$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Design Suites at Castle Beach

3 stars
View map of 5445 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Design Suites at Castle Beach

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.3
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geegee the best
Business
Miami,FL
Sep 12, 2014

awesome experience

My stay at the Design Suites Hotel was great..enjoyed my self,staff was helpful,nice,and pleasant..amenities were more than expected..rooms were kept clean N had ample amount of towels..overall my stay was awesome...((:

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

South beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIEGOBOY
Business
ARGENTINA
Feb 26, 2014

complete disaster

beware!!!. the photos than the show , there another than the hotel provide, the apt is a studio, not and 1 bd than they show in the web. nobody took responsibility. smelly room, broken roof, slow management. if you are expecting to suffer, this is the place, I can warranty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LUISNY
Business
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2014

Horrible, Outdated, No service ........The WORST !!!

I had a terrible experience,.....Services don't exist at this location. The apt even had little cockroaches.......Horrible. Not even a telephone /interphone..... Tv had just the option of five channels. Internet didn't work..... THe worst experience......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey meets Florida
Business
Florida
Jan 8, 2014

Booked for a weekend trip

My friend and I booked this hotel for her 21st birthday weekend and it was the worst experience we have ever had with a hotel. Online the pictures look nice and clean but that is not the case. The building is dirty with broken elevators. The room smelled and was dirty and dark with no windows. The bathroom was dirty with hair in it when we just arrived. After just one night we decided to leave even though we did not receive a refund we just wanted to get out of that disgusting place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rythemc86
Business
Berlin, CT
Oct 22, 2013

Weekend stay

I stayed here for the weekend with a few friends and enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee The New Yorker
Business
NYC
Oct 16, 2013

Sorry Excuse For A Hotel

If you are reading this review please listen to my warning and DO NOT STAY at this place. I refer to it as a Place because despite being advertised as a Hotel it is not. I reserved my stay at Design Suites through a 3rd party and upon doing a Google search and checking out the reviews my gut told me I should have cancelled my reservation and I should have listened to my gut instinct. I called the reservation office to express my concerns and was assured that there were recent renovations done to the hotel and I should feel assured that I would not have any issues, which could not be further from the truth. I arrived on October 11th and as I walked into the check in office I was greeted with man complaining about the condition of his room and my stomach sunk. I still hoped that I would have better luck. The check in process was extremely slow and took half hour although there was only 1 person ahead of me. Finally I got the key and was directed to my room. As I walked back upstairs to the main lobby (check in was actually on the lower level) I started smelling something unpleasant which was the old carpet in the lobby. I had to wait almost 20 mins to get into an elevator because apparently only 2 of the 4 were operational. As I approached my room I was greeted with a door that looked dirty and battered. I entered the room and it looked okay but as I got further in I realized that they had made a very sloppy attempt to renovate the room. The paint did not completely cover the grime that was on the walls especially in the corners and there were open holes near the cable connections and sockets. My Wifi did not work. The kitchen had a good enough size but my microwave did not work and the pots were not in a condition that would make you want to put food in them. The worse was yet to come... As i walked into the bathroom I was greeted with an extremely brown stained toilet that was so disgusting to look at. I could not believe that they would expect anyone to find this acceptable. Despite all these negative factors I was decided that I would try to make the best of a bad situation as I really wanted to enjoy my vacation. The real slap in the face came on my check out day, when despite me accepting all these issues without complaining I called to request a late check out (which was not complimentary as with other hotels and cost $40). I wanted to get some extra sleep as I was very tired. After being placed on hold for 10 mins I was told that I would have to physically go to the office to do that which was so illogical because the point of the late check out was to rest. After my 20 min wait for the elevator I got to the office only to be told by the lady at the front desk that she could not use my card on file for the fee and she needed me to go back to my room and get the same card that they had made a copy of at check in even though she did not need to swipe it. I became livid at that point. I explained to her that 1 hour had past since I had initiated the request and the purpose of the late check out was being defeated. She showed absolutely no concern or remorse and rudely began speaking to a man in Spanish who I assumed was a manager. He informed me that there were no exceptions and that I was expected to waste another 40 mins waiting on elevators to bring them my card. That was my breaking point, I decided that no matter how tired I was it was time for me to leave that horrid place because they did not deserve 1 penny more of my money. I packed my stuff and left and would Never return to that place, besides providing deplorable conditions for their guests they are Unapologetic, Unaccommodating, Unfriendly, and Insensitive to guests concerns and needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L.S.
Business
Texas
Apr 16, 2013

Horrible!!!!

This was the worst expeience ever. The rooms were not even remotely close to what is advertised. The elevators did not work properly and the room smelled horrible. The staff was rude and not apologetic for the conditons of their rooms. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MikeVertx
Business
New York
Mar 30, 2013

Bad Decision - Look elsewhere

Overall would never stay here again. Price was cheap due to booking very far in advance, but it was in no way worth it. The place just needs A LOT to get itself up to date and has made not-even-half-of-an-effort to accommodate. You're much better off staying anywhere else. Really take a moment to read the reviews and make your decision based on the experience of others staying here, it's really not recommended unless what you're looking for is simply cheap with no expectations. Booked *adjoining rooms* ended up with two separate rooms on two different floors, which were both very different. 423 / 523 . 523 was clearly much better of the two though neither room was worth staying at ever again, 423 was terrible, after one night I had to talk with the hotel management and they moved me to 406 which was a much better room but had no internet. There are clearly endless violations on this building all through-out, just keep in mind the photos on the website grossly over-promise. Positives: + Convenience and price (after advance discount) + Beds/Pillows/Blanket are comfortable + Pool + Beach Access Neutrals: 0 - Cleanliness overall was so-so 0 - Staff overall was so-so 0 - "Kitchenette" (it's more *for show* and simply not realistic to even think of attempting to cook anything in the room) 0 - "receptionist" is actually Security Guards watching the cameras at the front entrance, this didn't necessarily bother me but appeared unusual and they all had unpleasant attitudes. Negatives: - Deceiving advertising (no clock, no phone, no radio, no ipod dock, no daily cleaning) - No Breakfast options - Lighting in the room is very limited and dimly lit (they use a small track lighting to light the entire room, any electrician could spend a pair of hours and put in a standard ceiling light centered and solve this problem for less then $200 and would be a very welcomed fix) - Walls are paper thin (they were drilling nails from 8am-2pm from all sides and I could hear my neighbors watching tv / moving around) - Far from the south beach strip (5445 = 54th Street) - Elevators are ancient (only 2 working for 20 floors, very VERY slow long waits, approx 15-20 minutes, on top of the 20 minutes to get your car) - "Free Parking" included (1 spot per room, be prepared it takes an extra-ordinarily very long wait to get your car out, 20++ min every time, valet is a requirement there is no other option for parking) - Construction (I came for vacation and work, there were no listings or notices anywhere about construction going on, but that is all I heard all morning and day during my stay) - "Limited View" meant a roof wall in-front of the window with bird droppings all over it (literally) - Rooms and hallways STUNK of cigarettes at all times - Building needs A LOT of attention to fix up and restore, it's very out-dated all around and is just not in good shape. - Stairs DO NOT LEAD to main entrance, it is a maze if you are thinking to attempt avoiding the 30 minute elevator wait... - The Turkish Bath and shops downstairs were very questionable... - Door knobs don't work or lock, and are just *for show* (you have to use the deadbolt and shove the door open when unlocked) - Beach area access is not where you want to spend time if you're thinking of "going to the beach" yes you have access and there is "a beach" but if you really want to be on south beach you'll need to get in your car, or take a bike, or cab (good luck catching one since the hotel does not call), you'll need to go down a good 2 dozen blocks. Room Tip: Keep looking for a different place to stay. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Mangos is a fun place. Clevelander for drinks at night can also be a good time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vancouverist
Business
Vancouver
Jan 23, 2013

horrible hotel with no charicter at all, felt like lost in time.

The staff didn't know what they are doing. Most of the staff didn't speak English!!! either Spanish or Russian, what's with that this is America. The staff are very rude, they don't greet people and makes you wait and wait and wait while they are chatting in Spanish. We where given un clean and unredy room. The rooms were out dated very dirty ants and cocorochs. No phone in the room, no extra blanket and we asked for one they said they don't have. It was a discusting experince, the staff unprofessional uninformed and rude. The valyet parking system sucks, sometimes it takes 20 minuts for your car to arrive. This is by far the worst hotel I ever been. I will never ever go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Atlanta Boys
Business
ATLANTA GEORGIA
Oct 3, 2012

What A Mess! YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, NOT GOOD!

THIS IS NO MORE THAN A 1 STAR HOTEL & YOU WILL BE BETTER OFF SPENDING MORE FOR A BETTER UPDATED HOTEL TO TRULY ENJOY YOUR VACATION! OUR VACATION: We were excited when we found a 3 Star Hotel in that area of Miami Beach. Upon Arriving at the hotel, we knew we had made a BIG MISTAKE, but proceeded to look for the Design Suites Office. The Office is located in the basement Lower Lobby down a long dirty hallway. We checked in knowing we had No Choice & wouldn't receive a refund. We checked in & headed to our room. The Condition of the Hotel Elevators was a clear sign the hotel was a mess & in bad shape & in need of remodeling from Top to Bottom. We Had Read On The Website That The Design Suites Rooms Had Been Remodeled! THAT IS NOT TRUE! It took 30 minutes to just get in the elevator & up to our room. The elevators are so slow & too busy. Unpon arriving on our floor & finding our room, the surprises kept coming! This place is so old, you still use a Real Key to unlock the door. Once inside the room looked like a Bad College Dorm Room. Cheap Decor, Cheap Cheap Cheap! Pink Kitchenette Counter Tops & Bathroom Counter Top. The 2 Queen Beds were on wheels that rolled across the floor when you tried to sit down on the bed. The mattress was at least 15 to 20 years old. Stained & was sagging in the middle. We both left with our backs killing us from the bad condition of the bed mattresses. Internet was good thank GOD, cable sucked, the location to the beach was wonderful. Pool was a joke, so few chairs & recliners. No Place To Lay Out & Enjoy The Sunshine! You even have to wear a wrist bank to go out to the swimming pool. We heard so many guests complaining all over the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top