$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Colony Hotel

3 stars
736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
77 reviews
hOTEL

I've stayed at many hotels in South Beach but this was by far the BEST Service See full review

  • NikonPhotoPro
  • May 28, 2013
close to everything in southbeach

$9 for a warm beer was just a little pricey! room was clean and comfortable excellent value for the... See full review

  • cruisebaby
  • Oct 16, 2013
Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi in South Beach is Ocean Drive original

For the ultimate Miami trip of beach days and party nights, there are few hotels positioned better than Colony Hotel in South Beach. The blue neon glow is a well-known image on famous Ocean Drive where people come from around the world to sip cocktails under shady palms and dance away balmy nights. Highlights of the Colony Hotel include a sidewalk bistro for people watching and artfully preserved Art Deco that is visible throughout all three floors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and affordable breakfast also are offered.

Highlights
  • Close to the legendary South Beach oceanfront and nightlife
  • $3.95 breakfast
  • Weekend DJs
  • On-site dining
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Rooms

Most of the 48 rooms at the Colony Hotel are best suited for couples with a queen or two double beds. Restoration of this 1939 building features refinished Dade County Pine hardwood floors and wall-mounted, 20-inch or 42-inch flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms include custom tile work and tub/shower combos. Book a suite for extra space and a view overlooking South Beach. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Colony Hotel.

Features

The Colony Hotel has the makings of an original Miami vacation. The beach beckons just a block away (grab a beach towel from the front desk on the way out). The neon façade casts a glamorous glow on the revelers who gather on the sidewalk bistro after nightfall. Amenities at the Colony Hotel include valet parking and a concierge who provides club discount passes and tour information.

Dining

Affordable breakfast is a signature of the Colony Hotel. For lunch and dinner, order wraps, burgers and ahi tuna appetizers along with martinis and beer from the full bar. Room service also is available at the Colony Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (adjacent)
  • Oceanfront (across the street)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.1 mi/29.2 km)

Hotel Map

25.7775 -80.1316
Area served
Miami Beach.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport.
Area description
The Colony Hotel is located facing the ocean on the heart of trendy South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colony Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Colony Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds include Flat screen /Plasma TV with cable. The bedding of the given room varies and the same can be other than the mentioned in the bedding type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 77
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cruisebaby
pittsburgh pa
Oct 16, 2013

close to everything in southbeach

$9 for a warm beer was just a little pricey! room was clean and comfortable excellent value for the money very friendly staff . we only stayed one night before our cruise this place is right in the middle of everything south beach .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

there is a little 6 passenger golf cart called Scoop that runs around like a little taxi and will transport you anywhere on southbeach for free!

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ericam5
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 25, 2013

Great, Low Cost Place to Stay on SoBe Strip (Ocean Drive)

For the past (4) years, friends and I have been going to South Beach and usually try out different hotels each time...This year we decided to stay at the Colony Hotel again because we had new guests with us who have never been to Miami and we thought they should eperience stayng on Ocean Drive...We had no issues the last time we stayed there (2) years ago and were happy to see that things had not changed...Our rooms were very clean...We didn't have to call to ask for additional towels or toilet paper like we have to at other hotels...I love the fact that this hotel has a safe in it so you don't need to worry about the safety of your money or other valuables while away from the room...It also has a refrigerator, iron, iron board, HD tv, DVD player & plenty of space to store your belongings...I only wish it had a microwave and more outlets to use for charging electronics...We used the valet service this year as we had rental cars and that process of returning and checking out the cars went smoothly...Also, the staff at this hotel are all GREAT, FUN people!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kia Hyman
Baltimore,Md
Jul 16, 2013

friends getaway

It was a ok stay. It could have been better. I didn't ferl comfortable taking a shower, it was a little dirty. The pillows had stains on them, we ask for new ones & they put the same ones back on the bed. they should be a two star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Room service & Bamboo

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iAmWaVvY
NY
Jun 6, 2013

Nothing Special

Since Location is right across from the beach. You dont have to go far to jump right into the action. Plain Hotel. Sadly, my room was only cleaned ONCE during my 6 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 words. Tap Tap. Haitian restuarant down 5th ave. Food is amazing.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New to Miami
London UK
Feb 20, 2013

Great location

Fantastic location, spacious room and helpful staff. On the downside nothing in my room worked including the telephone, safe and free wifi login for the whole 2 days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Mechelle
Detroit
Jun 25, 2012

Will never stay there again!!

I did not get the double beds i requested. No clean face cloths or towels...had to ask and wait for them everyday. Room did not get cleaned everyday. We saw a couple of bugs in the room. The only thing good about this hotel is the location and the managers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cificrenik
washington, dc
Mar 7, 2012

Girls' weekend

Very personable staff. I didn't come to hang out in my room, so it was comfortable for housing my clothes, providing a good night sleep, and being able to shower and change. Great proximity to the beach and people watching on ocean dr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dayzeelu
Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Bad Hotel/Bad Staff/Dirty

There are no mirrors, no trash cans, they do not change your sheets, no bell man, not enough towels, loud people, loud staff, no blinds, bad light, dirty floor, noisy, small, bad water pressure... over all BAD BAD experience will never stay there again nor advise anyone to. This is like a hostil NOT a hotel!!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

they are all over on ocean st. this hotel is not special by any means

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
three blind MICE
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Sep 27, 2011

MICE!!!!

The hotel is in a great location. Very close to restaurants, shopping and night life. HOWEVER, there are mice everywhere! I seen a mouse at least once a day either in the lobby or running through the hallways. The pictures look NOTHING like the actual rooms. Only one floor has actually been "remodeled". We had cold water in the shower everyday and we actually had to clean our own room and change our own sheets because house keeping did not. Hallways had a foul smell on every floor. I was told the managers name was Kim or Kelly and she was NEVER there! I left several messages and my cell phone number so she could call me and I never heard from her. Who knows if she even exists. The staff was overall friendly and upbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
three blind MICE
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Sep 27, 2011

MICE!!!!

The hotel is in a great location. Very close to restaurants, shopping and night life. HOWEVER, there are mice everywhere! I seen a mouse at least once a day either in the lobby or running through the hallways. The pictures look NOTHING like the actual rooms. Only one floor has actually been "remodeled". We had cold water in the shower everyday and we actually had to clean our own room and change our own sheets because house keeping did not. Hallways had a foul smell on every floor. I was told the managers name was Kim or Kelly and she was NEVER there! I left several messages and my cell phone number so she could call me and I never heard from her. Who knows if she even exists. The staff was overall friendly and upbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top