$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
55 reviews
Great location for a getaway

We didn't spent a ton of time in the room, but we had everything we needed when we were there. It... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 27, 2014
Great night on the beach

We had a great night on the town- perfect location to walk up and down the beach and get drinks or... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 9, 2014
Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi in South Beach is Ocean Drive original

For the ultimate Miami trip of beach days and party nights, there are few hotels positioned better than Colony Hotel in South Beach. The blue neon glow is a well-known image on famous Ocean Drive where people come from around the world to sip cocktails under shady palms and dance away balmy nights. Highlights of the Colony Hotel include a sidewalk bistro for people watching and artfully preserved Art Deco that is visible throughout all three floors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and affordable breakfast also are offered.

Highlights
  • Close to the legendary South Beach oceanfront and nightlife
  • $3.95 breakfast
  • Weekend DJs
  • On-site dining
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Rooms

Most of the 48 rooms at the Colony Hotel are best suited for couples with a queen or two double beds. Restoration of this 1939 building features refinished Dade County Pine hardwood floors and wall-mounted, 20-inch or 42-inch flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms include custom tile work and tub/shower combos. Book a suite for extra space and a view overlooking South Beach. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Colony Hotel.

Features

The Colony Hotel has the makings of an original Miami vacation. The beach beckons just a block away (grab a beach towel from the front desk on the way out). The neon façade casts a glamorous glow on the revelers who gather on the sidewalk bistro after nightfall. Amenities at the Colony Hotel include valet parking and a concierge who provides club discount passes and tour information.

Dining

Affordable breakfast is a signature of the Colony Hotel. For lunch and dinner, order wraps, burgers and ahi tuna appetizers along with martinis and beer from the full bar. Room service also is available at the Colony Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (adjacent)
  • Oceanfront (across the street)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.1 mi/29.2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colony Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Colony Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds include Flat screen /Plasma TV with cable. The bedding of the given room varies and the same can be other than the mentioned in the bedding type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DamoeNYC
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2009

Perfect for What it Was

Party, party, party!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beltsville, Md
Jul 13, 2009

Perfect place I had fun No problems

Perfect location Beach was right across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 5, 2009

Classic but not classy

Centrally located but very noisy. better for younger or single people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent variety of good dining in the area with sidewalk entertainment if you're into people watching

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharky
Business
Aiken, SC
Jun 30, 2009

Location, Location, Location

Overall, the hotel was alright. The thing you must remember is you are paying for location, location, location, not amenities. My initial room had no closet and no hooks on the wall to hang clothes. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the rooms. Only a bed, dresser and TV/DVD. This was a vacation trip and we wanted to be in walking distance of the beach which we were. The staff was super nice and helpful. You are right across the street from the beach. You are in walking distance of just about any type of food and beverage you want. Entertainment is in walking distance of the hotel. I would recommend and will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern NJ
Jun 19, 2009

Not bad...not bad at all...

This hotel is in a prime location. It doesn't get much better than this. The room itself was nice, modern, however the hallway looked a bit dingy. The walls are super thin so you can hear everything going on outside. The view from the room was of an alley in between the building next to us where the dumpsters are located...smell was gross. ***Beware...NO CELLULAR or INTERNET SERVICE IN THE ROOMS***This was our biggest regret about staying here. THe front desk said he "isn't sure" why the internet doesn't work in the rooms but I should go into lobby to use my labtop...which makes no sense since website advertises internet in all rooms. Front desk staff was stand-offish which isn't welcoming and I didn't like at all. With so many choices in SoBe I will most likely stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top