$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
View map of 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 16, 2010

Roach Hotel

This hotel is the best for location. However, the rooms are much too small,and we saw roaches on the bar area downstairs. I would never eat from this hotel. Maintance for the rooms were good, and the rooms were cleaned well. If your looking for the best location stay here, but you must realize everything else falls short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevendar Hotel, has the best outside fun and daily events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtina
Business
Fairfield, CT
Jun 7, 2010

The Perfect Location

Great Location. Great Staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevelander is a great place to start your night and it's right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
May 24, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

It was close to all the great places in South Beach a nice experience :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, New York
Apr 29, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

Parking is a problem in South Beach but it was nice to have the Valet park the car at a flat rate of $22 for in / out. The hotel and the furniture is a bit old but the room was clean enough to hang your hat. Staff was very nice. I would go there again. You walk out the door and you're on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stiletto sal
Business
west palm beach
Apr 25, 2010

Miami Beach - overpriced

didn't know that I could park for free on the street with a disability plate: had to use valet parking. Fairly good response. No space in the bathroom to put your things. Small shower with shower curtain rod placed too high, permitting too much water on the floor, and the rod was barely holding the curtain. Except for mold, clean enough. Seat on toilet loose. Asked for seat and mold to be cleaned up. not done. I'd give it a one star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2010

Great price, nice clean hotel.

Great location for the price. The rooms were clean and cozy. The ac wasn't as good as it should be but good enough. It was not as noisy as we thought it would be for being on ocean drive. If you don't have very loud neighbors, it's great. It doesn't have a pool or anything resort like but at least there is no resort fee. It's close to restaurants and 15 mins to good clubs. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 28, 2010

Exactly what we wanted

Hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Good value in a perfect location! Nothing overly fancy about it but it was cozy, clean, nice tv/beds etc. Rooms are a bit small if you want 2 beds but who cares because how much time do you spend in your room in south beach anyway?? Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Get the 2-25$ drinks for you and a friend and take em to the beach! The mango Mai tai and mojito were daily favorites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RI
Mar 24, 2010

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

I was very skeptical to stay at The Colony Hotel due to the mixed reviews. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in a received a window room overlooking the beach, not a standard room which I paid for. I was happy to find NO bed bugs and working AC. When I could not turn the TV on, the front desk sent someone up to help. They could not fix the TV so they moved our room next door to the Hibiscus Suite which was wonderful. It had a walk in closet, living room, jacuzzi tub, and great views. I would not stay here for a family vacation, but it was a great location for spring break or night life in general. The beach is directly across the street and everything is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Many of the restaraunts/bars INCLUDE an 18% gratuity which is stated as a service charge on your receipt. In this case, you do not need to leave an additional tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton TX
Feb 10, 2010

Great Stay.SuperBowl weekend also helped

The staff was very friendly. The hotel is in a great location. It did help that it was Super Bowl weekend. They cost of valet parking was a bit high, but I'm not sure that it was the regular price. DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT AT THE HOTEL....IT IS TOO EXPENSIVE, AND NOT VERY GOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jan 22, 2010

Colony OK

We spent a Wednesday night at the Colony and it was pretty quiet. It was $100. The previous week of had been really cold weather in January 2010 so it was not busy at all. All the negative press regarding these south beach hotels has to do with weekend visits during high seasons. It was fine and actually our least expensive stay while in southern Florida. Beware - there is no parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua was around the corner and really an authentic Cuban expereince.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top