$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Design Suites at Castle Beach

3 stars
5445 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
20 reviews
awesome experience

My stay at the Design Suites Hotel was great..enjoyed my self,staff was helpful,nice,and... See full review

  • geegee the best
  • Sep 12, 2014
Weekend stay

I stayed here for the weekend with a few friends and enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. No complaints. See full review

  • Rythemc86
  • Oct 22, 2013
Design Suites at Castle Beach, a beachfront property, is a selected group of condos on the emblematic Castle Beach Club -formerly The Playboy Hotel-. It has direct access to the beach, an outdoor pool and sun deck, fitness center, restaurant, pool bar, a grocery store in site, vending machines, laundry, dry cleaner, and Russian and Turkish bath. Guests can relax over the lounge chairs by the pool, with Wi-Fi access. All condos at Design Suites at Castle Beach, feature a flat screen TV with cable channels, iPod docking station, Wi-Fi or cable access -free-, safe box -free-, kitchenette or full kitchen, daily cleaning and free parking. Only a 10 minutes drive from South Beach and Bar Harbor, and 20 minutes from MIA International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Design Suites at Castle Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Design Suites at Castle Beach Rooms

Standard - Apartment
Our recently renovated and warmly colored studios have limited view. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request.
Standard - Apartment
Our recently renovated and warmly colored studios have spectacular bay and city views -every night an amazing sunset sets right in front of your window-. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request-.
Standard - Apartment
Our recently renovated and warmly colored studios have spectacular Ocean views -every morning an amazing sunrise right in front of your window-. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 -microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster-, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request-.
Deluxe - Apartment
Our recently deluxe renovated and warmly colored studios have spectacular bay and city views -every night an amazing sunset sets right in front of your window-. Each Studio unit offers a fully equipped kitchenette for 4 with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, and toaster, towels and linens, 32 LCD TV with cable, radio with iPod docking station, dining area -dining table and chairs for 4 people-, safe box, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and crib -upon request-.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Welcome Food
Our Cafeteria, Deli and Grocery Store
Tiki Bar
Next to the pool and featuring salads, sandwiches and drinks to enjoy at the pool side.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Design Suites at Castle Beach

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.1
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
2

30% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little and big sister
Martin County, Florida
May 22, 2012

Comfortable, Cultural Place to Recharge

Delightful and warm staff, room with a spacious view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mixture. Get the cook to recommend the best dish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rodrigo b.
Business
guatemala
Dec 19, 2014

old

The hotel was old, ugly lobby like a hunted mansion, old door knobs some doors not even closing , rusty showers. The pool was clean but with weird blue illumination, turquish baths looking like playboy mansion. Overall not what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If traveling with family dont book this hotel, ugly feeling like entering old playboy house or something.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lahlah
Business
Myrtle beach, sc
Nov 15, 2014

Great location, can't beat the price!

I was nervous based on the reviews I read. The room was very modern and fresh looking. However, I did see one dead cockroach in the fridge upon arrival and one more living one the first day. We stayed 3 night total and didn't see any others. The staff was very basic. Didn't seem enthusiastic, but rather just there to pay their bills. Free valet was more of an inconvenience than anything. We always waiting 10-30 minutes to get our car. Overall, based on the price I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cassy2689
Business
Miami
Oct 19, 2014

Roaches

A roach issue made it extremely difficult to enjoy my stay to the fullest. Lots of them, from big to small, racing around the room at all hours of the day. There was also an annoying shower issue. I had to come down from the 17th floor twice early in the morning to complain that we couldn't grip the shower handle to turn it on. The handle was embedded in the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Riki tiki bar pool side

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eb the great
Business
Spanaway, WA
Oct 9, 2014

great sea view

needs a lot of upgrades. Looks like they are working on that. Room floor has no carpeting so was quite slippery walking about, something could be done to help that in order for somebody to take advantage of that and raise some unwarranted suits in case they fell down and hurt some part of their body. Bath shower knob for turning hot and cold water is too old and almost coming out when you don't know how to use things carefully. Water after bath stays in tub for over ten minutes and leaves nasty after bath residue. Fixing the drainage can remove this spectacle. Room has some cooking utensils but no stove, only a microwave, which is helpful, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Publix supermarket just a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geegee the best
Business
Miami,FL
Sep 12, 2014

awesome experience

My stay at the Design Suites Hotel was great..enjoyed my self,staff was helpful,nice,and pleasant..amenities were more than expected..rooms were kept clean N had ample amount of towels..overall my stay was awesome...((:

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

South beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIEGOBOY
Business
ARGENTINA
Feb 26, 2014

complete disaster

beware!!!. the photos than the show , there another than the hotel provide, the apt is a studio, not and 1 bd than they show in the web. nobody took responsibility. smelly room, broken roof, slow management. if you are expecting to suffer, this is the place, I can warranty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LUISNY
Business
New York, NY
Feb 24, 2014

Horrible, Outdated, No service ........The WORST !!!

I had a terrible experience,.....Services don't exist at this location. The apt even had little cockroaches.......Horrible. Not even a telephone /interphone..... Tv had just the option of five channels. Internet didn't work..... THe worst experience......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey meets Florida
Business
Florida
Jan 8, 2014

Booked for a weekend trip

My friend and I booked this hotel for her 21st birthday weekend and it was the worst experience we have ever had with a hotel. Online the pictures look nice and clean but that is not the case. The building is dirty with broken elevators. The room smelled and was dirty and dark with no windows. The bathroom was dirty with hair in it when we just arrived. After just one night we decided to leave even though we did not receive a refund we just wanted to get out of that disgusting place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rythemc86
Business
Berlin, CT
Oct 22, 2013

Weekend stay

I stayed here for the weekend with a few friends and enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Design Suites at Castle Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee The New Yorker
Business
NYC
Oct 16, 2013

Sorry Excuse For A Hotel

If you are reading this review please listen to my warning and DO NOT STAY at this place. I refer to it as a Place because despite being advertised as a Hotel it is not. I reserved my stay at Design Suites through a 3rd party and upon doing a Google search and checking out the reviews my gut told me I should have cancelled my reservation and I should have listened to my gut instinct. I called the reservation office to express my concerns and was assured that there were recent renovations done to the hotel and I should feel assured that I would not have any issues, which could not be further from the truth. I arrived on October 11th and as I walked into the check in office I was greeted with man complaining about the condition of his room and my stomach sunk. I still hoped that I would have better luck. The check in process was extremely slow and took half hour although there was only 1 person ahead of me. Finally I got the key and was directed to my room. As I walked back upstairs to the main lobby (check in was actually on the lower level) I started smelling something unpleasant which was the old carpet in the lobby. I had to wait almost 20 mins to get into an elevator because apparently only 2 of the 4 were operational. As I approached my room I was greeted with a door that looked dirty and battered. I entered the room and it looked okay but as I got further in I realized that they had made a very sloppy attempt to renovate the room. The paint did not completely cover the grime that was on the walls especially in the corners and there were open holes near the cable connections and sockets. My Wifi did not work. The kitchen had a good enough size but my microwave did not work and the pots were not in a condition that would make you want to put food in them. The worse was yet to come... As i walked into the bathroom I was greeted with an extremely brown stained toilet that was so disgusting to look at. I could not believe that they would expect anyone to find this acceptable. Despite all these negative factors I was decided that I would try to make the best of a bad situation as I really wanted to enjoy my vacation. The real slap in the face came on my check out day, when despite me accepting all these issues without complaining I called to request a late check out (which was not complimentary as with other hotels and cost $40). I wanted to get some extra sleep as I was very tired. After being placed on hold for 10 mins I was told that I would have to physically go to the office to do that which was so illogical because the point of the late check out was to rest. After my 20 min wait for the elevator I got to the office only to be told by the lady at the front desk that she could not use my card on file for the fee and she needed me to go back to my room and get the same card that they had made a copy of at check in even though she did not need to swipe it. I became livid at that point. I explained to her that 1 hour had past since I had initiated the request and the purpose of the late check out was being defeated. She showed absolutely no concern or remorse and rudely began speaking to a man in Spanish who I assumed was a manager. He informed me that there were no exceptions and that I was expected to waste another 40 mins waiting on elevators to bring them my card. That was my breaking point, I decided that no matter how tired I was it was time for me to leave that horrid place because they did not deserve 1 penny more of my money. I packed my stuff and left and would Never return to that place, besides providing deplorable conditions for their guests they are Unapologetic, Unaccommodating, Unfriendly, and Insensitive to guests concerns and needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top