$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Colony Hotel

3 stars
View map of 736 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Colony Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas2Miami2013
Family
Texas
May 14, 2013

weekend vacation at colony hotel

desk staff needs to be more professional and attentive. Seems like they hired a college party-goer to run the front desk who spends more time talking to girls and cracking jokes than attending to new arriving customers. Rooms lack everything necessary needed in a room, no mirrors, they have a fridge but no microwave. The weekend I went, they didn't turn on their iconic hotel neon lights outside. Could be a great hotel with a little more professionalism and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

18% gratuity automatically charged everywhere you go.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fellow Miami Traveler
Couples
Miami, Florida
Feb 28, 2013

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Dirty, Rude, Arrogant, (& No English)

Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. All me and my husband did was eat here and it was a horrible experience. My boyfriend got a piece of a Brillo pad in his drink, the hostess was DRINKING on the job and completely arrogant, just like the rest of the staff, ESPECIALLY one of the waitresses, who wasn't even ours. I asked to use the bathroom, walked down a disgusting lobby hallway into a back area where there were men sitting (randomly outside the women's room). I walked into the women's room, heard one man yell to another, and before I knew it, on my way out of the bathroom, one of the men was walking in- to the LADIES room, as I was walking out (knowing I was in there alone) and when I asked if there was a problem he just walked out. Thank god I was through using the bathroom. However, I asked to speak to a manager and they said No. Then when my husband did they said just pay and leave. When he asked AGAIN, they said they were going to call the cops as he said "Please do, now." Instead, they all became very scared and said "No, just pay us and leave". Meanwhile, a waitress was swearing about us in Spanish (thinking we couldn't understand her" and threatening us to leave. BY FAR the worst service and experience of my life. Lets just say, the cops were called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Disgusting. Rudest staff I have ever encountered.

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New to Miami
Friends
London UK
Feb 20, 2013

Great location

Fantastic location, spacious room and helpful staff. On the downside nothing in my room worked including the telephone, safe and free wifi login for the whole 2 days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NurseAshley83
Family
Columbus, OH
Feb 2, 2013

Simple yet great

Staff was friendly. Room was clean. The elevator door was heavy & there was a lot of noise from other guests closing the heavy room doors but I still got enough rest. I would stay here again! I love the location :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

News Cafe

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J in the ham
Alabama
Jan 2, 2013

What?

Our first room on the third floor smelt like a urinal and the phone did not work. They could not move us the first night but did on the second night. The new room & bathroom were much fresher smelling. The front desk was not overly helpful for the price we were paying. I always felt I was imposing on them when I asked them to fix the TV and the refrigerator in the second room. The hotel is right in the middle of party central although we did not hear any noise in the room. I think I will move off the beach or to mid beach next time. The whole area is very safe and quite walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Purakushi
Couples
jERSEY. uk
Nov 21, 2012

“Hair in my Bed from the last Guest..!!”

I stayed from the 3rd November to 5th 2012 On arrival i was shocked by the dated interior. Seeing my room for some reason i had too check the bed because something wasn't right. To my disgust i found hair (Lower body hair) in the bed. The last time i came across this was in a hotel in tripoli, Libya some 20 years ago. This hotel is disgusting and you can hear doors banging at night from other guests. The staff showed concern but were very evasive when I asked who owned the hotel. I dind't even see the manager after my incident, i presume he was adamant on avoiding me. I cant say i saw anyone eating at the hotel either. It would seem the hotel has one thing going for it and thats its location. Be warned stay away from here. Truly a nightmare, lucky i was only booked in for 2 nights. Room Tip: if you really have to stay here, then get a room at the back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Checking into here be prepared to pay mega bucks for everything ..this is ocean drive..!!! a cocktail is £9 and americans want 15% on all your food bills...2 nights here and you can be bankrupt..!

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JO 1ND DOR
Couples
new york
Aug 20, 2012

great location

clean friendly hotel right in the midddle of it all .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

plenty of restaurants

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Mechelle
Friends
Detroit
Jun 25, 2012

Will never stay there again!!

I did not get the double beds i requested. No clean face cloths or towels...had to ask and wait for them everyday. Room did not get cleaned everyday. We saw a couple of bugs in the room. The only thing good about this hotel is the location and the managers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ice1982
Single
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Decent but good location

Small rooms,noisy guests, next time would stay on Collins blvd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Colony Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cificrenik
Friends
washington, dc
Mar 7, 2012

Girls' weekend

Very personable staff. I didn't come to hang out in my room, so it was comfortable for housing my clothes, providing a good night sleep, and being able to shower and change. Great proximity to the beach and people watching on ocean dr.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top