$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Colony Hotel

3 stars
736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
54 reviews
hOTEL

I've stayed at many hotels in South Beach but this was by far the BEST Service See full review

  • NikonPhotoPro
  • May 28, 2013
Great location for a getaway

We didn't spent a ton of time in the room, but we had everything we needed when we were there. It... See full review

  • Navy wifey
  • Sep 27, 2014
Art Deco hotel with free Wi-Fi in South Beach is Ocean Drive original

For the ultimate Miami trip of beach days and party nights, there are few hotels positioned better than Colony Hotel in South Beach. The blue neon glow is a well-known image on famous Ocean Drive where people come from around the world to sip cocktails under shady palms and dance away balmy nights. Highlights of the Colony Hotel include a sidewalk bistro for people watching and artfully preserved Art Deco that is visible throughout all three floors. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and affordable breakfast also are offered.

Highlights
  • Close to the legendary South Beach oceanfront and nightlife
  • $3.95 breakfast
  • Weekend DJs
  • On-site dining
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Rooms

Most of the 48 rooms at the Colony Hotel are best suited for couples with a queen or two double beds. Restoration of this 1939 building features refinished Dade County Pine hardwood floors and wall-mounted, 20-inch or 42-inch flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms include custom tile work and tub/shower combos. Book a suite for extra space and a view overlooking South Beach. Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available at the Colony Hotel.

Features

The Colony Hotel has the makings of an original Miami vacation. The beach beckons just a block away (grab a beach towel from the front desk on the way out). The neon façade casts a glamorous glow on the revelers who gather on the sidewalk bistro after nightfall. Amenities at the Colony Hotel include valet parking and a concierge who provides club discount passes and tour information.

Dining

Affordable breakfast is a signature of the Colony Hotel. For lunch and dinner, order wraps, burgers and ahi tuna appetizers along with martinis and beer from the full bar. Room service also is available at the Colony Hotel.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
Attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (adjacent)
  • Oceanfront (across the street)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Miami Seaquarium (11 mi/17.6 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (16 mi/25.7 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.1 mi/29.2 km)

Hotel Map

25.7775 -80.1316
Area served
Miami Beach.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport.
Area description
The Colony Hotel is located facing the ocean on the heart of trendy South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colony Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Colony Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen
Rooms with 1 queen or 2 double beds include Flat screen /Plasma TV with cable. The bedding of the given room varies and the same can be other than the mentioned in the bedding type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Fantastic friends getaway

OMG! It was the best time ever. The hotel staff is very nice. [...]took good care of us while we were there. He is a great guy. [...] as well. The room was very nice and clean. I will definitely go back to that hotel. I didn't want to leave. They treat you like family. Thanks [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close by. It was the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Jay
Business
New York New York
Feb 24, 2011

Mr

It is a good place to be if you want to be in the center of the night life and beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jan 24, 2011

Wonderful stay!

I visited Souch Beach from Thursday, 1/20 - Sunday, 1/23 with friends to sight see, bar hop, and eat.This was a wonderful location because once you're downstairs, you are in the middle of everything! The beach is right across the street, and Ocean Drive is full of restaraunts! The hotel was small but clean and cute, and the staff was helpful. The room was small and looked like an apartment. It smelled a little musty and humid, and there was a small leak one day when it rained pretty heavily. However that is the only complaint and it didnt really bother me, because I was only there to shower and sleep. Overall a really nice stay and I would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay for the weekend - not a luxury hotel but still great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

While there you must check out Mangos Cafe, and the outdoor bar at the Clevelander Hotel. :D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nightlifeprincess
Business
Newark, DE
Jan 19, 2011

A good short stay

My friends and I stayed here for a night just off a whim. The staff were very helpful and very nice to us. For the price, its a perfect short stay hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Compa Canelo
Business
Compton Ca
Oct 14, 2010

Nice

It was pretty kool !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Business
nj
Aug 27, 2010

OK Hotel

After making a reservation through [...] colony hotel did not recognize the reservation nor did it go through for me to check in and i had to wait till end of day to get my room. Once i received the room, it had no shower curtain and broken iron. After complaining, they gave us another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DNS
Business
New York
Jul 10, 2010

Worst Hotel

We requested a non smoking room but instead we got a room that was a chimney. The bathroom was in need of repairs, it was more like a 1 star than 3. I actually had to book another hotel that same night because of the overwhelming cigarrette smell in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizabeth "I like the Ritz"
Business
NYC
Jun 22, 2010

Surprisingly good!

After reading the reviews of this hotel which were mediocre, I was pretty surprised that I was actually pleased with my stay here. Room was very air conditioned and clean (spotless)and since we were in the back of the hotel, quiet as well. I would definitely come back here as the price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Betsey Hotel. Fabulous drinks and ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jun 16, 2010

Roach Hotel

This hotel is the best for location. However, the rooms are much too small,and we saw roaches on the bar area downstairs. I would never eat from this hotel. Maintance for the rooms were good, and the rooms were cleaned well. If your looking for the best location stay here, but you must realize everything else falls short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevendar Hotel, has the best outside fun and daily events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xtina
Business
Fairfield, CT
Jun 7, 2010

The Perfect Location

Great Location. Great Staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevelander is a great place to start your night and it's right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top