate you. Also it is worth noting that there is only one retro fitted elevator that takes forever, we ended up using the stairs all the time for speed (3rd floor). Highly recommended place to stay, you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car and park it at the hotel! You will not need it here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shiles
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 29, 2011

Best Birthday

Being a frequent travler to Sobe I expected the same hotel experience i have received from the many other establishments I had stayed. The staff at this hotel made my Birthday stay above all the rest. Highly recommend staying here. Be sure to get at least a junior suite as the regular rooms are very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lecheentucereal
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Nice Hotel, Good Location, Great Staff

Nie hotel in good location (quiet on Collins Ave but close to everything on the beach). Small room but well furnished and comfortable/clean (once you get used to the clear bathroom doors). Staff was always happy to help and say hello, which was nice as we checked in very late and checked out very early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try David's Cafe nearby for cafe con leche, small meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayou Bill
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Romantic Mood

The room's are stunning, romantic, perfect for a couple's getaway into fantasyland. They're small, and some of the design elements and lighting can be a bit impractical at times (see-through bathroom walls), but worth it for the feel of other-wordly magic. The staff is very friendly, helpful, from the concierge down to the bellhops. Location is convenient to everything South Beach has to offer, only a block from the beach and shopping. The connected restaurant at the Palmer House makes room service more than a mundane experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a mini-mart across the street to avoid the mini-bar temptation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stefi
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great hotel!!

The Dream South Beach is awesome! we loved it! This is a cosy and nice hotel, specially for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mitch48
Business
new jersey
Jan 15, 2012

Good Experience

Definetely, unique atmosphere. room is small though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOBE regular
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great room, strange bathroom

We loved the hotel and the location was amazing. The bathroom was very strange. Be VERY comfortable with whoever you share a room with because the door is clear glass so there is zero privacy.... That's right, you have to watch your spouse, partner, or friend do a number two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickname goes here
Business
Michigan
Jan 31, 2012

If you'd like something different...

Rooms are very unique, but not ideal for an extended stay since they are small. This place is for those that prefer form over function. Great for a night or two. Roof pool is phenominal. Hotel staff is great. Parking is pricey, but what isn't in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top