$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Dream South Beach

4 stars
View map of 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
160 reviews
great long weekend

The hotel was located right near everything in South Beach. Location was awesome. 5 min walk to the... See full review

  • Teenray
  • Jun 30, 2015
Best hotel we've ever stayed at!

This is an outstanding hotel. The rooms were spotless. The lighting was romantic. The high bar pool... See full review

  • Heath
  • Jun 23, 2015

With an Art Deco exterior enhanced by palm trees, the Dream South Beach in Miami Beach offers comfortable lodging in an atmosphere that combines modern styling with tropical influences. The heated outdoor swimming pool located on the rooftop is surrounded by chaises and loungers that allow you to comfortably get a nice tan from Florida's sun. You can also sit under a cabana on the rooftop terrace and browse the Web after connecting to the hotel's Wi-Fi network.

Highlights

The Dream South Beach in Miami Beach overlooks golden sandy beaches along the Atlantic Ocean. The Wolfsonian Museum and Bass Museum of Art are also within walking distance from this hotel. When hunger kicks in, you can reserve a table at the Naked Taco and enjoy some authentic taquitos stuffed with beef and loads of Mexican sides. This restaurant has its own bars, which serve more than 100 different varieties of tequila.

In addition to sipping some drinks at the Bar Manana or Bar Noche, you can head to the Highbar and enjoy the cool lounge and its 1970s theme. This rooftop bar rivals some of the best nightlife venues in South Beach. After an evening of partying in South Beach, you can make an appointment at the Shala Spa to receive Abhyanga and Chakra Balancing treatments. 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dream South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Dream South Beach Rooms

Deluxe King Room
1 King Bed-270 sq ft-37 inch LCD TV-mood lighting-WiFi-In room safe-Hairdryer-bath robes
Junior Suite Queen
1 queen bed junior suite with sofa-350 sq ft-42in LCD TV-WiFi-mood lighting"full size mirror

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Nearby off-site meeting space available.

Dining

Naked Taco
Naked Taco is Chef Ralph Pagano's spin on Mexican food. Located in the heart of Miami's South Beach, you we surely enjoy the experience of the Naked Taco.
Highbar
Think blazing sun and glittering nights. Picture lush landscaping and a pinnacle-of-the-1970s glammed-out lounge with an infinity pool, signature cocktails and delicious Mexican fare from Naked Taco restaurant. Its Studio 54-meets-South Beach, and it has already started by the time you wake up. And those jaw-dropping Atlantic Ocean views? They never close.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Dream South Beach

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dan78
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Claustrophobic

The location was great but the room sucked. No windows or balcony on the side and everything was like a closed closet. You would be unable to stay more than a day. There was no space to move around and the windows behind the bed were useless as there were sealed by the huge bed frame and heavy drapes. It was claustrophobic. As you enter the room on the left was the rest room and on the right there was the bathroom both had transparent doors. The idea of my wife looking at me when in a semi closed and completely transparent restroom is not romantic for me.The shower also sucked. Moreover, we noticed the staff entering our room when we were out to replace things when we did not ask to do so. You are also charged for the internet on a daily basis even if you do not use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great dining places and clubs on the Ocean Drive at a walking distance from this hotel.

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ayperi
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 16, 2014

This was not a dream; it was a nightmare

Pros: Staff was very friendly and very helpful! Cons: Lighting IS AWFUL! It is fine for a "romantic night" but if you want to see anything, forget it. Too dark to put on makeup. Too dark to read anything. The shower had good water pressure, but the lighting was impossible! There will be a $10 a day HIDDEN FEE regardless of what you are told when you register! $10 for "internet, towels, and the roof top pool regardless of whether you will use them!!! That is FALSE ADVERTISING! There is NO COFFEE POT! Really? What hotel room doesn't have a coffee pot? The refrigerator is filled with their overpriced drinks that no one wants to drink, so you have to purchase a disposable cooler and fill it with your own drinks.(The staff will gladly get you lots of ice. Tip them well, they deserve it!) The pictures on the website are very misleading. This was my first visit to South Beach, and the hotel turned me off enough to not want to go back! The reviews of this hotel were so good, and I was so excited to go to South Beach. I was so disappointed in the hotel. While in SoBe, I went to other hotels and asked to be shown around. I cannot believe I ended up in one of the worst! Who writes the reviews on this site? To the hotel management: Put real lights in at least the bathroom & shower! Don't hide your $9.99 fee and surprise your guests! (in fact, stop doing that! Add it into the price of your room or give it for free! It costs your little to nothing! It is false advertising to charge $9.99 a day for free stuff! I was SO DISAPPOINTED in this hotel that I may never return to South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clevelander is a fantastic place for happy hour and evenings. The manager & bartenders are great! If you are a veteran, there is a VFW in South Beach. It is a fabulous place with a great view and some of the friendliest people we met in SoBe. Do not miss going to the VFW! I saw a review that called the VFW a "dive bar". Really? This place is gorgeous. It is in a first class condo with a stunning view! Johnny Rockets is the best breakfast deal. They also are a great place for burgers in the evening. The service at Johnny Rockets ROCKS! Mac's Club Deuce was the BEST "dive bar"! It was clean, unpretentious, inexpensive, with friendly bartenders and friendly locals. It wasn't fancy, but everyone made us feel welcome. There were all walks of life there & everyone was welcomed and treated the same. It was amazing to see all of the different customers and staff interact so well!

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindsay t.
Business
DALLAS
Jul 25, 2015

You can find better for less $

The room was dark, the halls smelled like marijuana. Elevator was slow. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boonee
Business
santa rosa, CA
Oct 2, 2012

missing

1. we had $11 dollars of quarters to pay for the toll bridges, on the first night at the valet parking, half the coins were taken, the second night all the coins were taken, all $11 of coins taken by staff at valet parking, they are not part of the hotel staff but the hotel had given them the job to park the cars so the hotel must be responsible. The valet parking was $34 a day and I do expect no one taking the coins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of very nice food within short walking distance. Note, most restaurants here have service already added to the bill so PLEASE check first as the first 3 days, we paid extra tips as we did not check the itemized bills.

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boonee
Business
santa rosa, CA
Oct 2, 2012

continuation

2. sound partition is very not good, we could hear TV, footsteps, showers, and even the guy snorning next door to us. 3. we had left over food and hotel staff said it is the company policy not to heat up the food for us. We ended up throwing away the left overs. 4. we were charge $7 a day for use of towels and use of internet. We were not informed of this when we book the hotel and not informed when we checked in. 5. the staff are super friendly and service is excellent. Thanks, Boon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
too poor for dreams
Business
Indiana
Jun 27, 2013

party all night log

Hard to sleep in this motel, No coffee pot in room and small fortune to get coffee at this hotel restaurant. very pretty room and shower. a $20 hand held shower would make it functional. refrigerator with room to put even one bottle of water in it would be nice. The pool area looked great, but nobody seemed to want to go there. The bartender was not willing to make any drinks not on the hotel menu. We reserved a smoking room to find out there are none in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

a great place to party, but not to get sleep. this hotel is in the middle of the party area. I was not prepared to spend the amount of $ it takes to eat at this hotel or even have morning coffee.

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2011

Not so dream

Small but clean rooms. Hotel staff slow which is typical in Miami. It was obvious that the staff needs extensive training. Constant interruptions by the pool, by maintenance staff. No pool attendant on duty, disappointing service. Food quality mediocre. Overall stressful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Webster, most beautiful and latest fashions.

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Novios
Business
South Miami
Jul 28, 2014

Didn't live up to the big fuzz

Good location but to problematic to accommodate guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

TIP: rent a car is way better and you will be able to enjoy more locations On my second day I got tired of the attractions around me, so I rented a car.

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VinDC
Business
DC
Jan 8, 2014

Dream…not always

I stayed at the Dream Hotel in South Beach since had luck with the one in NY The employees were great but the management was a different story. I had requested a room more on the quiet side and called that morning of arrival at 6 am to confirm. I was told there was a room on the first floor that would be perfect. I was given a room on the third floor across from the levitator. The noisiest room in the hotel. When I advised of the issue, management said I could possibly change i an few hours, if something came available. No follow up was received. I also asked for a late check out of one hour. This was also an issue. However the roof top pool was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban coffee and food across the street

Review of Dream South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guri
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

Very good hotel but some issues to take into consideration

Overall, it is a good hotel and we had a good experience there, however there are some issues that deserve to me mentioned: Cons: - First, it not a quite place. Maybe it is a characteristic of South Beach, but it's not funny having people shouting on the corridor late at night. Also, the hotel is located next to a night club and our room seemed to be inside the place. Too noisy. - The restaurant closes very soon. We requested a simple tea at around 12:00am, and the service was not available. - Definitely it is not the ideal hotel for rainy days. There is no infra-structure or any alternative but staying in the apartment. - The room illumination is something peculiar with cool blue lighting but tricky and quite frustrating if you stay too much time inside the room without sunlight. - Pool closed after 8pm Pros: - Very nice and friendly staff. - Express check in and check out, very efficient - Gorgeous rooftop - Beautiful furniture - Extremely clean, room service 2x/day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Prime Italian on Collins. Opened late at night. One of the best risottos with a unforgettable salad at 12:30am. Great restaurant and wonderful staff.

Back to menu Return to top