$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Dorchester Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
73 reviews
Excellent

The hotel could't have been better! The staff was great! The location perfect! Amenities rocked! We... See full review

  • Dannyjr72
  • May 6, 2014
So much fun in Miami!!

Went with friends, perfect size for our group. Great location and an over-all great value. Would... See full review

  • MoPatrick
  • Jun 24, 2014
Centrally located on Collins Avenue, this recently renovated hotel offers you the best variety of Miami Beach's entertainment, historic architecture, nightlife, shopping, beaches, water sports, gourmet restaurants and outdoor cafes. All of our comfortable air-conditioned rooms have color TV with remote control, private bathroom with shower and a refrigerator. Come to Miami Beach to experience our hotel and feel the beauty and excitement of this tropical paradise.
Our Resort fee Includes:
Access to Marseilles Pool and beach Club, 2 free lounges and 1 umbrella on the beach, free towels and lounges at the Marseilles pool and Tiki bar, free wireless Internet, free local calls and discount bike rentals.

Hotel Map

25.7948 -80.1298
Area served
Miami Int'l Airport MIA 10 miles,
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Miami Int'l Airport MIA 10 miles, Beach nearby, Miami Beach Convention Center 1 block

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dorchester Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Dorchester Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Rooms consist of one or more rooms of the following types: Queen Bed or two Double Beds;mini bar,wireless Internet
One Bedroom Suite
One king size bed or 2 dbl beds; full kitchen, dining and living room;wireless Internet access; mini bar;

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Breakfast Cafe
Full American breakfast buffet. Indoor/outdoor dining.
Patio bar/Lounge
Happy hour

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hospitalityind1970
Business
Atlanta. Ga
Jul 19, 2011

So Dissapointed

[...]. I was duped into having to park 2 blocks away and paying $90 up front for parking. I was told I was upgraded to a suite that I paid for. It was disappointing lets just say a 60's apartment with a few alleged upgrades, ok wood floor in the living room. Warm AC, bad wifi access, roaches in kitchen, nasty bed and bedding. I was so excited to have a weekend to myself to find that it was kids partying all night and the little bit that I slept I awoke with bites all over and blood on the sheet and pillow case and my T shirt and socks. I immediately packed my stuff and went down stairs saw the house keeper and told her that there were bugs in my room and I had been bitten. Not sure if she under stood me. I went into the lobby and no one was at the desk. I was so embarrassed because of the bites and the people were looking at me. I just kept walking outside and walked the two blocks to get my car. I immediately called the airline to change my flight and it went down hill from there. Worst weekend and Worst Hotel ever. I called the hotel later on that day to ask why I was not called back and was told that she had not been made aware. After I explained she said she would go and take a look and call me back. I want to be reimbursed for my trip, parking and inconvenience. What an awful way to spend a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

My review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Pool area wasn't clean. Also the room had roaches . The lights in the room shut-off so I called room service to notify them and they said someone was going to take care of the issue which they never did so I checked out a day earlier. Worst experience ever. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 14, 2007

I travel for business ...

I travel for business atleast five times a month and my trip to Miami went well until it came time to check into my Hotel, The Dorchester Hotel in Mimai Beach. As I entered the hotel I noticed there was an extreme smell of MOLD in the lobby, although freshly painted and refurbed the hotel built back in the early thirties surely showed it's age. The young man behind the counter was very pleasent and checkin was a breezy, as I waited for the 1930's elevator to reach ground floor, I took a look around and noticed the hotel was still under a refurbishment construction project, although in my opioion the only thing that would of helped that building was dynomite and plenty of it. Needless to say I got to my room after what felt like I was waiting a lifetime on the elevator to get there, room 205, I noticed the hallways of the hotel had no air-conditioning and it only got worse from when I entered into my room. Lets see where should I start, I walked into the room only to find that the room was freshly painted and still reeked from paint fumes, and did I mention the Mold smell, oh because it got worse as I went into the room, I imediatley walked over to the windows to open them and turn on the air-conditioner, well the windows were from 1930 too and did not function at all, four of the windows were broken as if someone before me tried to open them but was unsuccessful. The drapes hanging on the windows were half torn down and looked as if they were from 1970, rubberbacked and molded to the max, I almost threw up. One final thing about The DOrchester, while I was checking in the counter staff, infromed me of an additional $20.00 a day I would be paying for parking at the hotel. this may sound odd to you, but I parked on the street infront of the hotel and explained that to the hotel staff and he said it didn't matter it was still going to cost me 20 additional on the bill for parking there, I found that was absolutly nut's, the area in which the hotel is in was not that great either, I should of known that as I pulled up on the hotel. I wouldn't let my dogs stay in this out dated rat hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CoffeeCream
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Wouldn't stay there again

Great Location which sums up the pro's. Con's --terrible mattress, very small bathroom, very noisy window A/C, no coffee maker, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joyous One
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 13, 2011

South Beach Vacay - needs housekeeping

The photos oversell this hotel. I am not sure where the photo above was taken, but it sure is not part of the regular hotel. Possibly it was part of the suites section, but we did not stay in the suites. No pool either, you have to go across the street to the sister hotel to use their pool - you might as well go to the beach if you are going to do that. Be forewarned, housekeeping only comes if you explicitly request it otherwise, you are told its a busy day and they will not be there. Parking is limited AND they charge you $28/day. I didn't see that anywhere on any site. Good news is, it is in a good location in the mix, but not IN THE MIX. South Beach can be loud and this gives you a break from it. It is also one block from the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat off of Espanola or in Little Havana, South Beach is pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dasoto
Business
Providence
May 10, 2013

Fair value but not the best stay for the area

Hotel was clean, parking also available, service fair but watch out for added fees they will try to charge per room, on site breakfast decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 28, 2010

Dorchester

First, my hotel room did not have hot water. It sucked having to take a shower in cold water. When I went to Miami it was cold outside....there was no heat to turn on so I was cold at night. The blanket on the bed is real thin (not a down comforter type blanket). The hotel nickels and dimes you for everything. If you want room service, then menu prices are high and then you have to pay a room service charge. Parking is a female dog. I was trapped in and had to get them to tell the owner of their vehicle to move their car. The breakfast is not complimentary- one must pay for that as well. I personally would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chocolate55
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 21, 2011

sister getaway

I will never return to this hotel. The staff is somewhat rude except when it comes to them taking your money. The elevator is dirty and the rooms are small. The pool is small and is 3 ft all over. The hotel is far from the shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aagjj2007
Business
Sag Harbor,NY
Mar 8, 2011

Disappointed

That was vacation for me and my husband with hope to totaly relax and enjoy everything what we can get out of it.very first disappointment at welcome point was that we got regular room instead of suite and we had to proof that we paid for suite. Suite was really nice and looked renovated but could be more clean begining from carpet,sheets,someone's else hairs all over the place,and floors and from outside as well -stairs was dirty and cigarette-ends everywhere.this didn't change another day (we stayed 6 days).Maid service was everyday but what maid do is making the bed and changing towels,that's it.you can have sand or something spilled on the floor- they don't touch it.you go to ask for pool/beach towels and have to sign for it at front desk.worst part is construction next door,you can imagine noice and look when lying on lounge by the pool...To have breakfest at the hotel was very convenience but we got bored-every morning same thing and take food from buffet with no serving pieces was chalenging,eveyone using own hands to take cheese or ham to put on the plate...and one young girl runing between tables trying to please everybody.food is gone within minutes and if you are not lucky you have to wait till only one person in kitchen cooks eggs,cuts fruits and prepare other things for second,third,forth round...poor guy. We could take just two breakfest like this in the row...Hotel's bar was very poor as well,first evening didn't had wine at all.Most "funy" moment was when one day we wanted to take a shower to prepare to go out for dinner and there was no hot water for a few hours! Then was time to start complaining and front desk didn't know what to say except 'sorry,but i promise there is nothing broken' -then where is the water?! On fourth day we manage not to take all negative surrounding us and we decided we never never come back here or recommend to anyone.Only and only bonus was hotel's location-short walk to beach,dining,shoping,night life-that's what saved our vacation. Never had to stay at such hotel and never will do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 9, 2008

Not ready for prime time

An excellent building and wonderfully polite and friendly staff. However, the room was not very clean when we arrived, it was stuffy and mildew smelling on the 1st floor, we had a cockroach in our room, and the wireless internet did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top