$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Design Suites at Castle Beach

3 stars
View map of 5445 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
26 reviews
It was worth the price

This hotel was on the part of South beach where a lot of beautiful hotels gather together. Restroom... See full review

  • Giora
  • Jan 23, 2015
personal trip

I travelled alone but to me is a good hotel to travel with your family because the location near... See full review

  • Javier L.
  • Feb 14, 2015
Design Suites at Castle Beach, a beachfront property, is a selected group of condos on the emblematic Castle Beach Club -formerly The Playboy Hotel-. It has direct access to the beach, an outdoor pool and sun deck, fitness center, restaurant, pool bar, a grocery store in site, vending machines, laundry, dry cleaner, and Russian and Turkish bath. Guests can relax over the lounge chairs by the pool, with Wi-Fi access. All condos at Design Suites at Castle Beach, feature a flat screen TV with cable channels, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi or cable access -free-, safe box -free-, kitchenette or full kitchen, daily cleaning and free parking. Only a 10 minutes drive from South Beach and Bar Harbor, and 20 minutes from MIA International Airport.

Top hotels

Design Suites at Castle Beach Rooms

Standard - Apartment
Our recently renovated and warmly colored studios have limited view. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request.
Standard - Apartment
Our recently renovated and warmly colored studios have spectacular bay and city views -every night an amazing sunset sets right in front of your window-. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request-.
Standard - Apartment
Our recently renovated and warmly colored studios have spectacular Ocean views -every morning an amazing sunrise right in front of your window-. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 -microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster-, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request-.
Deluxe - Apartment
Our recently deluxe renovated and warmly colored studios have spectacular bay and city views -every night an amazing sunset sets right in front of your window-. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request-.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Welcome Food
Our Cafeteria, Deli and Grocery Store
Tiki Bar
Next to the pool and featuring salads, sandwiches and drinks to enjoy at the pool side.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Design Suites at Castle Beach

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.3
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey meets Florida
Business
Florida
Jan 8, 2014

Booked for a weekend trip

My friend and I booked this hotel for her 21st birthday weekend and it was the worst experience we have ever had with a hotel. Online the pictures look nice and clean but that is not the case. The building is dirty with broken elevators. The room smelled and was dirty and dark with no windows. The bathroom was dirty with hair in it when we just arrived. After just one night we decided to leave even though we did not receive a refund we just wanted to get out of that disgusting place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LUISNY
Business
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2014

Horrible, Outdated, No service ........The WORST !!!

I had a terrible experience,.....Services don't exist at this location. The apt even had little cockroaches.......Horrible. Not even a telephone /interphone..... Tv had just the option of five channels. Internet didn't work..... THe worst experience......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIEGOBOY
Business
ARGENTINA
Feb 26, 2014

complete disaster

beware!!!. the photos than the show , there another than the hotel provide, the apt is a studio, not and 1 bd than they show in the web. nobody took responsibility. smelly room, broken roof, slow management. if you are expecting to suffer, this is the place, I can warranty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms.Glamazon
Business
Simpsonville,South Carolina
Jul 23, 2012

Ok Location!! Major upgrades needed!!!!

This hotel is currently under renovation. The elevators are awful and the rooms even worse!! Ive never felt so uncomfortable in my life. First, the room key really threw me off!! There was not a slide in card it was an actual key. The door was old and came up about an inch off the ground.The beds came from the wall. The comforters and sheets to me werent really super clean. The bathroom was terrible. The shower the toilet. Just awful. Spend a few extra dollars and go down the street to Eden Rock or Fontainebleu. Awful stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

10-15 min from Ocean Dr

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lansa
Business
Miami Beach, Flr.
Aug 5, 2012

Stressful getaway.

There were cockroaches and ants in the room. Not enough towels and toilet tissue the last couple of days. Toilet was not working properly and was leaking. Very poor insulation; all rooms had adjoining doors and you could clearly hear the people next door. We moved to a different room. Elevators were in poor condition. Security was good, pool was excellent and car valet service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Newport Beach Hotel has all the lobsters you can eat for $35 per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seeking Staycation
Business
Tampa, Florida
Sep 19, 2012

Roach hotel

Our room had a roach infestation, which was possibly related to being located next to the trash chute. The location was OK... It was right on the beach. Free valet parking was a good thing. The room was nothing special, with 2 double (not queen) sized-beds. The staff was Spanish speaking with very limited English,and not particularly friendly. The hotel is being remodeled and only 2 of the 4 elevators were functioning. The inspection certificates on the elevator were from 2007!! We won't be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shula's Steakhouse was nearby, and had amazing food. Be prepared to shell out $$$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Atlanta Boys
Business
ATLANTA GEORGIA
Oct 3, 2012

What A Mess! YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, NOT GOOD!

THIS IS NO MORE THAN A 1 STAR HOTEL & YOU WILL BE BETTER OFF SPENDING MORE FOR A BETTER UPDATED HOTEL TO TRULY ENJOY YOUR VACATION! OUR VACATION: We were excited when we found a 3 Star Hotel in that area of Miami Beach. Upon Arriving at the hotel, we knew we had made a BIG MISTAKE, but proceeded to look for the Design Suites Office. The Office is located in the basement Lower Lobby down a long dirty hallway. We checked in knowing we had No Choice & wouldn't receive a refund. We checked in & headed to our room. The Condition of the Hotel Elevators was a clear sign the hotel was a mess & in bad shape & in need of remodeling from Top to Bottom. We Had Read On The Website That The Design Suites Rooms Had Been Remodeled! THAT IS NOT TRUE! It took 30 minutes to just get in the elevator & up to our room. The elevators are so slow & too busy. Unpon arriving on our floor & finding our room, the surprises kept coming! This place is so old, you still use a Real Key to unlock the door. Once inside the room looked like a Bad College Dorm Room. Cheap Decor, Cheap Cheap Cheap! Pink Kitchenette Counter Tops & Bathroom Counter Top. The 2 Queen Beds were on wheels that rolled across the floor when you tried to sit down on the bed. The mattress was at least 15 to 20 years old. Stained & was sagging in the middle. We both left with our backs killing us from the bad condition of the bed mattresses. Internet was good thank GOD, cable sucked, the location to the beach was wonderful. Pool was a joke, so few chairs & recliners. No Place To Lay Out & Enjoy The Sunshine! You even have to wear a wrist bank to go out to the swimming pool. We heard so many guests complaining all over the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vancouverist
Business
Vancouver
Jan 23, 2013

horrible hotel with no charicter at all, felt like lost in time.

The staff didn't know what they are doing. Most of the staff didn't speak English!!! either Spanish or Russian, what's with that this is America. The staff are very rude, they don't greet people and makes you wait and wait and wait while they are chatting in Spanish. We where given un clean and unredy room. The rooms were out dated very dirty ants and cocorochs. No phone in the room, no extra blanket and we asked for one they said they don't have. It was a discusting experince, the staff unprofessional uninformed and rude. The valyet parking system sucks, sometimes it takes 20 minuts for your car to arrive. This is by far the worst hotel I ever been. I will never ever go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MikeVertx
Business
New York
Mar 30, 2013

Bad Decision - Look elsewhere

Overall would never stay here again. Price was cheap due to booking very far in advance, but it was in no way worth it. The place just needs A LOT to get itself up to date and has made not-even-half-of-an-effort to accommodate. You're much better off staying anywhere else. Really take a moment to read the reviews and make your decision based on the experience of others staying here, it's really not recommended unless what you're looking for is simply cheap with no expectations. Booked *adjoining rooms* ended up with two separate rooms on two different floors, which were both very different. 423 / 523 . 523 was clearly much better of the two though neither room was worth staying at ever again, 423 was terrible, after one night I had to talk with the hotel management and they moved me to 406 which was a much better room but had no internet. There are clearly endless violations on this building all through-out, just keep in mind the photos on the website grossly over-promise. Positives: + Convenience and price (after advance discount) + Beds/Pillows/Blanket are comfortable + Pool + Beach Access Neutrals: 0 - Cleanliness overall was so-so 0 - Staff overall was so-so 0 - "Kitchenette" (it's more *for show* and simply not realistic to even think of attempting to cook anything in the room) 0 - "receptionist" is actually Security Guards watching the cameras at the front entrance, this didn't necessarily bother me but appeared unusual and they all had unpleasant attitudes. Negatives: - Deceiving advertising (no clock, no phone, no radio, no ipod dock, no daily cleaning) - No Breakfast options - Lighting in the room is very limited and dimly lit (they use a small track lighting to light the entire room, any electrician could spend a pair of hours and put in a standard ceiling light centered and solve this problem for less then $200 and would be a very welcomed fix) - Walls are paper thin (they were drilling nails from 8am-2pm from all sides and I could hear my neighbors watching tv / moving around) - Far from the south beach strip (5445 = 54th Street) - Elevators are ancient (only 2 working for 20 floors, very VERY slow long waits, approx 15-20 minutes, on top of the 20 minutes to get your car) - "Free Parking" included (1 spot per room, be prepared it takes an extra-ordinarily very long wait to get your car out, 20++ min every time, valet is a requirement there is no other option for parking) - Construction (I came for vacation and work, there were no listings or notices anywhere about construction going on, but that is all I heard all morning and day during my stay) - "Limited View" meant a roof wall in-front of the window with bird droppings all over it (literally) - Rooms and hallways STUNK of cigarettes at all times - Building needs A LOT of attention to fix up and restore, it's very out-dated all around and is just not in good shape. - Stairs DO NOT LEAD to main entrance, it is a maze if you are thinking to attempt avoiding the 30 minute elevator wait... - The Turkish Bath and shops downstairs were very questionable... - Door knobs don't work or lock, and are just *for show* (you have to use the deadbolt and shove the door open when unlocked) - Beach area access is not where you want to spend time if you're thinking of "going to the beach" yes you have access and there is "a beach" but if you really want to be on south beach you'll need to get in your car, or take a bike, or cab (good luck catching one since the hotel does not call), you'll need to go down a good 2 dozen blocks. Room Tip: Keep looking for a different place to stay. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Mangos is a fun place. Clevelander for drinks at night can also be a good time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L.S.
Business
Texas
Apr 16, 2013

Horrible!!!!

This was the worst expeience ever. The rooms were not even remotely close to what is advertised. The elevators did not work properly and the room smelled horrible. The staff was rude and not apologetic for the conditons of their rooms. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top