$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
View map of 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cificrenik
Business
washington, dc
Mar 7, 2012

Girls' weekend

Very personable staff. I didn't come to hang out in my room, so it was comfortable for housing my clothes, providing a good night sleep, and being able to shower and change. Great proximity to the beach and people watching on ocean dr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dayzeelu
Business
Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Bad Hotel/Bad Staff/Dirty

There are no mirrors, no trash cans, they do not change your sheets, no bell man, not enough towels, loud people, loud staff, no blinds, bad light, dirty floor, noisy, small, bad water pressure... over all BAD BAD experience will never stay there again nor advise anyone to. This is like a hostil NOT a hotel!!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

they are all over on ocean st. this hotel is not special by any means

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
three blind MICE
Business
Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Sep 27, 2011

MICE!!!!

The hotel is in a great location. Very close to restaurants, shopping and night life. HOWEVER, there are mice everywhere! I seen a mouse at least once a day either in the lobby or running through the hallways. The pictures look NOTHING like the actual rooms. Only one floor has actually been "remodeled". We had cold water in the shower everyday and we actually had to clean our own room and change our own sheets because house keeping did not. Hallways had a foul smell on every floor. I was told the managers name was Kim or Kelly and she was NEVER there! I left several messages and my cell phone number so she could call me and I never heard from her. Who knows if she even exists. The staff was overall friendly and upbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
philip32
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 22, 2011

location, location, location!

This is a old hotel with lots of history! The location is awesome, with so much to do within walking distance. I was not impressed with the bar at all I spent 18.00 on a bloody mary that was cheap vodka and tomato juice from a can. The room is so so. I was in south beach to party not stay in my hotel. If you are looking for a family or private romantic get away, this is not it! This hotel is about location. Everything is in walking distance, I took a cab twice my whole trip. If you are coming to south beach for the real south beach vacation stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Lincoln rd. Mall has everything you want! Shopping, food, entertainment they have it all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jfk3
Business
Tacoma, WA
Sep 13, 2011

Dipping a toe into South Beach

Clean, simple little Art Deco hotel in South Beach. Great location. Very nice front staff. Stay away from the hotel bar...$30+ for a Margarita and Diet Coke!!! Rooms need mini-refrigerators...decor is a spot tired. Adventure, eh? The Colony might be the ticket...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Location Location Location!

I went with a bunch of girlfriends all in our 30's and we were looking to party and enjoy the beach. The best part about the Colony was the location. The Colony is definitely not a 5 star hotel but It's right across the street from the beach and very central to all shopping. Carlos was wonderful in giving us advice on where to go and where to eat. I would definitely stay here again!d

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 6, 2011

my stay at the colony hotel

The location was, as most of the hotels on ocean drive are, near the beach and near bus routes that allowed for easy access to commuter travel. We did not do much at the hotel itself except for a short stay at the bar which was good. Had there been more help as far as a "travel guide" to what and where to go.... This was my first trip to Miami, and it was as a novice to the south beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 8, 2011

Great Vacation!!

It was a great time! We went to out every night and had a wonderful time at the beach every morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
preddibrown
Business
indianapolis indiana
May 29, 2011

bugs bugs bugs & looks nothin like pic

Walk the beach and stayed away from the room as much as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 24, 2011

Nice Location/Great for partiers

Stayed here with friends... Its a really small room. Really only big enough for 2 people. However, the location is one of the best. It's like 2 hotels down from Wet WIllies. This hotel would be good for people who are going to Miami to party!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS and the Liquor store are a couple blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top