$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
View map of 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
46 reviews
Bday trip

Great trip. Had a great time with my hubby for his birthday See full review

  • Shenney N.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Great location for a getaway

We didn't spent a ton of time in the room, but we had everything we needed when we were there. It... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 27, 2014

For the ultimate Miami trip of beach days and party nights, there are few hotels positioned better than Colony Hotel in South Beach. The blue neon glow is a well-known image on famous Ocean Drive where people come from around the world to sip cocktails under shady palms and dance away balmy nights. Highlights of the Colony Hotel include a sidewalk bistro for people watching and artfully preserved Art Deco that is visible throughout all three floors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and affordable breakfast also are offered.

Dining

Affordable breakfast is a signature of the Colony Hotel. For lunch and dinner, order wraps, burgers and ahi tuna appetizers along with martinis and beer from the full bar. Room service also is available at the Colony Hotel.

Rooms

Most of the 48 rooms at the Colony Hotel are best suited for couples with a queen or two double beds. Restoration of this 1939 building features refinished Dade County Pine hardwood floors and wall-mounted, 20-inch or 42-inch flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms include custom tile work and tub/shower combos. Book a suite for extra space and a view overlooking South Beach. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Colony Hotel.

Property features

The Colony Hotel has the makings of an original Miami vacation. The beach beckons just a block away (grab a beach towel from the front desk on the way out). The neon façade casts a glamorous glow on the revelers who gather on the sidewalk bistro after nightfall. Amenities at the Colony Hotel include valet parking and a concierge who provides club discount passes and tour information.

Highlights
  • Close to the legendary South Beach oceanfront and nightlife
  • $3.95 breakfast
  • Weekend DJs
  • On-site dining
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (adjacent)
  • Oceanfront (across the street)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.1 mi/29.2 km)
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colony Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Colony Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds include Flat screen /Plasma TV with cable. The bedding of the given room varies and the same can be other than the mentioned in the bedding type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dayzeelu
Business
Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Bad Hotel/Bad Staff/Dirty

There are no mirrors, no trash cans, they do not change your sheets, no bell man, not enough towels, loud people, loud staff, no blinds, bad light, dirty floor, noisy, small, bad water pressure... over all BAD BAD experience will never stay there again nor advise anyone to. This is like a hostil NOT a hotel!!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

they are all over on ocean st. this hotel is not special by any means

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Mechelle
Business
Detroit
Jun 25, 2012

Will never stay there again!!

I did not get the double beds i requested. No clean face cloths or towels...had to ask and wait for them everyday. Room did not get cleaned everyday. We saw a couple of bugs in the room. The only thing good about this hotel is the location and the managers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Purakushi
Business
jERSEY. uk
Nov 21, 2012

“Hair in my Bed from the last Guest..!!”

I stayed from the 3rd November to 5th 2012 On arrival i was shocked by the dated interior. Seeing my room for some reason i had too check the bed because something wasn't right. To my disgust i found hair (Lower body hair) in the bed. The last time i came across this was in a hotel in tripoli, Libya some 20 years ago. This hotel is disgusting and you can hear doors banging at night from other guests. The staff showed concern but were very evasive when I asked who owned the hotel. I dind't even see the manager after my incident, i presume he was adamant on avoiding me. I cant say i saw anyone eating at the hotel either. It would seem the hotel has one thing going for it and thats its location. Be warned stay away from here. Truly a nightmare, lucky i was only booked in for 2 nights. Room Tip: if you really have to stay here, then get a room at the back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Checking into here be prepared to pay mega bucks for everything ..this is ocean drive..!!! a cocktail is £9 and americans want 15% on all your food bills...2 nights here and you can be bankrupt..!

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fellow Miami Traveler
Business
Miami, Florida
Feb 28, 2013

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Dirty, Rude, Arrogant, (& No English)

Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. All me and my husband did was eat here and it was a horrible experience. My boyfriend got a piece of a Brillo pad in his drink, the hostess was DRINKING on the job and completely arrogant, just like the rest of the staff, ESPECIALLY one of the waitresses, who wasn't even ours. I asked to use the bathroom, walked down a disgusting lobby hallway into a back area where there were men sitting (randomly outside the women's room). I walked into the women's room, heard one man yell to another, and before I knew it, on my way out of the bathroom, one of the men was walking in- to the LADIES room, as I was walking out (knowing I was in there alone) and when I asked if there was a problem he just walked out. Thank god I was through using the bathroom. However, I asked to speak to a manager and they said No. Then when my husband did they said just pay and leave. When he asked AGAIN, they said they were going to call the cops as he said "Please do, now." Instead, they all became very scared and said "No, just pay us and leave". Meanwhile, a waitress was swearing about us in Spanish (thinking we couldn't understand her" and threatening us to leave. BY FAR the worst service and experience of my life. Lets just say, the cops were called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Disgusting. Rudest staff I have ever encountered.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
preddibrown
Business
indianapolis indiana
May 29, 2011

bugs bugs bugs & looks nothin like pic

Walk the beach and stayed away from the room as much as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 6, 2011

my stay at the colony hotel

The location was, as most of the hotels on ocean drive are, near the beach and near bus routes that allowed for easy access to commuter travel. We did not do much at the hotel itself except for a short stay at the bar which was good. Had there been more help as far as a "travel guide" to what and where to go.... This was my first trip to Miami, and it was as a novice to the south beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
three blind MICE
Business
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Sep 27, 2011

MICE!!!!

The hotel is in a great location. Very close to restaurants, shopping and night life. HOWEVER, there are mice everywhere! I seen a mouse at least once a day either in the lobby or running through the hallways. The pictures look NOTHING like the actual rooms. Only one floor has actually been "remodeled". We had cold water in the shower everyday and we actually had to clean our own room and change our own sheets because house keeping did not. Hallways had a foul smell on every floor. I was told the managers name was Kim or Kelly and she was NEVER there! I left several messages and my cell phone number so she could call me and I never heard from her. Who knows if she even exists. The staff was overall friendly and upbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DNS
Business
New York
Jul 10, 2010

Worst Hotel

We requested a non smoking room but instead we got a room that was a chimney. The bathroom was in need of repairs, it was more like a 1 star than 3. I actually had to book another hotel that same night because of the overwhelming cigarrette smell in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas2Miami2013
Business
Texas
May 14, 2013

weekend vacation at colony hotel

desk staff needs to be more professional and attentive. Seems like they hired a college party-goer to run the front desk who spends more time talking to girls and cracking jokes than attending to new arriving customers. Rooms lack everything necessary needed in a room, no mirrors, they have a fridge but no microwave. The weekend I went, they didn't turn on their iconic hotel neon lights outside. Could be a great hotel with a little more professionalism and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

18% gratuity automatically charged everywhere you go.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 16, 2010

Roach Hotel

This hotel is the best for location. However, the rooms are much too small,and we saw roaches on the bar area downstairs. I would never eat from this hotel. Maintance for the rooms were good, and the rooms were cleaned well. If your looking for the best location stay here, but you must realize everything else falls short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevendar Hotel, has the best outside fun and daily events.

Back to menu Return to top