$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Dorchester Hotel and Suites

3 stars
1850 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
79 reviews
great location

hotel doesnt bring much amenties wise. but great location and helpful staff. great hotel bar happy... See full review

  • Cory C.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Excellent

The hotel could't have been better! The staff was great! The location perfect! Amenities rocked! We... See full review

  • Dannyjr72
  • May 6, 2014
Centrally located on Collins Avenue, this recently renovated hotel offers you the best variety of Miami Beach's entertainment, historic architecture, nightlife, shopping, beaches, water sports, gourmet restaurants and outdoor cafes. All of our comfortable air-conditioned rooms have color TV with remote control, private bathroom with shower and a refrigerator. Come to Miami Beach to experience our hotel and feel the beauty and excitement of this tropical paradise.
Our Resort fee Includes:
Access to Marseilles Pool and beach Club, 2 free lounges and 1 umbrella on the beach, free towels and lounges at the Marseilles pool and Tiki bar, free wireless Internet, free local calls and discount bike rentals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dorchester Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Dorchester Hotel and Suites Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Rooms consist of one or more rooms of the following types: Queen Bed or two Double Beds;mini bar,Flat screen TV; mini fridge;in room safe;
One Bedroom Suite
One king size bed or 2 dbl beds; full kitchen, dining and living room;wireless Internet access; Flat screen TV;in room safe;

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Breakfast Cafe
Full American breakfast buffet. Indoor/outdoor dining.
Patio bar/Lounge
Happy hour

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 8, 2011

Good Location for Price

The hotel was average, nothing special. A lot of construction going on in the area currently. Pool was very nice, secluded but loud during the day with construction on new place next door. Hotel is very close to all great things (the beach, the night life, shopping, and food). Newly renovated rooms but bathrooms need to be updated. Staff was friendly as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reasha
Business
Georgia
Apr 5, 2011

Dorchester

I had a wonderful time. We had a little problem with the toilet but they sent handyman right away. The hotel staff were extremely nice and helpful. I would stay again. Luv it. Beautiful scenery for pics also. Thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Apr 5, 2011

"Nice location"

If it was'nt for the AC, we would'nt be able to sleep, house music was too loud coming from the bar downstairs, the chairs & floating bed in the courtyard can do with a GOOD CLEANING, so dingy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from Ocean drive if you're going to eat, food sucks & waaaay too expensive, eat right on Collins or Washington, then walk over to Ocean Drive for the scenery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aagjj2007
Business
Sag Harbor,NY
Mar 8, 2011

Disappointed

That was vacation for me and my husband with hope to totaly relax and enjoy everything what we can get out of it.very first disappointment at welcome point was that we got regular room instead of suite and we had to proof that we paid for suite. Suite was really nice and looked renovated but could be more clean begining from carpet,sheets,someone's else hairs all over the place,and floors and from outside as well -stairs was dirty and cigarette-ends everywhere.this didn't change another day (we stayed 6 days).Maid service was everyday but what maid do is making the bed and changing towels,that's it.you can have sand or something spilled on the floor- they don't touch it.you go to ask for pool/beach towels and have to sign for it at front desk.worst part is construction next door,you can imagine noice and look when lying on lounge by the pool...To have breakfest at the hotel was very convenience but we got bored-every morning same thing and take food from buffet with no serving pieces was chalenging,eveyone using own hands to take cheese or ham to put on the plate...and one young girl runing between tables trying to please everybody.food is gone within minutes and if you are not lucky you have to wait till only one person in kitchen cooks eggs,cuts fruits and prepare other things for second,third,forth round...poor guy. We could take just two breakfest like this in the row...Hotel's bar was very poor as well,first evening didn't had wine at all.Most "funy" moment was when one day we wanted to take a shower to prepare to go out for dinner and there was no hot water for a few hours! Then was time to start complaining and front desk didn't know what to say except 'sorry,but i promise there is nothing broken' -then where is the water?! On fourth day we manage not to take all negative surrounding us and we decided we never never come back here or recommend to anyone.Only and only bonus was hotel's location-short walk to beach,dining,shoping,night life-that's what saved our vacation. Never had to stay at such hotel and never will do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 2, 2011

Great value

Room was nicely decorated. Bathroonm was small for 3 people - sink is in same room with the shower. No place to hang all the towels we used. Nicely decorated. Only little things were lacking. No coffee pot in the room, but coffee available for $2 - refills til 11:00. Vouchure for chairs and umbrellas on the beach were great money saver. Breakfast was available, delicious and reasonable for the area. It was great for a 2.5 star hotel. I would stay there again. Location was really great. Very freindly staff. Many great restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of tours availalbe, bike rentals at the hotel, surfing lessons avaiable. I traveled with grown daughters who wanted athletic recreation and they were pleased with the 5 days we spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
the villages fl. and long island ny.
Feb 27, 2011

nice hotel for a getaway. also with kids

the hotel was very clean, fairly quite and the staff was unusally pleasent. it is reccommened highly. it is also convenient to everything one would like to do in south beach! you do not need a car at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marybethandrichard
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

Good stay

Really close to the beach and all restaurants around. Great location and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good beach 2 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bandar
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 4, 2011

good location

It has a good location. The stuff were friendly. The room was very clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eclectic Doc
Business
Tulsa, Okla.
Dec 28, 2010

Excellent value

A good value...nice clean rooms with comfortable beds...lovely patio are in front to take your morning coffee...complimentary full breakfast buffet...extremely friendly staff..changed my initial room to one higher up and quieter...close to South Beach hot spots...not a beachfront hotel..would stay there again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dorchester Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 28, 2010

Dorchester

First, my hotel room did not have hot water. It sucked having to take a shower in cold water. When I went to Miami it was cold outside....there was no heat to turn on so I was cold at night. The blanket on the bed is real thin (not a down comforter type blanket). The hotel nickels and dimes you for everything. If you want room service, then menu prices are high and then you have to pay a room service charge. Parking is a female dog. I was trapped in and had to get them to tell the owner of their vehicle to move their car. The breakfast is not complimentary- one must pay for that as well. I personally would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top