$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

4 stars
1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Valentines day weekend

Hotel stay was awesome, staff was very pleasant and hotel is in the heart of EVERY THING! Directly... See full review

  • Black barbie
  • Feb 18, 2014
Great trip

We had a great time, the hotel is located in the heart of South Beach, just steps away from most... See full review

  • Dashuttka
  • Sep 11, 2013
Congress Hotel Ocean Drive Hotel is one of the most stylish properties on South Beach. This unique property encompasses 4 historical structures and one new building: Tropical, Contemporary, Deco and Retro. And, of course, all of the boutique amenities you'd expect from a hotel that is equal parts style and substance.

RESORT FEE: Congress Hotel South Beach Resort Fee includes a Welcome Drink (glass of champagne or flavored water), Rooftop Happy Hour from 5-6pm with free wine and beer, free local calls, wireless internet, daily newspaper at front office, beach and pool towels. It is $12.50 per person, per night, plus tax of 13%.

Valet parking daily available for a fee.

Hotel Map

25.7814 -80.1307
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International Airport - 15 miles
Area description
Congress Hotel Ocean Drive is in the heart of the Art Deco District and within walking distance to the beach, boutique shops, restaurants, and outdoor cafes of Ocean Drive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Hotel Ocean Drive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Congress Hotel Ocean Drive Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Ocean View
Room includes 1 king along with millwork and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen to designer mosaic tiles, soaking tubs, rain fall shower heads and granite tops in all the bathrooms. The beds are covered by the finest 300 count Egyptian cotton linens, Bathrobes as well as H2O plus bath amenities are provided, Flat Screen TV's and a CD player / radio alarm clock with MP3 connection, complimentary wireless high speed internet access.
Junior Suite Standard
Room includes 1 king along with millwork and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen to designer mosaic tiles, rain fall shower heads and granite tops in all the bathrooms. The beds are covered by the finest 300 count Egyptian cotton linens, Bathrobes as well as H2O plus bath amenities are provided, Flat Screen TV's and a CD player / radio alarm clock with MP3 connection, complimentary wireless high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
Room includes 1 king along with millwork and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen to designer mosaic tiles, soaking tubs, rain fall shower heads and granite tops in all the bathrooms. The beds are covered by the finest 300 count Egyptian cotton linens, Bathrobes as well as H2O plus bath amenities are provided, Flat Screen TV's and a CD player / radio alarm clock with MP3 connection, complimentary wireless high speed internet access.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Room includes 1 king along with millwork and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen to designer mosaic tiles, soaking tubs and granite tops in all the bathrooms. The beds are covered by the finest 300 count Egyptian cotton linens, Bathrobes as well as H2O plus bath amenities are provided, Flat Screen TV's and a CD player / radio alarm clock with MP3 connection, complimentary wireless high speed internet access.
1 Bedroom Suite Standard
Room includes 1 king along with millwork and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen to designer mosaic tiles, soaking tubs, rain fall shower heads and granite tops in all the bathrooms. The beds are covered by the finest 300 count Egyptian cotton linens, Bathrobes as well as H2O plus bath amenities are provided, Flat Screen TV's and a CD player / radio alarm clock with MP3 connection. complimentary wireless high speed internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Dining
The Strand Ocean Drive Hotel offers two distinct dining options from the casual to the more sophisticated - the Atlantic Grill and Bar and Cafe Medi - serving international cuisine specializing in seafood, pasta and steak.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fillyblake
Little Rock, AR
Mar 28, 2011

Would not Stay Here Again!!!

I have been to Miami many times and stayed in all kind of hotels, but this one I have to say was one of the worst ones I have stayed in. Every other day necessities like toilet paper had to be requested more than once and then finally arrived to the room hours later. Thes second time, I went down to the front desk by myself and got it. While the Continental Breakfast was delicious the staff that worked it were very rude and inattentive. If you got a cup of coffee, it was dropped off and you never again see another waiter. I would rather serve myself and get coffee when I wanted coffee but this was not an option. Towels for the beach and pool were advertised as being provided but they were only where they were supposed to be once my entire stay. When you had to ask the front desk for a towel, because there were not any on the rack they were annoyed and rude about getting you one. The beach is across a very busy Ocean Drive, so don't be fooled by "we are locatged on the beach". The walls of this hotel are paper thin, you can hear people talking on the sidewalk outside and being in the heart of South Beach, this was 24 hours a day. For the money that The Congress cost, you can find much nicer accomadations easily. I would not stay here again for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maupin
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE-Worst Hotel Experience in 20 Years

Disgusting conditions and lack of respect for guests. Promotion of this hotel in any form is directly putting guests safety and health at risk. 1. The room was unsanitary- -Broken wine glass (fractured stem) found underneath our mattress -Feces covered towel found under our mattress 2. Professionalism -Front desk was unprofessional Front desk employee answered the phone mid conversation handing us the key and not explaining there was an entrance code/another building for our room. After 20+ minutes looking around we retreated and asked the front desk employee where our room was...since he was to busy ignoring us and talking to a non hotel guest 5 minutes later we were helped by the bell hop. In total it took 30min to find the room that was ironically 150 steps away from the front desk. Overall, it was a frightening experience that left my fiancée and I up all night unable to sleep due to the inhabitable cleanliness. Have tried several times to get in contact with the hotel manager and have yet to receive a return phone call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Feb 2, 2011

Terrible Service

I stayed at the Congress hotel for the Orange Bowl. I wanted a nice hotel that was close to good eating and night life. The location was fine, but it was the absolute worse service I have ever had. 1. We witnessed housekeeping "wiping down" dirty glasses instead switching them out with clean ones. 2. When I requested someone come and fix the refrigerator I was told it could not be done that day, and they would send someone the next day. No one ever came, and when I called again they acted as if they never received the initial call. They still never fixed it, and I never got a single follow-up or explanation. 3. Ocean Drive was closed, so we were unable to valet. They told us we could park in the garage. They failed to tell us that we would be charged every time we came in and out. 4. Don't pay extra for the balcony. There was barely enough room to stand on the balcony, much less bring a chair out and sit. If you were at just the perfect angle, you may catch a glimpse of the water. 5. The airline lost my luggage. I call to the lobby and state that I was expecting my luggage. They say "Oh, maybe this is yours sitting right here". I ask if the airline told them whose it was. They put me on hold, and say "Yes, we'll bring it right up". Who knows how long it was sitting there. 6. Ironing board cover...disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Dec 30, 2010

The Strand Hotel Ocean Drive

- Breakfast starts from 8:30 AM This might be late. - The floor is too thin. Noise may bother you. - Musics from outside are noisy. - This hotel is overpricing. - Many rooms are facing to building. - There is no parking of this hotel. You need to look for public parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many dining places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northeast
Apr 18, 2011

Great Location....Questionable Service

The roof top pool was absolutely amazing !!!! The rooms were spacious, but the suite I stayed in had some questionable stains on the sofa (suggestion to hotel owner- purchase darker colored furniture). I think the location is ideal if you are there to party, however the amout of money I spent per night was unfortunately not sufficient enough to warrant sheets for the pull out sofabed. The front desk clerk said "THEY WERE ALL OUT." I would recommend this only hotel because it is convieniently located to all Miami has to offer. If you do stay here I wouldn't set high expectations for customer service. Especially, since my room was only cleaned once during a 4 night stay :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Complimentary Breakfast" really isn't complimentary. At checkout you must pay a resort fee. The resort fee covers your breakfast whether you eat there or not and other misc things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Feb 1, 2011

Typical South Beach

The room was large but smelled like mold. It was advertised as a partial ocean view but the only way you could see anything was to go out on the balcony, which was in the ally, and crane your head. There were really no functional windows and at around 2am there was a lot of noise from the ally by the clean up crews from neighboring restaurants. It is located right in the heart of Ocean Drive and it did have a mini kitchen. The TV was laughably small in this day of big screens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms.Bell
QUEENS,NEW YORK
Jan 30, 2014

WEEKEND GETAWAY In JANUARY

This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bathroom has a rain drop shower which is AMAZING! I would stay here again. The free Happy Hour at the bar does not serve top shelf liquor and the daily resort fee is a pocket breaker, and at front desk they give out free Apples and a glass of Sangria ,Overall, i had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OCEAN 10

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
South Beach
Chicago
Nov 22, 2010

Good Location-Cleaning Crew very Suspect

The hotel itself was average and old (Retro Building). Don't believe the tutorials that you see on-line. The rooms look nothing like that up close and personal. The location of the hotel on Ocean Dr is cool and that's the best part about staying there as its well within walking distance of all the night life spots both on Ocean Drive as well as Washington Street which is 2 blocks over in south beach. You also are right across the street from the beach. Beware of using debit cards at this hotel (Congres) as you may definitely have some sort of erroneous charge to your account that will not clear for 3-5 business days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BH traveler
New York
Jan 15, 2014

Noisy, got room changed

On second floor could really hear music from club next door, staff was good, changed room, was better In the middle of South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many clubs, party locale

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VanessaC
Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Good if you're on a budget

The hotel was in a great location- close to the beach and it was easy to walk to several restaurants, shops, and clubs. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for a fun weekend on a budget. The room was good- definitely clean and very spacious, so my boyfriend and I were able to spread out. However, it was pretty dated and wasn't cleaned until 4-5 pm every day (which was usually an inconvenience as it was right when we returned from the beach). The free happy hour sounded like a nice touch but was a joke-super crowded, weak drinks, and I felt awful for the bartenders. The staff was friendly and overall it was an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search