$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Deauville Beach Resort

2 stars
6701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
350 reviews
Very Pleased!!!

Hotel was great!!! Great service. Ocean front room had an amazing view. Altogether HAPPY!!! :) See full review

  • Ally M
  • Jul 14, 2014
Friends vacation time

Just good vibes from everyone there. The staff are from morning to night, every time you walk in or... See full review

  • Will More Bucks
  • Jun 24, 2014
Modernist hotel on the north end of Miami Beach made music history

This Collins Avenue hotel holds a prestigious spot in Miami Beach history. The property entertained the Rat Pack, and it was the site of the Beatles' second U.S. performance -- broadcast live on the "Ed Sullivan Show" from the Napoleon Ballroom. Old Hollywood glamour still shines through at this unique art deco resort, which maintains its status as a lively music venue with a global roster of entertainers at the onsite jazz club. A sizeable pool, expansive stretch of beach and Miami Modernist architecture strengthen the allure.

Highlights
  • Miami Modernist hotel on the north end of Miami Beach
  • A former playground to the Rat Pack and the site of the Beatles' second U.S. performance on the "Ed Sullivan Show"
  • The Famous Jazz Club and Kevin & Caruso's Magic Comedy Show on site
  • Poolside dining at Kon Tiki Tiki Bar
  • Airport transfer available at an added fee
Rooms

The 484 rooms -- including seven junior suites -- reflect a clean, contemporary style with few embellishments. Windows face the ocean, bay or city. Oceanfront rooms encourage guests to take advantage of the vistas via large balconies. Rooms feature tufted or wood headboards, white linens, an adjustable thermostat and cable. Wi-Fi access is covered in the resort fee.

Features
Frank Sinatra and the Beatles no longer entertain at the hotel, but guests will still find a regular lineup of musical acts at The Famous Jazz Club. The club has hosted jazz greats, such as Brandon Marsalis and Spyro Gyra. Head to the Kevin & Caruso's Magic Comedy Show on Saturdays for a festival of pyrotechnics, showgirls, comedy and magic.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (13 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (19 miles)
Attractions

  • Collins Avenue
  • Bal Harbour Shops
  • Art Deco Design District
  • Haulover Beach Marina
  • Bass Museum
  • The Miami Beach Architecture Cruise
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

  • 75,000 square feet of event space, including an exhibit area for trade shows and a 200-seat theater
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access in the lobby and restaurant
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Policies and fees

  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • The property charges a resort fee of $20 USD per night per room payable directly to the hotel. This is not included in the prepaid booking. Fee is inclusive of local calls, Wi-Fi access, use of fitness centre, pool and beach lounge chairs, beach towels, in-room refrigerator and safe deposit box.
  • Parking is available at $3 USD per hour up to $30 USD overnight.
  • The hotel requires a credit card deposit of up to $50 USD per day for incidentals. The authorization will hold the funds until check-out, at which time the actual amount incurred during the stay will be charged.
  • Coolers are not allowed at the resort. Rooms are outfitted with refrigerators for convenience of resort guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Deauville Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Deauville Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe City/Bay View Room
These elegantly appointed rooms offer views of picturesque Biscayne Bay, Collins Avenue and Miami Beach. Features include double or king-sized bed, large windows, marble floor and granite top spa inspired bathrooms, reading chair with ottoman, ample closets, writing desk and mini refrigerator.
Ocean View Room
One king or two double beds. View of the Atlantic Ocean. Safe, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, internet access, and video games(Surcharge). Contemporary tropical decor. Complimentary premium cable channels. Minimum age to check in is 21.
Standard Room
One king or two double beds. View of the city. In room safe, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, internet access and video games.(Surcharge). Complimentary premium cable channels. Minimum age to check in is 21.
Ocean Front
The Oceanfront guest rooms offer our guests a magnificent view of the crystal clear beach from the comfort of a private terrace. Let the sun in with our floor-to-ceiling glass windows and enjoy the spacious suite with your choice of two double or one king size bed. You will also find a plush reading chair with ottoman, plenty of closet space, a media center and mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The perfect choice for meeting space or a banquet facility. The Deauville Beach Resort offers 75,000 square feet of meeting space that caters from 20 to 2,000. You'll feel exhilarated with the charm and warmth of Miami Beach.

Dining

Cafe De La Mer
Based on an International cuisine style, at Cafe de la Mer you will be sure to find the perfect meal for you and your family. All dishes are prepared with fresh and local ingredients delivered daily to our kitchen. Our chefs prepare each dish with a delicate craftsmanship that comes through in each flavorful bite. Following the American tradition, meals are served in large portions and at unbeatable prices. We have the perfect companion for your delightful meal with an extensive selection of national and international wines suitable for any budget. Cafe de la Mer offers a relaxing atmosphere and diverse cuisine making it the perfect vacation lunch and dinner spot. Hours: Open daily from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm
Kon Tiki Bar
Kon Tiki Bar offers a variety of light meals, snacks and a full cocktail bar you won't be able to resist. Located in the pool area means that you can relax and let us cater to your every need while you make the most out of your beach vacation. You may choose to enjoy your refreshments under the relaxing breeze of the poolside palm trees or on the sandy beach just a few steps away. Specials & Happy Hour You must try our signature cocktail list! The Kon Tiki Bar offers delicious Caribbean classics such as Pina Colada and Cuban Mojito as well as most traditional frozen favorites. To top it off we can delight you with our own signature creations made to your taste. The Kon Tiki Bar's delicious drinks, light snacks and relaxing tropical style thatched roof bar come together to create an idyllic peaceful beach atmosphere, comparable only to paradise. Hours: Open daily from 11:00 am to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Deauville Beach Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Lakes, FL
Aug 8, 2010

Really dissapointed with this hotel.

First, NO parking facilities, Customer Service didn't help at all. at 12 at night children running around hallways talking very load, playing around all night without any assistance. Smelled very bad around. Elevators to slow. I do not recommend this Hotel to nobody in the future I donot want to go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking facilities is the most terrible experience.The only good thing was the location area because we found a lot of good restaturants, and shops like Walgreens, Publix, Ihop etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MD native
Business
National Harbor, MD
Apr 18, 2011

Horrible Miami experience

I believe this was a horrible experience only for me. The paint in the pool was chipping horribly. Almost half of the paint was gone! I was bothered by that, but other people seemed not to mind. There is no private entrance for the beach access, no key card, no guard. Therefore, every local in the know came through the property to use it, however as a guest for the hotel YOU pay the 15$/day resort fee. Once again, other people didn't mind but I did. The poorly trained front desk attendant did not register my 65$ deposit that I paid in cash, so I received multpile calls the next day at 11pm saying it needed to be paid. I told the manager on staff that I had paid, and she said she didn't see me on the security tape at all!? She and the receptionists then preceded to speak in spanish about the situation not knowing that I could understand them(something that all of the employees will do). The next morning, I solved the problem after another manager was willing to help. I was overwhelmed by the incompetent staff and aging/cracking building. The restaurant in the hotel is dirty(dead bugs in window and live ones flying around, and the staff(waiters and even the chefs) was just walking around talking instead of attempting to cook. We got up and left before he could poor our water. I will say that the decor in the room was gorgeous. Beautiful colors and swanky hand lotion. Although the maid didn't clean until the second day, when she did, she did an amazing job! Tip her well!! Its also nice to know the place has history. The Ed Sullivan show taped there and the Beatles performed in the Ballroom. If you just want to be on the beach all day, this is great for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For dining, I would definitely recommend you go eat at Hakkasan in Le Fountainebleu hotel. About 30$/item at the lowest but a great meal and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Be nice to yourself: DON'T STAY HERE

Second year in a row staying here for a 4 day conference. Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong, and they were brazenly unapologetic in every instance. Don't let the lobby & pool fool you - it's the only redeeming quality. Exterior of the building is in shambles. Rooms have missing curtains, stained carpet, broken shower rods and ripped liners. Poor paint jobs cover years worth of dirt pining the walls. Expect no audible privacy from the rooms next to you. Room service did not always come and when they did they often didn't leave fresh towels or replace the coffee packets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food is terrible and over-priced. We found that the Canyon Ranch next door was priced the SAME for organic food with five-star service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
belgium
Jul 6, 2010

deauville

thin walls, noisy bad airco, charged 50 $ extra for 2 extra houres, notting to do in hotel, small beach,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 2, 2009

Deauville "DUMP" Beach Resort

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a relatives wedding whose reception was held at the hotel. I read the awful reviews and thought "it can't be that bad". This hotel was actually THAT bad. If you have to stay at this hotel, I recommend paying a little extra for the rennovated rooms or going somewhere else. Unfortunately for us, they ran out of rennovated rooms. I think I've seen cheesey hotels nicer than this place. There's a required $10/day that they tack on to your reservation bill for towels, using the safe, internet. Our safe did not even work. We called to get it fixed and no one responded, as a result, we ended up just putting the "do not disturb" sign on the door the three days we were there. The hallway smelled like paint or chemicals which made me worry. The walls are paper thin. When we flush the toilet it already looks like someone peed in it. The iron didn't work. They only gave you a bar of soap and a conditioner shampoo. As for the pool, though it's open until 9pm, they make you return the towels at 6pm which didn't make sense to me. The beach and pool did not have a lifeguard. Oh, some of the channels on the tv didn't work. The tile on the bathroom floor was loose. The bed just had two white pillows and a thin white sheet - nothing else. I don't know how this place stays in business because it's just a horrible place. None of the pictures online resemble the actual hotel. The valet parking which they make you pay $20/day is REALLY slow. Everything just looks really old in this hotel. As for the wedding, the food was only ok - they actually ran out of food for the guest even though the family paid extra for unlimited food. There was not enough room for cocktail area so people ended spending a lot more time waiting for the food than actually eating it. The hotel staff were not very helpful - most of them spoke Spanish and didn't understand what we were asking. I normally don't write reviews but after staying at the Deauville Beach Resort, I was compelled to write one to prevent others from wasting their money and save them from an awful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to Cerione's Italian Cafe. The food was really delicious and service was great. I highly recommend it. You can also get a gift certificate of their restaurant through restaurant.com.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Again
Business
Orlando FL
Aug 17, 2009

Dont believe the PICTURES

Okay Not only did the pictures a LIE... Booking through orbitz was the worst ... it would of been the same price booking through the hotels website...and then Adding on hidden fees that the hotel adds on for "Towels" and the slowest Fing valet parking in the world ... i Mean u reallyy get what u pay for here ... maybe even less. NOT bad ... if u expect less...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If ur llooking for over priced not very good food =D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Local
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 6, 2009

Never Again!

This hotel has done a poor job of renovating & is still in the process of updating certain sectors of the facility. Although the staff is very friendly, security requires all guests to wear a band which resembles a hospital braclet during the entire duration of your stay. This is because of the general public's access to key areas like the pool. The elevators are horribly slow & it might take up to four trys to actually be able to board one. The sheets, towels and general look of the rooms and floors are old and worn down. The only part of this hotel which fits their description is the lobby and pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonita Springs, Florida
Apr 1, 2010

don't recommend

I have been visiting Miami for 18 years. [...] Furthermore, I incurred an unexpected fee for using the pool towels and fitness center[...]. I wanted a fresh glass of wine ,but they served me wine that was "rank" both downstairs and upstairs. When I addressed this with the server upstairs, it was a"take or or leave it attitude. He said that he wasn't going to open a bottle of fresh wine. The place did not have a person in it. I suppose the guests go accross the street qand buy their own.We called the front desk to ask what channel the Miami Heat game was on so we coukld watch it in our rooms( we had seen it on their big screen in the lounge) They were clueless.The beach towels by the poolside were frayed and worn--looked years old. I use mine like that to do housecleaning.I asked for a wake-up call at 5:00 in the morning. they called at 5:16. When i got downstairs, i asked directions to go across Allegator Alley(which is pretty basic from Miami) The front desk clerk was clueless. I asked her for a map, she didn't have one. The valet had no map.The staff spoke broken English at best, so you better know some Spanish if you want tocommunicate with the staff. The only person who was fluent was the clerk who checked me in, and of course, charged me the exxtra resort fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Lincoln road is a nice place to shop.its around 18th street, so its best to take a taxi or drive. Its usually hard to find parking spaces, so i recommend a taxi. For really upscale shopping, there is Bal Harbour which also must be by taxi. Really there is no good shopping near this hotel unless you drive, then it is a matter of minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Canada
Jul 6, 2009

Deauville Beach Resort review.

I must start with this being the worse hotel I have ever stayed at! The elevators and air conditioning did not work. The staff barely spoke english. There were extra charges for pool towels, the fitness room and the room safe. I did not even ask for the options. The stairwells smelled badly of urine. The air conditioning fan was very noisy. We had to turn the Television volume up to 3/4 to hear it. When we finally went down to the pool area that was under construction with jack hammers we did not get towels that we appairantly paid extra for as it was 4:00 pm when they put the towels away. To finish it all off I am now sick from that room. I profession is in air quality an I knew when I walked into the hotel it was a sick building. Please don't suggest this hotel to anyone! I am now communicating with Visa as I do not believe services were rendered.Oliver Owens[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 21, 2008

My review of Deauville Beach Resort

Well I had the worse experience a human been can have. firstable the first day we got there they didn't have parking available. We have to park our brand new car was 3 days old two blocks down. Was told by the supervisor valley parking staff to bring the car over tommorrow morning. When we brought the car to be valley parking still was no space for our new brand car. Hotel room was nasty no hot water, refrigerator was not working neither AC. Food was serve for dogs not for human., was nasty also. Our third day they finally found a little space for our new brand car. 20 minutes after my husband gave the key to park our brand new car was wreck by one of the valley parking staff. Either valley parking supervisor or hotel manager did not accomadate us on this circunstances. We went to miami for vacation and business and they ruin our vacation completely. So I will never refer a friend or family to stay at this hotel never ever. We had never had a bad experience on customer service like we had at this hotel(what a shame)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top