$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

4 stars
View map of 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BILLK
Deptford, NJ
Nov 3, 2011

Soth Beach Exeprience

Staff very freindly, room was expansive, located near everything, small balcony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ticia
Single
New York, NY, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great spot on Ocean

I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times my answer is the same. It is a good hotel. I would recommend to others. The rooms are like suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prime time has great Italian food

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacob C
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 26, 2011

Great location, average hotel

Stayed here mostly for the location and on that point they did not disappoint. Only steps from the beach and easily within walking distance of the hottest spots in South Beach. Hotel itself was nice enough, but a bunch of annoying little things frustrated me, like no remote control for the tv, over half of the electrical outlets didn't work, no blackout blinds in the bedroom, etc. Plus the hidden fees were kind of ridiculous. From resort fees to city/state taxes to valet to extra person fees (who goes to a resort alon?), plan on paying about $75/night extra to cover all their silly fees on top of what Orbitz is quoting here. In all- a great weekend on South Beach, although the next time I'm in town I'll probably stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dlr011
Couples
Almont, MI 48003, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Would stay here again.

The location of this hotel is great, right in the middlr of South Beach. When we checked in they did not have our room ready so the upgraded us to a bugger room with a great ocean view. Roof top poool was nice too. Front desk was alittle slow but not horrible. The bell hop Daniel was excellent! I would go back for the way he treated us alone. I was alittle surprised by the $25 resort fee that they charged us at check out, because they don't tell you about this till checkout. Overall i was still pleased with the place for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GrandForks traveler
Family
Mexico City
Apr 25, 2011

Good hotel cleaning staff not so good

The room is very nice and well located. Not too excited about paying 12.50 per person per day in fees but I guess it covers the free breakfast at the restaurant next door and the chairs at the pool. Otherwise you would pay a lot more doing it without the hotel deal. The cleaning staff was not so good. There is only one elevator so you run into the staff all the time. Parking is $35 per day.Other than that it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Northeast
Apr 18, 2011

Great Location....Questionable Service

The roof top pool was absolutely amazing !!!! The rooms were spacious, but the suite I stayed in had some questionable stains on the sofa (suggestion to hotel owner- purchase darker colored furniture). I think the location is ideal if you are there to party, however the amout of money I spent per night was unfortunately not sufficient enough to warrant sheets for the pull out sofabed. The front desk clerk said "THEY WERE ALL OUT." I would recommend this only hotel because it is convieniently located to all Miami has to offer. If you do stay here I wouldn't set high expectations for customer service. Especially, since my room was only cleaned once during a 4 night stay :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Complimentary Breakfast" really isn't complimentary. At checkout you must pay a resort fee. The resort fee covers your breakfast whether you eat there or not and other misc things.

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Night with Friends
Friends
Washington, DC
Apr 8, 2011

great location

Good location,staff not very friendly. Late cleaning, room wasn't ready until 5.30 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fillyblake
Couples
Little Rock, AR
Mar 28, 2011

Would not Stay Here Again!!!

I have been to Miami many times and stayed in all kind of hotels, but this one I have to say was one of the worst ones I have stayed in. Every other day necessities like toilet paper had to be requested more than once and then finally arrived to the room hours later. Thes second time, I went down to the front desk by myself and got it. While the Continental Breakfast was delicious the staff that worked it were very rude and inattentive. If you got a cup of coffee, it was dropped off and you never again see another waiter. I would rather serve myself and get coffee when I wanted coffee but this was not an option. Towels for the beach and pool were advertised as being provided but they were only where they were supposed to be once my entire stay. When you had to ask the front desk for a towel, because there were not any on the rack they were annoyed and rude about getting you one. The beach is across a very busy Ocean Drive, so don't be fooled by "we are locatged on the beach". The walls of this hotel are paper thin, you can hear people talking on the sidewalk outside and being in the heart of South Beach, this was 24 hours a day. For the money that The Congress cost, you can find much nicer accomadations easily. I would not stay here again for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Michigan
Mar 25, 2011

Nice room - poor service!

To start off positive, the location is great - right in the thick of things on ocean drive. Near restaurants, clubs, the beach, shopping, you name it. The room was spacious and well-accomodated with a nice bathroom and comfy bed. However, the service was AWFUL. We got there at midnight - 3 of us lugging big suitcases. The bellman was instructed to show us to the room and did not even offer to carry our bags! Even after we asked, he still did not carry them and just led us to the door, came in the room, and wouldn't leave until we gave him a tip. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired to stay the least. We found a dirty band-aid in between the sheets when we went to get into bed!! They had not even changed the sheets after their last guest! There was one set of towels for three guests. We had to ask them repeatedly for more towels and to change our bedsheets. They did not apologize and acted like they were doing us a big favor rather than their job. The next day we saw the band aid on the floor again they hadn't even picked it up! It seemed like service is bad at every restaurant and hotel in South Beach. Every restaurant we went to had pretty bad service compared to, say, anywhere else in the US. People here have no clue what good customer service is! Also beware, an 18% gratuity is included in every check anywhere you go-maybe folks don't feel the need to work for a good tip. The breakfast was just ok. Although I liked the room and loved South Beach, I'll definitely pick somewhere else to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wish restaurant close by is an amazing (albeit pricey) dining experience!

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
urbantony
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2011

Cool property (was Congress Hotel)

This is a great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the action ... cool room amenities and I had an ocean view room with a balcony overlooking the street that was a bit busy going into the early morning. Personally, I liked that since I was out late myself. Great location and can walk to lot's of places and right across from the beach! FUN PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of nightlife options within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top