$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

4 stars
View map of 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Weekend Tripper
Business
Washington DC
Oct 26, 2010

The Congress Hotel (formerly The Strand)

It seems that the hotel's interior designer made a big mistake by specifying white furniture fabric (sofa, chairs, footstools - which, by the way, do turn into single beds) since I've seen several reviews complaining about stains and dirty furniture. Well, we were given one of the rooms with this problem. I went to reception, told them about it and we were re-booked into a junior suite which was wonderful. Both rooms had well supplied kitchens with new appliances which was very useful for our 6 day stay. Staff was excellent and willing to go the extra mile to please. One thing everyone should be aware of - the resort fee. Now $12 per day but this has become very common with South Beach hotels. [...] I have stayed at six or seven hotels on Ocean Drive and I have to say that The Congress is the best so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street and the beach towels, beach lounges, and shelters made the resort fee worthwhile. Everything in South Beach is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raul and Luis
Business
Bloomington, IN
Nov 30, 2010

Awesome place!

Right on Ocean Dr. Across the beach and 1/2 block away from Versace's Mansion. Gay beach on 12 St - just a block away. . . Teh hotel gives you beach towels. A lovely large suite with a killer bathroom - very comfortable and a sweet kitchenette (perfect for warming up food and mixing cocktails!) a great King sized bed. Food, bars and music all around and to top it off A block from Collins which has fantastic shopping!!! You can walk to all the fun places even Lincoln Rd (to die for!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food places on Ocean Dr. are overpriced and not good - your typical tourist traps. Go to Lincoln Rd, Collins, Washington. Search the internet for places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny the traveler
Business
San Diego
Jun 28, 2014

Nice location, clean room

I was happy with the hotel..Staff wasn't too helpful... Couldn't get towels or shampoos delivered until morning, when we had used up our first set. But not too big of a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allan S.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Secret Getaway

Hotel is in excellent location, not many amenities, overall was a great experience, would definitely do it again, great location for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VacaGuru
Business
N/A
Jan 28, 2015

Great Spring Break Trip

Took a trip out to Miami for the first time and had a blast and this hotel didn't disappoint. Near to local shops and great restaurants on Ocean Blvd. Has a great view if you get the room facing the Ocean, other rooms are more than fine also. It is also in the middle of all the "action". Overall friendly staff, clean rooms, clean hallways, plenty of amenities(but of course it will cost you your first born for a Snickers bar), nice rooftop pool area, and not too pricey overall. Stayed there recently for a second trip and enjoyed it as much as we did the first time. Keep it up guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nightlife all around and clubs just around the corner about 3-4 blocks down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arlene p.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

husband birthday

it would off been better if the rof top pool would staybopen till late

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quick Trip Taker
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 6, 2014

Great location, seems overpriced

We loved the location of this hotel, being just across the street from the beach and having a large strip of restaurants and bars. However, for the price we paid, the customer service could have been much better. We always had to be the ones to initiate help from the staff and check-in/check-out was a much longer process than expected. The hotel also charges a $12.50 per day per person fee for "amenities" they provide. Other than towels to take to the beach (which were old and raggedy), I don't know what this went to. It was a pain to have to pay an additional fee at the end of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BH traveler
Business
New York
Jan 15, 2014

Noisy, got room changed

On second floor could really hear music from club next door, staff was good, changed room, was better In the middle of South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many clubs, party locale

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms.Bell
Business
QUEENS,NEW YORK
Jan 30, 2014

WEEKEND GETAWAY In JANUARY

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bathroom has a rain drop shower which is AMAZING! I would stay here again. The free Happy Hour at the bar does not serve top shelf liquor and the daily resort fee is a pocket breaker, and at front desk they give out free Apples and a glass of Sangria ,Overall, i had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OCEAN 10

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Contreras1983
Business
Washington,DC
Feb 10, 2014

GREAT LOCATIONS, OK HOTEL.

My wife ad I stayed for 6 nights 7 days in December, the hotel was ok but the location was great. It is right on Ocean Drive close to the all the night life. It is Very loud at night becuase everyone is partying . The rooms were ok, I like the fact that it has a ktichenette. I would stay again, beause you can't beat the location or the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a pizza place close by that has good prices, if you have Dinner on any of the Restuarants on Ocean Drive they are expensive and they all include 18-20% gratuity on the check.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top