$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

4 stars
View map of 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
South
Friends
California
Nov 6, 2012

On Ocean Drive

Get location on Ocean Drive for night life. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Views of south beach. Large open rooms with Kitchenette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Side walk cafes are great for people watching and short walk next door for night life, bars and clubs.

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christina Marie G
Friends
Boston
May 1, 2014

You literally can't find a better location ...

If youre looking for somewhere to stay in the heart of South Beach this is the place. Its located right on Ocean Drive with tons of bars, restaurants and stores right outside your door and an absolutely gorgeous beach across the street. The hotel itself is kinda small, made up of 3 different buildings, but the rooms are spacious and pretty nice. It's also a huge plus having your own kitchenette, probably not enough to cook yourself a 3 course meal but perfect for keeping your beers cold and reheating leftovers. The rooftop pool itself isnt very special but the view is amazing and you can't beat the 5-6pm Happy Hour. Charlie, Eddie and everyone else working the bar were awesome. We ended up checking in and out twice because we decided to stay another day and they all went pretty smoothly, although we weren't able to check-in to our room early and had to wait until 4pm the first time, which kinda sucks when your flight gets in at 9am, but they were able to store our luggage for us in the meantime which was a big help. The day of the 2nd check-in our room wasn't available until almost 5pm but the manager and guy working at the front desk were very apologetic and upgraded us to a double which was much appreciated. The lobby is pretty small and hectic around check-in/checkout times and it took quite a while for our bags to get up to the room since there's only 1 bellboy, but you're in Miami -- having to sit on your balcony and stare at a gorgeous beach while waiting for your bags isnt such a bad thing I guess. All in all I would 100% stay at the Congress Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenbear7
Couples
Key Largo, FL
May 1, 2014

awesome stay!

When my fiancee and I come to south beach we always stay here. We love it!! Close to all the action and the rooms are spacious, clean, modern and comfy. Staff is friendly and thoughtful. Wec love the rooftop pool and the view is amazing! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maupin
Couples
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE-Worst Hotel Experience in 20 Years

Disgusting conditions and lack of respect for guests. Promotion of this hotel in any form is directly putting guests safety and health at risk. 1. The room was unsanitary- -Broken wine glass (fractured stem) found underneath our mattress -Feces covered towel found under our mattress 2. Professionalism -Front desk was unprofessional Front desk employee answered the phone mid conversation handing us the key and not explaining there was an entrance code/another building for our room. After 20+ minutes looking around we retreated and asked the front desk employee where our room was...since he was to busy ignoring us and talking to a non hotel guest 5 minutes later we were helped by the bell hop. In total it took 30min to find the room that was ironically 150 steps away from the front desk. Overall, it was a frightening experience that left my fiancée and I up all night unable to sleep due to the inhabitable cleanliness. Have tried several times to get in contact with the hotel manager and have yet to receive a return phone call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Black barbie
Couples
new jersey
Feb 18, 2014

Valentines day weekend

Hotel stay was awesome, staff was very pleasant and hotel is in the heart of EVERY THING! Directly on the strip amongst all the entertainment and nightlife. I definitely will stay here again ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Www.worldcrawl.com

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VanessaC
Couples
Chicago
Feb 18, 2014

Good if you're on a budget

The hotel was in a great location- close to the beach and it was easy to walk to several restaurants, shops, and clubs. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for a fun weekend on a budget. The room was good- definitely clean and very spacious, so my boyfriend and I were able to spread out. However, it was pretty dated and wasn't cleaned until 4-5 pm every day (which was usually an inconvenience as it was right when we returned from the beach). The free happy hour sounded like a nice touch but was a joke-super crowded, weak drinks, and I felt awful for the bartenders. The staff was friendly and overall it was an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReVisiters
Couples
New York
Feb 14, 2014

Good for a party

If you stay out late and like to party this would be a great hotel. The room is very nice and fun but the noise level at night is loud with the party happening outside. For late night-ers this is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Betsy for Brunch was wonderful!

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Contreras1983
Couples
Washington,DC
Feb 10, 2014

GREAT LOCATIONS, OK HOTEL.

My wife ad I stayed for 6 nights 7 days in December, the hotel was ok but the location was great. It is right on Ocean Drive close to the all the night life. It is Very loud at night becuase everyone is partying . The rooms were ok, I like the fact that it has a ktichenette. I would stay again, beause you can't beat the location or the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a pizza place close by that has good prices, if you have Dinner on any of the Restuarants on Ocean Drive they are expensive and they all include 18-20% gratuity on the check.

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DHomes
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Feb 9, 2014

Overnight in Miami

This trip was our first time in Miami. The hotel staff was excellent. The 1-bedroom deco was huge. We stayed on the third floor with a view of Ocean Drive. Stayed on a Friday night so it was quite loud, but we were tired and didn't have much trouble falling asleep. Had a drink at the rooftop bar. Staff was nice, the area looked like it had seen better days. The restaurant connected to the hotel had terrible service, but good food. Hotel stored our bags for the day and called us a cab for the airport. Very pleased and would probably stay again if we head back down to Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast: walk to the north end of Ocean Drive and have breakfast at The Front Porch Cafe. Excellent orange zest french toast!

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brap29
Couples
Flint, Mi.
Jan 25, 2014

Good Location

Night time is very loud. Very close to streets, streets very crowded. Parking crowded. Room was very unique and the top floor pool is a nice view. Prime Location. Bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Busy.

Review of Congress Hotel Ocean Drive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BH traveler
Couples
New York
Jan 15, 2014

Noisy, got room changed

On second floor could really hear music from club next door, staff was good, changed room, was better In the middle of South Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Many clubs, party locale

Back to menu Return to top