$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Deauville Beach Resort

2 stars
6701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
354 reviews
Very Pleased!!!

Hotel was great!!! Great service. Ocean front room had an amazing view. Altogether HAPPY!!! :) See full review

  • Ally M
  • Jul 14, 2014
Friends vacation time

Just good vibes from everyone there. The staff are from morning to night, every time you walk in or... See full review

  • Will More Bucks
  • Jun 24, 2014
Modernist hotel on the north end of Miami Beach made music history

This Collins Avenue hotel holds a prestigious spot in Miami Beach history. The property entertained the Rat Pack, and it was the site of the Beatles' second U.S. performance -- broadcast live on the "Ed Sullivan Show" from the Napoleon Ballroom. Old Hollywood glamour still shines through at this unique art deco resort, which maintains its status as a lively music venue with a global roster of entertainers at the onsite jazz club. A sizeable pool, expansive stretch of beach and Miami Modernist architecture strengthen the allure.

Highlights
  • Miami Modernist hotel on the north end of Miami Beach
  • A former playground to the Rat Pack and the site of the Beatles' second U.S. performance on the "Ed Sullivan Show"
  • The Famous Jazz Club and Kevin & Caruso's Magic Comedy Show on site
  • Poolside dining at Kon Tiki Tiki Bar
  • Airport transfer available at an added fee
Rooms

The 484 rooms -- including seven junior suites -- reflect a clean, contemporary style with few embellishments. Windows face the ocean, bay or city. Oceanfront rooms encourage guests to take advantage of the vistas via large balconies. Rooms feature tufted or wood headboards, white linens, an adjustable thermostat and cable. Wi-Fi access is covered in the resort fee.

Features
Frank Sinatra and the Beatles no longer entertain at the hotel, but guests will still find a regular lineup of musical acts at The Famous Jazz Club. The club has hosted jazz greats, such as Brandon Marsalis and Spyro Gyra. Head to the Kevin & Caruso's Magic Comedy Show on Saturdays for a festival of pyrotechnics, showgirls, comedy and magic.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (13 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (19 miles)
Attractions

  • Collins Avenue
  • Bal Harbour Shops
  • Art Deco Design District
  • Haulover Beach Marina
  • Bass Museum
  • The Miami Beach Architecture Cruise
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

  • 75,000 square feet of event space, including an exhibit area for trade shows and a 200-seat theater
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access in the lobby and restaurant
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Policies and fees

  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • The property charges a resort fee of $20 USD per night per room payable directly to the hotel. This is not included in the prepaid booking. Fee is inclusive of local calls, Wi-Fi access, use of fitness centre, pool and beach lounge chairs, beach towels, in-room refrigerator and safe deposit box.
  • Parking is available at $3 USD per hour up to $30 USD overnight.
  • The hotel requires a credit card deposit of up to $50 USD per day for incidentals. The authorization will hold the funds until check-out, at which time the actual amount incurred during the stay will be charged.
  • Coolers are not allowed at the resort. Rooms are outfitted with refrigerators for convenience of resort guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Deauville Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Deauville Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe City/Bay View Room
These elegantly appointed rooms offer views of picturesque Biscayne Bay, Collins Avenue and Miami Beach. Features include double or king-sized bed, large windows, marble floor and granite top spa inspired bathrooms, reading chair with ottoman, ample closets, writing desk and mini refrigerator.
Ocean View Room
One king or two double beds. View of the Atlantic Ocean. Safe, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, internet access, and video games(Surcharge). Contemporary tropical decor. Complimentary premium cable channels. Minimum age to check in is 21.
Standard Room
One king or two double beds. View of the city. In room safe, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, internet access and video games.(Surcharge). Complimentary premium cable channels. Minimum age to check in is 21.
Ocean Front
The Oceanfront guest rooms offer our guests a magnificent view of the crystal clear beach from the comfort of a private terrace. Let the sun in with our floor-to-ceiling glass windows and enjoy the spacious suite with your choice of two double or one king size bed. You will also find a plush reading chair with ottoman, plenty of closet space, a media center and mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Cafe De La Mer
Based on an International cuisine style, at Cafe de la Mer you will be sure to find the perfect meal for you and your family. All dishes are prepared with fresh and local ingredients delivered daily to our kitchen. Our chefs prepare each dish with a delicate craftsmanship that comes through in each flavorful bite. Following the American tradition, meals are served in large portions and at unbeatable prices. We have the perfect companion for your delightful meal with an extensive selection of national and international wines suitable for any budget. Cafe de la Mer offers a relaxing atmosphere and diverse cuisine making it the perfect vacation lunch and dinner spot. Hours: Open daily from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm
Kon Tiki Bar
Kon Tiki Bar offers a variety of light meals, snacks and a full cocktail bar you won't be able to resist. Located in the pool area means that you can relax and let us cater to your every need while you make the most out of your beach vacation. You may choose to enjoy your refreshments under the relaxing breeze of the poolside palm trees or on the sandy beach just a few steps away. Specials & Happy Hour You must try our signature cocktail list! The Kon Tiki Bar offers delicious Caribbean classics such as Pina Colada and Cuban Mojito as well as most traditional frozen favorites. To top it off we can delight you with our own signature creations made to your taste. The Kon Tiki Bar's delicious drinks, light snacks and relaxing tropical style thatched roof bar come together to create an idyllic peaceful beach atmosphere, comparable only to paradise. Hours: Open daily from 11:00 am to 7:00 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The perfect choice for meeting space or a banquet facility. The Deauville Beach Resort offers 75,000 square feet of meeting space that caters from 20 to 2,000. You'll feel exhilarated with the charm and warmth of Miami Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (354)

Ratings and reviews for Deauville Beach Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chula Vista
Sep 27, 2008

Dump Site

Erie feeling of abandonment and deserted facility. The pool was unmaintained with fractured tiles and coping to cut feet and tear swimsuits. The pool attendant threatened us to return the towels in before 6pm and charged us when we took them to the room. I understand that this was a happening place in the 40's and 50's but it has not been kept up for some time. There was vomit on the carpet of the room which was apparently mopped up with a towel and failed to properly clean the carpet - yuk! On the better side the Bald Bell hop was a funny and entertaining man and the Jazz restaurant was very good, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

It's time for some Upgrades

I was unsatisfied with my stay at the Deauville Beach Resort. I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was very satisfied with my stay there. I thought that I would experience another great stay. To my surprise the hotel looked exactly the same as it did when I was there a few years back. When we pulled up to the hotel It appeared to look run down from the outside. The doors to the entrance of the hotel were old and worn. They seemed to have been painted several times. A new shade of paint just didn?t do the job. The automatic doors did not work. You had to manually push the doors open. The furniture in the hotel lobby seemed to be the only upgrades that were done at some point. My fianc? and I were assigned to a room with two full size beds. The mattresses on the beds were hard and uncomfortable. We woke up with aches and pains. The bathroom appeared to look old and worn. Many years ago when I stayed at the Deauville I would have recommended it to everyone. Since my recent stay I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 31, 2007

My review of Deauville Beach Resort

Note the following: Staff was not friendly. Valid parking was not available upon our arrival. Had to park 4 blocks away and be picked up by shuttle back to hotel. Was advised that shuttle will take us back in the morning to pick up vehicle are we will charged parking. Shuttle was not available and had to walk. Hotel was not up to the definition of ?resort?. Location not convenient to main Miami attractions. Beach associated with hotel was very dirty. Not picked up daily. On morning there was load construction going on ( drilling for 1 hour was constant). Only one dinning option. Pool was in need of repairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Norman's local restaurant down the street was OK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
Oct 15, 2009

Keep low expctations and you'll be fine!

We arrived at 3pm. THe first hotel clerk said that we would have to wait until 4pm to check in. If you have an early flight, please be prepared for this.Also the A/C in the room barely worked! It was Hot in there. I live in Maryland, this heat was a mother!! with a poor quality a/c unit, which in found in all of the units.The place needs renovation badly. Get ready for the 70's.The price was very good for being right there on the beach, and They know this!! That's why they won't renovate and they keep the price low. Also, if you're renting a car, get ready for some drama There is no garage at all, the valet parks all of the vehicles in frot of the circular driveway. They are all on top of each other, so if yours is in the middle, you will be waiting for quite sometime for them to remove all the vehicle for yours. Also, even though you're pre-purchasing [...], the hotel will still be charging you an additional $10 a day, and they will be taking a deposit out from your visa for incidentals. If you don't have any incidentals, then you'll get your credit back in a week or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jan 1, 2011

Terrible Hotel

Disgusting rooms (even after a room change), no amenities, and a terrible location. Seems like it could have been an amazing hotel decades ago, but it was not maintained when the ultra luxury hotels moved into town. Save yourself the trouble and spend the extra money for a nice hotel in a nice location such as South Beach. This place is the epitome of a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 21, 2007

Must be struggling to survive

The Deauville Hotel and Resort was a complete disappointment! The whirlpool was out of order the whole time we were there. Ice was only availablabe on two floors,which meant a trip on the elevator every time we needed ice. The carpets on certain floors were dirty,the view was obscene,(they did change our room when we complained about looking at a dirty roof that was in disrepair). The room itself was o.k. for sleeping but it didn't have enough light (only one lamp) for close work. The water at the beach had debris floating on it that could have easily been removed from the surface.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Convenience store located right across the street and a Dunkin' Donuts about a block away. You have to drive or take a cab to the hot spots in South Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 5, 2007

Worst hotel I have stayed at

The hotel staff was very rude and their parking was full so I had to park 5 blocks away in 95 degree heat. I was all dressed to meet a friend and afterward It looked as if I had done a workout. They first offered me a room #419. The carpet and the room was disgusting . Their were carpet stains all over the floor. The furniture looked very old. The bed spread was very old . Then afterward I asked them for another room which they did not even wanted to accomidate me. Also I wanted to speak to the manager on several occasions which he was no where to be found. The assistant manager was going to give me a complimentary breakfast which they never did. The beach was very dirty and only a few lounge chairs available. And all extremely dirty.This hotel is not a 3 star hotel. Its more like 1.5 star. I was very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VAIT
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 16, 2011

In desperate need of improvement

The location is good, right on Miami Beach, however Deauville Beach Resort left a lot to be desired. For one, the rooms were dingy and very drab looking. Everything smelled moldy also. My main complaint was that the hot water was not working as soon as I checked into my room. At times, it would work intermittently and only briefly. In the middle of a shower, for example, it'd suddenly turn ice cold or stop altogether. I had family staying in the same hotel at the same time and they experienced exactly the same issue. I had to call SEVERAL times to complain to management about it and it took 2 days for the maintenance guy to come inspect it (note: the staff told me he'd be there a couple of times before he actually arrived). The staff at the front desk was also rude when I called to ask for help and complain about the lack of hot water, not being able to take a hot shower, not being able to get hot water in the sink etc. They were short with me and didn't bother to offer any type of assistance (i.e. I even asked if I could try another room). They didn't act like true customer service individuals who want to ensure you have a great stay. Another issue--the hot tub outside was COLD and not fixed for a couple of days. This hotel is cheap, yes, but you definitely get what you pay for, and with regard to lack of hot water...I question whether you even get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeymoon Couple!
Business
jacksonville,fl
Dec 1, 2009

Deauville Beach Resort

nothing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 28, 2011

far different from picture shown

1. rooms were very plain looking2. buffet at the cafe was not hot at all3. booked two tours from hotel, husband lost his phone coming back from Everglades on the bus and driver also RUSHED our trip there. we were supposed to come back at 2pm and driver dropped us off somewhere in downtown by 1pm..we also believed the driver, [...] kept the phone. 4. 2nd tour we took was to JUNGLE ISLAND in which the driver was NOT only 1/2 hour late p/u everyone up, he sent some guy in an SUV in which we all had to squeeze in.. overall the actual tour was good, but the BUS DRIVERS to the tours just suck at their jobs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

better off walking across the street to the SPORTS BAR in which the food was great instead of at the hotel which it was expensive and cold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top