$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
View map of 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
65 reviews
Great location for a getaway

We didn't spent a ton of time in the room, but we had everything we needed when we were there. It... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 27, 2014
Great night on the beach

We had a great night on the town- perfect location to walk up and down the beach and get drinks or... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 9, 2014

For the ultimate Miami trip of beach days and party nights, there are few hotels positioned better than Colony Hotel in South Beach. The blue neon glow is a well-known image on famous Ocean Drive where people come from around the world to sip cocktails under shady palms and dance away balmy nights. Highlights of the Colony Hotel include a sidewalk bistro for people watching and artfully preserved Art Deco that is visible throughout all three floors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and affordable breakfast also are offered.

Dining

Affordable breakfast is a signature of the Colony Hotel. For lunch and dinner, order wraps, burgers and ahi tuna appetizers along with martinis and beer from the full bar. Room service also is available at the Colony Hotel.

Rooms

Most of the 48 rooms at the Colony Hotel are best suited for couples with a queen or two double beds. Restoration of this 1939 building features refinished Dade County Pine hardwood floors and wall-mounted, 20-inch or 42-inch flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms include custom tile work and tub/shower combos. Book a suite for extra space and a view overlooking South Beach. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Colony Hotel.

Property features

The Colony Hotel has the makings of an original Miami vacation. The beach beckons just a block away (grab a beach towel from the front desk on the way out). The neon façade casts a glamorous glow on the revelers who gather on the sidewalk bistro after nightfall. Amenities at the Colony Hotel include valet parking and a concierge who provides club discount passes and tour information.

Highlights
  • Close to the legendary South Beach oceanfront and nightlife
  • $3.95 breakfast
  • Weekend DJs
  • On-site dining
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colony Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Colony Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds include Flat screen /Plasma TV with cable. The bedding of the given room varies and the same can be other than the mentioned in the bedding type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 65
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Navy wifey
Business
Panama City Beach, Fl
Sep 27, 2014

Great location for a getaway

We didn't spent a ton of time in the room, but we had everything we needed when we were there. It was not the most luxurious place, but the location was phenomenal, and the staff was very friendly. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Navy wifey
Business
Panama City Beach, Fl
Sep 9, 2014

Great night on the beach

We had a great night on the town- perfect location to walk up and down the beach and get drinks or food. Staff was very friendly, we had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinRes
Business
NJ
Sep 23, 2013

We will be BACK!

I read all the reviews rooms are small.. this and that.. well first YES rooms are small but when you are upgraded to an ocean front JUST because I will take it! We must take also into consideration that this is right on the drive and in the middle of it all.. so yes you can expect the rooms to be smaller then a suite.. But the stay was MAGNIFICENT.. The view breath taking.. the action was amazing.. and I would definitely go back in a heart beat and stay at the colony without a doubt!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sap5
Business
Boston
May 15, 2013

Colony Hotel - 1 Night

I booked the Colony Hotel for 1 night as a I just returned from a weekend on a cruise and wanted to spend a night in South Beach. I thought the room was perfect for what I wanted. Updated room, clean, perfect location, and cheap. I would reccomend if you are only going for a few nights. However, my girlfriend noted that the room is not ideal for girls. There was no mirror to get ready in and the blow dryer barely worked. We had room 102 which was right next to the bar and we did not experience any noise that couldn't be tuned out with a TV or AC. The staff was very friendly at check in. They took our bags and provided us beach towels. However, when requesting bath towels the next day, it took 45 mins and 3 visits to the front desk to get this completed. If you are just going for a night or 2 and want to be in a perfect location in a clean room, then stay here. It was worth the $95 for 1 night, but would not reccomend for a girls trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast next door at Johnny Rockets. $3.99 gets you: Eggs Bacon or Sausage Coffee or OJ Toast Home Fries or Pancakes.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fellow Miami Traveler
Business
Miami, Florida
Feb 28, 2013

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Dirty, Rude, Arrogant, (& No English)

Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. All me and my husband did was eat here and it was a horrible experience. My boyfriend got a piece of a Brillo pad in his drink, the hostess was DRINKING on the job and completely arrogant, just like the rest of the staff, ESPECIALLY one of the waitresses, who wasn't even ours. I asked to use the bathroom, walked down a disgusting lobby hallway into a back area where there were men sitting (randomly outside the women's room). I walked into the women's room, heard one man yell to another, and before I knew it, on my way out of the bathroom, one of the men was walking in- to the LADIES room, as I was walking out (knowing I was in there alone) and when I asked if there was a problem he just walked out. Thank god I was through using the bathroom. However, I asked to speak to a manager and they said No. Then when my husband did they said just pay and leave. When he asked AGAIN, they said they were going to call the cops as he said "Please do, now." Instead, they all became very scared and said "No, just pay us and leave". Meanwhile, a waitress was swearing about us in Spanish (thinking we couldn't understand her" and threatening us to leave. BY FAR the worst service and experience of my life. Lets just say, the cops were called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Disgusting. Rudest staff I have ever encountered.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Purakushi
Business
jERSEY. uk
Nov 21, 2012

“Hair in my Bed from the last Guest..!!”

I stayed from the 3rd November to 5th 2012 On arrival i was shocked by the dated interior. Seeing my room for some reason i had too check the bed because something wasn't right. To my disgust i found hair (Lower body hair) in the bed. The last time i came across this was in a hotel in tripoli, Libya some 20 years ago. This hotel is disgusting and you can hear doors banging at night from other guests. The staff showed concern but were very evasive when I asked who owned the hotel. I dind't even see the manager after my incident, i presume he was adamant on avoiding me. I cant say i saw anyone eating at the hotel either. It would seem the hotel has one thing going for it and thats its location. Be warned stay away from here. Truly a nightmare, lucky i was only booked in for 2 nights. Room Tip: if you really have to stay here, then get a room at the back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Checking into here be prepared to pay mega bucks for everything ..this is ocean drive..!!! a cocktail is £9 and americans want 15% on all your food bills...2 nights here and you can be bankrupt..!

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JO 1ND DOR
Business
new york
Aug 20, 2012

great location

clean friendly hotel right in the midddle of it all .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of restaurants

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philip32
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 22, 2011

location, location, location!

This is a old hotel with lots of history! The location is awesome, with so much to do within walking distance. I was not impressed with the bar at all I spent 18.00 on a bloody mary that was cheap vodka and tomato juice from a can. The room is so so. I was in south beach to party not stay in my hotel. If you are looking for a family or private romantic get away, this is not it! This hotel is about location. Everything is in walking distance, I took a cab twice my whole trip. If you are coming to south beach for the real south beach vacation stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Lincoln rd. Mall has everything you want! Shopping, food, entertainment they have it all.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jfk3
Business
Tacoma, WA
Sep 13, 2011

Dipping a toe into South Beach

Clean, simple little Art Deco hotel in South Beach. Great location. Very nice front staff. Stay away from the hotel bar...$30+ for a Margarita and Diet Coke!!! Rooms need mini-refrigerators...decor is a spot tired. Adventure, eh? The Colony might be the ticket...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 6, 2011

my stay at the colony hotel

The location was, as most of the hotels on ocean drive are, near the beach and near bus routes that allowed for easy access to commuter travel. We did not do much at the hotel itself except for a short stay at the bar which was good. Had there been more help as far as a "travel guide" to what and where to go.... This was my first trip to Miami, and it was as a novice to the south beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top