$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Clinton Hotel South Beach

3 stars
View map of 825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clinton Hotel South Beach

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 27, 2009

Expected more

The room was small and the air conditioner was leaking from the ceiling. The television only showed different views of the room, but it was an excellent location and very peaceful. I didn't like the extra $7.00 a day they charge for housekeeping, I thought housekeeping is a given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 24, 2009

Felt like I was staying in a brothel

First of all there is no where to park. If you want to do valet parking it is $27 a day! They don't even give you vouchers to park in public parking which is $20 a day. Next, you get to pay $8 a day (even if you don't want to) to use the pool (which is 8x12 and 5 feet deep and situated in an alley) and the work out center (which had 3 machines). The walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbors conversation (TV and music also), the people running around upstairs, and people coming in from the bars at 6 am. The hotel is super dark. The walls are painted dark purple and there is hardly any light. We felt like we were staying in a brothel. The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the rooms were clean. Would not recommend this hotel if you have children because there is constant pot smoking going on and rowdy people arriving home from the bars. Would not recommend this hotel if you would like to sleep in or have a peaceful vaction. Would not recommend this hotel if you want a nice swimming pool or a large room. Probably would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SBVacationer
Business
Virginia
May 23, 2009

Nice but Loud

the rooms were decent, not completely spotless (dusty spots) but clean enough. it did tend to be quite noisy, walls seem paper thin. be weary of the dark halls with black lighting, but i guess it gave the hotel character. also, there's only one elevator and its pretty tiny (incase you are weary of tight spaces). all it all, its best for its location. really close to the ocean and 7th entrance. not too too busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

definitely enjoyed just asking around for places to eat. great walking distance places to go: sushi rocks, puerto sagua

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
May 22, 2009

More like a 2 star hotel, awful!

This hotel is located on one of miami's busiest streets, and apparently located in the "red light district". The windows were not sound proofed at all, and traffic and other disturbing noises were heard all throughout the night. We did not get any sleep at this hotel. We complained to the staff and they simply did nothing. The Clinton hotel also charges a $7.00 fee to use their rediculously tiny pool. This hotel is more like a two star hotel, it had no amenities to offer for the price it is advertized for. The Clinton hotel looks nothing like the pictures used to describe it. Take your money somewhere else, this place was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
carointhecity
Business
Canada
May 20, 2009

Wouldn't stay there again...

We stayed at the Clinton for 4 nights May 15- May 19. They cleaned our room only ONCE after our first night. We called several times during the rest of our stay to have it cleaned and told us that the maids were already gone. We called for towels (cuz we ran out of towels because nobody cleaned our room for so long) and they never brought them. We had to call again for towels the next day. We had to clean our own room during our vacation because it became so messy because the maids weren't around..!!!! Some of the staff at the front desk is very unfriendly and unhelpful, only a couple were nice. They is no room service. You have to go down to the cafe downstairs to buy breakfast (which is pretty good by the way). The staff at the restaurant is very friendly. As for the rooms, they are OKAY. Very small, the shower is big. We got the one with the balcony right above the pool and it was definitely a plus. Location was the best part, you can walk everywhere!!! I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 18, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE

Disappointing from start to finish. They said that they had a valet, but we waited over 30 minutes to have our car parked when we checked in. We waited another 30 minutes before we could actually check in. The room is tiny, there was water damage in the bathroom, no housekeeping in our room, the honor bar was full of half-eaten food, the staff was rude and not happy - at all. We woke up in the morning to the sound of garbage dumpsters being emptied before 7am, the walls are paper thin and we were kept up all night by people talking and laughing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan in the Midwest
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 16, 2009

Miami Beach May 2009 at the Clinton

Planned this trip a couple months in advance, flew in on Friday night, rented a car and drove to the airport. First thing, its easy to get to this hotel. Even in traffic its only a 20 minute ride. Valet service is excellent, by the way. $27 a day but worth it if you plan on having a car. Just call down to the front desk whenever you want the car and in 10-20 minutes its there. Very convenient. We didn't know much about the Miami Beach area. It turns out that this hotel is pretty much ideally located. On Washington, its a 5 min walk to the beach, most mornings we were out the door and walking to the beach by 9:30. Shops are all around, and there's a little convenience store about 50 feet north of the hotel. We bought breakfast stuff (yogurt, fruit and such) there most mornings. Don't bother with the restaurants on Ocean, horribly overpriced and we found the staff to be on average dismissive and inattentive. Back to the hotel, we generally headed back to the room by 1 or 2. Room was always cool, a great hideout for the afternoon heat. Blue decor inside, at first was a little overdone, but by the end of the trip I was thankful for it. We found it calming, and very easy on the eyes after being in the sun all day. Anyway, as I said, location is the best aspect. We walked to Espanola Way and Lincoln Road most nights... its about a half hour walk to Lincoln, but that was perfect to walk off dinner. Other than that, the hotel staff were professional and helpful. We'd likely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bring a car if you can avoid it. Walk. The hotel is close to everything you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
May 16, 2009

Miami Vacation

It was plesant. The staff was polite and friendly the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Colombian dining across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackie shmackie
Business
nyc
May 14, 2009

small & cute. not shabby.

My boyfriend and i decided to take a quick getaway to south beach. we chose hotel clinton because of location and price. when i checked in i didnt like that i was charged hidden fees and again when i checked out i spent about $25 in hotel, tax fees blah blah. the elevator is so small about 4 people to fit in and the permit was expired! the hallways were too dark for me. the room was not so bad considering how small the hotel is but the room was great. the walls are paper thin that you can hear people use the bathroom. the pool was a joke, we called it a "wet your feet" pool. next time i'll pay a little more to get something better. valet parking staff were really nice and helpful. i wouldnt recommend this hotel for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to everything. food, shopping, nightlife 2 blocks away from beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Briggs
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 14, 2009

Smells like pez and urinal cakes

Staff was curt and lazy. The doorman stood still and played with his cell phone instead of opening the door. Beds were EXTREMELY uncomfortable! The pool was TINY, and one night filled with loud obnoxious couples until ~3am, laughing and cackling, which echoed in the courtyard and then into the room. Don't upgrade to the balcony room... NOT worth it; you get a tiny deck-thing with a cheap chair on it. The concept of the hotel was good, but very poorly executed with cheap, bad finishes, right down to the paint. The cupboard in our room was broken and hanging open when we arrived. The a/c barely worked, and the room was always musty. The onsite restaurant was always empty; possibly a sign of how good the food/service was. The pictures and hotel website make it look impressive... don't be fooled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to check out Lincoln Rd. Mall, a short trip north. Don't be fooled by the great smell coming out of the pizza shops along the way; they smell great, but taste like nothing. Best day trip = Villa Vizcaya, a short cab ride south. Leave ~3 hours to really take it in and get some great pictures. If you wanna see celeb houses and take a boat trip out along southbeach, upgrade to the Thriller boat at Bayside; worth the few extra bucks. Designer shopping = Bal Harbour mall!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top