$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Deauville Beach Resort

2 stars
6701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
350 reviews
Very Pleased!!!

Hotel was great!!! Great service. Ocean front room had an amazing view. Altogether HAPPY!!! :) See full review

  • Ally M
  • Jul 14, 2014
Friends vacation time

Just good vibes from everyone there. The staff are from morning to night, every time you walk in or... See full review

  • Will More Bucks
  • Jun 24, 2014
Modernist hotel on the north end of Miami Beach made music history

This Collins Avenue hotel holds a prestigious spot in Miami Beach history. The property entertained the Rat Pack, and it was the site of the Beatles' second U.S. performance -- broadcast live on the "Ed Sullivan Show" from the Napoleon Ballroom. Old Hollywood glamour still shines through at this unique art deco resort, which maintains its status as a lively music venue with a global roster of entertainers at the onsite jazz club. A sizeable pool, expansive stretch of beach and Miami Modernist architecture strengthen the allure.

Highlights
  • Miami Modernist hotel on the north end of Miami Beach
  • A former playground to the Rat Pack and the site of the Beatles' second U.S. performance on the "Ed Sullivan Show"
  • The Famous Jazz Club and Kevin & Caruso's Magic Comedy Show on site
  • Poolside dining at Kon Tiki Tiki Bar
  • Airport transfer available at an added fee
Rooms

The 484 rooms -- including seven junior suites -- reflect a clean, contemporary style with few embellishments. Windows face the ocean, bay or city. Oceanfront rooms encourage guests to take advantage of the vistas via large balconies. Rooms feature tufted or wood headboards, white linens, an adjustable thermostat and cable. Wi-Fi access is covered in the resort fee.

Features
Frank Sinatra and the Beatles no longer entertain at the hotel, but guests will still find a regular lineup of musical acts at The Famous Jazz Club. The club has hosted jazz greats, such as Brandon Marsalis and Spyro Gyra. Head to the Kevin & Caruso's Magic Comedy Show on Saturdays for a festival of pyrotechnics, showgirls, comedy and magic.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (13 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (19 miles)
Attractions

  • Collins Avenue
  • Bal Harbour Shops
  • Art Deco Design District
  • Haulover Beach Marina
  • Bass Museum
  • The Miami Beach Architecture Cruise
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

  • 75,000 square feet of event space, including an exhibit area for trade shows and a 200-seat theater
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access in the lobby and restaurant
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Policies and fees

  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • The hotel is non-smoking.
  • The property charges a resort fee of $20 USD per night per room payable directly to the hotel. This is not included in the prepaid booking. Fee is inclusive of local calls, Wi-Fi access, use of fitness centre, pool and beach lounge chairs, beach towels, in-room refrigerator and safe deposit box.
  • Parking is available at $3 USD per hour up to $30 USD overnight.
  • The hotel requires a credit card deposit of up to $50 USD per day for incidentals. The authorization will hold the funds until check-out, at which time the actual amount incurred during the stay will be charged.
  • Coolers are not allowed at the resort. Rooms are outfitted with refrigerators for convenience of resort guests.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Deauville Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Deauville Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe City/Bay View Room
These elegantly appointed rooms offer views of picturesque Biscayne Bay, Collins Avenue and Miami Beach. Features include double or king-sized bed, large windows, marble floor and granite top spa inspired bathrooms, reading chair with ottoman, ample closets, writing desk and mini refrigerator.
Ocean View Room
One king or two double beds. View of the Atlantic Ocean. Safe, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, internet access, and video games(Surcharge). Contemporary tropical decor. Complimentary premium cable channels. Minimum age to check in is 21.
Standard Room
One king or two double beds. View of the city. In room safe, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, internet access and video games.(Surcharge). Complimentary premium cable channels. Minimum age to check in is 21.
Ocean Front
The Oceanfront guest rooms offer our guests a magnificent view of the crystal clear beach from the comfort of a private terrace. Let the sun in with our floor-to-ceiling glass windows and enjoy the spacious suite with your choice of two double or one king size bed. You will also find a plush reading chair with ottoman, plenty of closet space, a media center and mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The perfect choice for meeting space or a banquet facility. The Deauville Beach Resort offers 75,000 square feet of meeting space that caters from 20 to 2,000. You'll feel exhilarated with the charm and warmth of Miami Beach.

Dining

Cafe De La Mer
Based on an International cuisine style, at Cafe de la Mer you will be sure to find the perfect meal for you and your family. All dishes are prepared with fresh and local ingredients delivered daily to our kitchen. Our chefs prepare each dish with a delicate craftsmanship that comes through in each flavorful bite. Following the American tradition, meals are served in large portions and at unbeatable prices. We have the perfect companion for your delightful meal with an extensive selection of national and international wines suitable for any budget. Cafe de la Mer offers a relaxing atmosphere and diverse cuisine making it the perfect vacation lunch and dinner spot. Hours: Open daily from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm
Kon Tiki Bar
Kon Tiki Bar offers a variety of light meals, snacks and a full cocktail bar you won't be able to resist. Located in the pool area means that you can relax and let us cater to your every need while you make the most out of your beach vacation. You may choose to enjoy your refreshments under the relaxing breeze of the poolside palm trees or on the sandy beach just a few steps away. Specials & Happy Hour You must try our signature cocktail list! The Kon Tiki Bar offers delicious Caribbean classics such as Pina Colada and Cuban Mojito as well as most traditional frozen favorites. To top it off we can delight you with our own signature creations made to your taste. The Kon Tiki Bar's delicious drinks, light snacks and relaxing tropical style thatched roof bar come together to create an idyllic peaceful beach atmosphere, comparable only to paradise. Hours: Open daily from 11:00 am to 7:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Deauville Beach Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2011

Beware

The hotel needs some asthetic work. The paint in the building was in serious need of repair. However it did the job. Location was good just a 15 min bus ride (that stops just outside the hotel) from south beach and directly on the beach. BEWARE of hidden fees! This hotel makes you pay an early check-in fee of a taxable $50 if you check in before 4 pm AND a $15 PER DAY resort fee that is SUPPOSE to include 2 beach chair rentals, beach towels, gym access, and a security box in the room. Last time i checked these things were suppose to come standard in a hotel and when I went to rent chairs the man in charge said i did not sign up for that package even though I did. This hotel seems cheap up front however you'll pay the difference at the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 12, 2011

Not worth the price

We chose this "resort" because of its location on the beach. On this end, the hotel lived up to its promise. The pool and beach access were great and we had a fantastic view from our room. It's in a decent location, there was a very convenient 24 hour Walgreen's across the street and a couple of decent restaurants, although it is a little far from all the restaurants and nightlife in South Beach. Those were the only positives. The resort looks old and run down and the rooms are badly in need of renovating. The fitness center was pretty scary-cluttered, dirty and not female friendly. The lower level had a strange art gallery, a barber shop, a sign that stated there were retail shops, although I never actually saw any, and a restaurant that appeared to not be open. The main lobby had a "jazz club" that again appeared to never be open. The staff was not at all helpful and even borderline rude. There's also a $15 per day resort fee that you're required to pay even if you don't use these "amenities", which include beach chairs, fitness center and in room safe (our's didn't even work). Be warned: you are paying for what you get here. Spend a little more for a better experience elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Not the best choice

I would not recommend this hotel if: A) Your looking to have any night life in South Beach (22.00 cab ride to any local club) B) If you want to relax at the pool in the hot tub (your bathing suite will get torn on the unfinished or cracked concrete) C) If you want food near you: No food places around you. (must take car or cab) D) If you want entertainment in the hotel, band stops at 11pm. I thought this was South Beach D) If you want to look out your hotel windows to see the nice view (windows very dirty) The people at the hotel were very friendly but the hotel was not at all impressive. I asked for a hotel that was close to South Beach nightlife. The man told me yes, 15 min away. I am thinking 15 min walk, NO cab or car ride. its 60 something blocks from anything. The local restaurant near the hotel ?Normans food was very bland. The streets were dirty, and there were bums every where. I would not recommend for a family, although quiet just not fun! Valet was ok, but when we got our cars back that we paid 20.00 a day to house they were so dirty, covered in sand the valet said they have sandstorms are we in NV? Some of the scratches from the sandstorm did not come out. Like I said before the seats in the hot tub were so ruff that your suite would get caught on the seat. I bought some cookies from the dollar paradise across the street they were so stale!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

breakfast buffet was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Mar 10, 2010

Think Again!

The staff was rather rude. Check-In Attendant insisted that I did not have enough funds to cover my room. Got charged for stuff after the fact. Rooms were not as nice as depicted. No public access to beach. Price was rather reasonable, but overall service was not up to par. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Mar 29, 2010

Not good

parking was a problem. they list valet, and you get there and valet is full...had to park 2 blocks away and get up every morning and either move car or put money into meter....no on street parking was available nearby either. If staying in the area, I would recomend south of this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Father of 11 year old daughter
Business
Sweden
Mar 18, 2011

Nice location, Bad service

Old but nice location right on the beach. The backside of the coin was the lack of service, and lack of good will. Remember that there is no parking in the hotel, except in the street, or in the community parking several blocks away. The parkingstaff at the hotel, tried to drive away our car twice while unloading our bags in front of the hotel. Very annoying. He was rude and kept asking for the key for the car, even after I had explained that I will park the car myself. This gave us a bad first impression of the service of the hotel. At check inn we were told that the resortfee was already included in our package, but when checking out, they insisted that we had to pay regardless of what they had told us before. No excuse. Later we found that one of the beds in the doubleroom was broken, a big hole in the middle. Called maintance and they sent two men, and the bed was soon removed and changed. At the souvenirshop in the hotel our daughter of 12 years age, did not get the right change back after bying icecream. No excuse this time either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Adventure mall, a nice place for shopping. Approx 20 min drive from the hotell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2007

Nice Location

This hotel is in a very good area of Miami beach. I was dissapointed with the service. When we arrived there was no parking so we had to park 10 blocks aways and take a shuttle. Accomodations were lousy, we asked for a crib for our 6 month old and they indicated there wasn't any. However in speaking with the room cleaner she indicated there was plenty. In addition, no one called to let us know. We had to call several times and finally got a NO. The pool could have been a bit cleaner. Beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belgium
Jul 24, 2009

OK but much better deals exist

Pool and beach at this hotel are good, but the location of the hotel in Miami Beach is not great - far from South Beach and other interesting places in the area. Ten dollar resort fee imposed at check-out was not mentioned either at booking with Orbitz or at time of check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel is 60 blocks (20 minute drive) from South Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BfromTX
Business
Keller, TX
Mar 7, 2010

Ok at best

The hotel was very close to the beach; however it smelled old even though it was newly renovated. You stay at this hotel for the very short walking distance to the beach not for the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 4 miles south the shopping on Lincoln Drive is AMAZING! I highly recommend it, the first 1/2 miles is cheap shops walk passed the intersection of Washington and Lincoln for the great shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Deauville Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

So So

The hotel stay was so so. It is not really in walking distance to anything 'touristy' or nice places to eat and since you have to valet park your car it takes a while to get in and out. Elevators were also very slow. It was homecoming weekend so there were a lot of young people having parties in the rooms but the layout of the room kept us from hearing too much of the noise. The rooms were okay and clean. It was an okay choice for the money but I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top