$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
View map of 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
65 reviews
Great location for a getaway

We didn't spent a ton of time in the room, but we had everything we needed when we were there. It... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 27, 2014
Great night on the beach

We had a great night on the town- perfect location to walk up and down the beach and get drinks or... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 9, 2014

For the ultimate Miami trip of beach days and party nights, there are few hotels positioned better than Colony Hotel in South Beach. The blue neon glow is a well-known image on famous Ocean Drive where people come from around the world to sip cocktails under shady palms and dance away balmy nights. Highlights of the Colony Hotel include a sidewalk bistro for people watching and artfully preserved Art Deco that is visible throughout all three floors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and affordable breakfast also are offered.

Dining

Affordable breakfast is a signature of the Colony Hotel. For lunch and dinner, order wraps, burgers and ahi tuna appetizers along with martinis and beer from the full bar. Room service also is available at the Colony Hotel.

Rooms

Most of the 48 rooms at the Colony Hotel are best suited for couples with a queen or two double beds. Restoration of this 1939 building features refinished Dade County Pine hardwood floors and wall-mounted, 20-inch or 42-inch flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms include custom tile work and tub/shower combos. Book a suite for extra space and a view overlooking South Beach. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Colony Hotel.

Property features

The Colony Hotel has the makings of an original Miami vacation. The beach beckons just a block away (grab a beach towel from the front desk on the way out). The neon façade casts a glamorous glow on the revelers who gather on the sidewalk bistro after nightfall. Amenities at the Colony Hotel include valet parking and a concierge who provides club discount passes and tour information.

Highlights
  • Close to the legendary South Beach oceanfront and nightlife
  • $3.95 breakfast
  • Weekend DJs
  • On-site dining
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (adjacent)
  • Oceanfront (across the street)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.1 mi/29.2 km)
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (5.9 mi/9.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colony Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Colony Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds include Flat screen /Plasma TV with cable. The bedding of the given room varies and the same can be other than the mentioned in the bedding type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Fantastic friends getaway

OMG! It was the best time ever. The hotel staff is very nice. [...]took good care of us while we were there. He is a great guy. [...] as well. The room was very nice and clean. I will definitely go back to that hotel. I didn't want to leave. They treat you like family. Thanks [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close by. It was the best.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JO 1ND DOR
Business
new york
Aug 20, 2012

great location

clean friendly hotel right in the midddle of it all .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of restaurants

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NikonPhotoPro
Business
New Jersey
May 28, 2013

hOTEL

I've stayed at many hotels in South Beach but this was by far the BEST Service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC to South Beach.
Mar 28, 2011

The purple colony

There's no full length mirror or ocean views but the room is nice, clean, and close to WET WILLIES! Same block. Cheapest breakfast, $3.95 and good DJ spinning out front on Saturday. Can't complain. I love Miami. Go with the right person....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wet willies at the corner best drinks, ask for a rainbow swirl.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Fantastic friends getaway

OMG! It was the best time ever. The hotel staff is very nice. [...]took good care of us while we were there. He is a great guy. [...] as well. The room was very nice and clean. I will definitely go back to that hotel. I didn't want to leave. They treat you like family. Thanks [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close by. It was the best.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharky
Business
Aiken, SC
Jun 30, 2009

Location, Location, Location

Overall, the hotel was alright. The thing you must remember is you are paying for location, location, location, not amenities. My initial room had no closet and no hooks on the wall to hang clothes. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the rooms. Only a bed, dresser and TV/DVD. This was a vacation trip and we wanted to be in walking distance of the beach which we were. The staff was super nice and helpful. You are right across the street from the beach. You are in walking distance of just about any type of food and beverage you want. Entertainment is in walking distance of the hotel. I would recommend and will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DamoeNYC
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2009

Perfect for What it Was

Party, party, party!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtina
Business
Fairfield, CT
Jun 7, 2010

The Perfect Location

Great Location. Great Staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevelander is a great place to start your night and it's right around the corner.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Location Location Location!

I went with a bunch of girlfriends all in our 30's and we were looking to party and enjoy the beach. The best part about the Colony was the location. The Colony is definitely not a 5 star hotel but It's right across the street from the beach and very central to all shopping. Carlos was wonderful in giving us advice on where to go and where to eat. I would definitely stay here again!d

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cificrenik
Business
washington, dc
Mar 7, 2012

Girls' weekend

Very personable staff. I didn't come to hang out in my room, so it was comfortable for housing my clothes, providing a good night sleep, and being able to shower and change. Great proximity to the beach and people watching on ocean dr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top