$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Clevelander Hotel

4 stars
1020 Ocean Drive,, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
Great Stay!

Clevelander was perfect for our stay. It was a great location, the rooms were comfortable and... See full review

  • Barbara AB
  • Sep 1, 2014
This is the hotel you want to be at!

This is the hotel you want to be at if you're staying in South Beach. The hotel has two parties... See full review

  • Kaydo
  • Mar 24, 2014
Central South Beach hotel with nine bars, rooftop terrace


This Art Deco District hotel bustles with activity from sunrise to sunset. It has nine bars, 400 seats and an army of servers. The landmark Clevelander Hotel property sits on prime real estate -- Ocean Drive, the undisputed capital of South Beach. A nightly roster of DJs, dancers and musicians keeps the scene sizzling, along with a rooftop terrace equipped with cabanas to take in ocean and city views.

Highlights
  • On Ocean Drive, the center of South Beach nightlife
  • Nine bars, including 1020 Music Boxx, a high-energy dance club and Game On Sports Bar with more than 30 flat screens
  • Rooftop terrace with panoramic views of the ocean and city
  • Nightly entertainment, from fashion shows to rock cover bands
  • The Clevelander Cafe for poolside and sidewalk dining
Rooms

The color white plays up tropical accents in the rooms, such as the oversized prints of scuba divers above the beds. Rooms might include balconies, oceanfront views, connecting rooms or direct elevator or stair access to 1020 Music Boxx, SPF4 Sun Deck and Game On Sports Bar, depending on the type of room reserved. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free Wi-Fi, glass-enclosed rain-head showers, 300-count Egyptian cotton linens, room service and a late-night menu.

Features

There is always a party at the Clevelander. The hotel celebrates its seaside setting nightly with a diverse lineup of acts and alfresco dining and cocktailing. The game day action centers on Game On Sports Bar, with 13 flat screens. For dancing and cool views of Ocean Drive, guests flock to 1020 Music Boxx, a DJ-driven scene pumped up by hip-hop, R&B and live musicians.

Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (23 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions

  • Ocean Drive (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Flamingo Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.1 mi/ 9.8 km)
Policies and fees

  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check-in. 
  • A $100 USD incidental fee per night is required upon check-in. The fee will be returned upon check-out.
  • For guests who wish to check out early, a 50% early check-out fee will be charged. 
  • Valet parking is $34 USD per night.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clevelander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Clevelander Hotel Rooms

Pool View
Pool View rooms directly overlook the party and entertainment going on downstairs! These rooms offer partial ocean views and are located in the Historic North Tower with Double bedding. All Pool View rooms are non-smoking. Down comforter. In room safe (accommodates laptop). Plasma, Television - Cable service. Multi-line phone. Speakerphone. Telephone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Wheelchair accessible. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Classic
Classic Rooms offer a cozy refuge from the poolside action and are located in the Historic North Tower, with double bedding. All Classic rooms are non-smoking. Down comforter. In room safe (accommodates laptop). Plasma, Television - Cable service. Multi-line phone. Speakerphone. Telephone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Wheelchair accessible. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Ocean Front
Ocean Front rooms overlook the action-packed Ocean Drive, with additional views of the gorgeous Atlantic Ocean and Lummus Park. Connecting rooms and complete ocean views are available upon request. A choice of one King or two Double beds is available in the Historic North Tower. All Ocean Front rooms are non-smoking. Down comforter. In room safe (accommodates laptop). Plasma, Television - Cable service. Multi-line phone. Speakerphone. Telephone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Wheelchair accessible. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Climate control.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Dining

Game on Sports Bar
Enjoy our classic caf style menu as you mix + mingle with friends at our sidewalk or poolside tables. Created by Robbin Haas, the revamped menu features consistently fresh dishes, products and quality ingredients. A perfect atmosphere for mixing, mingling and socializing - the menu also introduces an ever-popular "shared dishes" concept starring Tuna, Beef + Chicken Sliders, hearty portioned salads and a variety of Tacos that can be mixed + matched to satisfy your taste buds!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Clevelander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Talley traveler
Business
Tallahassee, FL, USA
Dec 19, 2011

sooooooo loud!!!

If you plan to stay out till 3 or 4 in the morning partying, this is probably a great place for you. If you plan on sleeping and seeing the sights of Miami and South Beach, this is not a good choice. It was so loud every night in our room we couldn't sleep until the noise from the bar/club outside our window finally quieted down at 4AM (although people continued to be loud in the hall until 6 or so). I had ear plugs and two pillows over my head and couldn't begin to sleep. We had stayed here before and liked it but must have been much farther from the bar that time (and it seems that they have upped the noise at the bar with DJs etc until the early hours of the morning).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 19, 2009

LOUD until 5am every night...not cool!!!

the location is great and it stops there. the rooms are filled with loud music from the pool area until 5am nightly. they are more concerned with the foot traffic customers than the people paying to stay at their hotel. we had to go up to the roof deck for beach towels on a daily basis becuase the front desk was ALWAYS out! make sure you get a few extra sets of regular towels from the front desk because the shower leaks all over the bathroom floor. speaking of the bathroom, the sliding doors are see through so you have NO privacy. the walls are paper thin and you can hear people whisper in the hallways. make sure you check your bill at check-out because we were almost charged for someone's tab in the same hotel room number but with a sister property. on a positive side note, one of us left our camera in the room and house keeping turned it in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

next door has a ton of breakfast options for $4.95. mango resturant is a shot walk away and is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D. Eme
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Party hotel

Perfect location, but... If you don't plan to sleep, this is the hotel to stay - Guests average age 20-30 - Noisy and drunk people at corridors - Check-in at 3:00pm only :p - Music and shows end around 5:00am on weekends :P - Swimming pool is very dirty and is also the place for stage/dance floor - If you stay in a room close to elevators, you hear the elevator bell every time it stops in your floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
L Dizzle
Business
Northern VA
Jun 12, 2010

loud but excellent location

my boyfriend and i went for a week. great location - in the middle of everything. but the website promises great amenities like beach chairs, umbrellas, cell phone chargers, and none were provided. hotel rooms were very small and you could hear anything and everything going on in the hallways; the walls were paper-thin. music played loudly until 5am every night so unless you're on the opposite side like we were, you would never get a good nights rest. maid service daily, although we had to call for the correct amount of towels and new shampoo/conditioner every single afternoon. beds were very low to the ground and tiny. overall, great location but would not go back. next time, need more upscale and better amenities. website needs to be updated so they advertise correct information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middle of plenty of dining options. great restaurant at the Tides Hotel - La Marea. excellent food!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bebz
Business
Miamian for life
Feb 12, 2010

Party hotel..

It's a great place if you want to party 27/7 but if you want to get a goodnights sleep you should book somewhere else. The music blasts all day till 3am on weekdays and till 5 am on the weekends. Great hotel for college kids. Overall it wasn't a bad experience, just a different one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelworker
Business
Orange, CA
May 5, 2014

Great for a younger crowd...

Let me start by saying, I am 45 years old and this would definitely receive a different review from someone in their 20's. The hotel is clean and you couldn't find a better location. But to say this place is noisy is an understatement. The noise that traveled in from the bar was not nearly as annoying as the sound in the hall way. You could hear people typing on their cell phones and the elevator bell at 3 in the morning, and when anyone spoke it was as if they were in the room with you. The rooms, although very clean and updated, are TINY. There is not much room for luggage or anything else for that matter. We lost A/C twice while we were there which isn't great in Miami. However, if I was in my 20's this is the exact place I would have been looking for. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The bar set up is amazing and the location can't be beat. I would never stay here again, but am glad to of had the experience. I would absolutely recommend this to a younger crowd or anyone looking for an amazing all night experience. If you want to experience Miami, stay here!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 30, 2010

Nice Hotel, not sure worth the price

I stayed at the Clevelander prior to their "renovation". Except for some new amenities like upper level deck, the hotel looks the same. The rooms were freshly painted and had a little more modern take, but the bathroom entrance was sliding glass doors that you could see through, so there was No Privacy. Very awkward unless your hotel mate is the very best of friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Hotel next door is a sister hotel to Clevelander and is half the price. I would stay there if you are looking to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
when I'm not traveling I watch Thirteen
Business
brooklyn ny
May 28, 2010

hard rock hotel

Being handed a welcome 10 oz frozen drink [gratis] in the check in line was a great first impression, other hotels, bars, restaurants, post offices, doctor's offices etc. should take note on that warm welcome. This is like the hard rock cafe of hotel's, I think that says a lot. I.E. If you like the hard rock franchise and think it is cool then you will love this place, it has that same spirit, only in a south beach hotel. Like when they clean your room there is a little card that says 'ready to rock'. In other words, it's a sight to see, fairly overpriced, not actually cool in any way, nor especially fun to hang out there for long because of the contrived "fun/cool" agenda, which is actually not cool, - gets old fast. Room, a double double was small, and there attempt at trendy came off as chintzy [looking for the right word...], bathroom had doors that did not close correctly because they were the slidey kind that leave a gap in the middle about 1/2 inch, AND were tinted see through glass which in some ways helped me get to know my adult family member traveling/vacation partner better, but not in a good way. parking was 29 dollars valet style, kind of lame considering next door is 15 dollars [not sure if that included overnight]. The owners are clever in that they have figured out how to charge for everything, but this is south beach, so par for the course I guess. I would personally like something just, "nice", sans gimmick that you can't shut off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Knock, Knock
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 14, 2009

Party -- and how!

I'll admit it, I'm old... 57. But we were leaving for a cruise from Miami and thought it'd be great to spend the night in South Beach. The hotel welcomed us with a rum runner when we arrived and told us to get ready to party, which we did, well past midnight. The party below our window (we were on the 6th-top floor) however, went on until 5AM that Sunday night, at which time all the drunks staggered back to our floor and started pounding on every door in a vain attempt to find their room. We complained to the front desk the next morning, but got no satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

LOUD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Party Girl Nikki
Business
E. Orange NJ
Oct 25, 2009

Not worth it!

The hotel was ok. The rooms are small but pretty. The staff is kinda helpful, well the ones who speak english anyway. Just an FYI the hotel charges a $100 deposit PER NIGHT to stay. I recieved false information about this and didnt find out until I was there! The bar and pool area outside is nice, but they do party ALL night!! Also the information concerning small refrigeraters and breakfast i recieved were false. All in all for every good thing there was a bad one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located on a long strip full of different resturants. Just beware, the resturant are a little pricy on Oceans, so if you dont plan on going off the strip, SAVE UP!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top