$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Clevelander Hotel

4 stars
1020 Ocean Drive,, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
62 reviews
Great Stay!

Clevelander was perfect for our stay. It was a great location, the rooms were comfortable and... See full review

  • Barbara AB
  • Sep 1, 2014
This is the hotel you want to be at!

This is the hotel you want to be at if you're staying in South Beach. The hotel has two parties... See full review

  • Kaydo
  • Mar 24, 2014
Central South Beach hotel with nine bars, rooftop terrace


This Art Deco District hotel bustles with activity from sunrise to sunset. It has nine bars, 400 seats and an army of servers. The landmark Clevelander Hotel property sits on prime real estate -- Ocean Drive, the undisputed capital of South Beach. A nightly roster of DJs, dancers and musicians keeps the scene sizzling, along with a rooftop terrace equipped with cabanas to take in ocean and city views.

Highlights
  • On Ocean Drive, the center of South Beach nightlife
  • Nine bars, including 1020 Music Boxx, a high-energy dance club and Game On Sports Bar with more than 30 flat screens
  • Rooftop terrace with panoramic views of the ocean and city
  • Nightly entertainment, from fashion shows to rock cover bands
  • The Clevelander Cafe for poolside and sidewalk dining
Rooms

The color white plays up tropical accents in the rooms, such as the oversized prints of scuba divers above the beds. Rooms might include balconies, oceanfront views, connecting rooms or direct elevator or stair access to 1020 Music Boxx, SPF4 Sun Deck and Game On Sports Bar, depending on the type of room reserved. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free Wi-Fi, glass-enclosed rain-head showers, 300-count Egyptian cotton linens, room service and a late-night menu.

Features

There is always a party at the Clevelander. The hotel celebrates its seaside setting nightly with a diverse lineup of acts and alfresco dining and cocktailing. The game day action centers on Game On Sports Bar, with 13 flat screens. For dancing and cool views of Ocean Drive, guests flock to 1020 Music Boxx, a DJ-driven scene pumped up by hip-hop, R&B and live musicians.

Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (23 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (37 minutes)
Attractions

  • Ocean Drive (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Flamingo Park (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.1 mi/ 9.8 km)
Policies and fees

  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check-in. 
  • A $100 USD incidental fee per night is required upon check-in. The fee will be returned upon check-out.
  • For guests who wish to check out early, a 50% early check-out fee will be charged. 
  • Valet parking is $34 USD per night.
  • Fees may not include tax and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7807 -80.1309
Area served
Miami Beach.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport (MIA). Ft.Lauderdale International Airport.
Area description
Clevelander Hotel is located about 12 miles from Miami International Airport and approximate driving time to the hotel is 25 minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clevelander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Clevelander Hotel Rooms

Pool View
Pool View rooms directly overlook the party and entertainment going on downstairs! These rooms offer partial ocean views and are located in the Historic North Tower with Double bedding. All Pool View rooms are non-smoking. Down comforter. In room safe (accommodates laptop). Plasma, Television - Cable service. Multi-line phone. Speakerphone. Telephone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Wheelchair accessible. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Classic
Classic Rooms offer a cozy refuge from the poolside action and are located in the Historic North Tower, with double bedding. All Classic rooms are non-smoking. Down comforter. In room safe (accommodates laptop). Plasma, Television - Cable service. Multi-line phone. Speakerphone. Telephone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Wheelchair accessible. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Ocean Front
Ocean Front rooms overlook the action-packed Ocean Drive, with additional views of the gorgeous Atlantic Ocean and Lummus Park. Connecting rooms and complete ocean views are available upon request. A choice of one King or two Double beds is available in the Historic North Tower. All Ocean Front rooms are non-smoking. Down comforter. In room safe (accommodates laptop). Plasma, Television - Cable service. Multi-line phone. Speakerphone. Telephone. Voice mail. Clock radio. Shower/tub combination. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Wheelchair accessible. Blackout drapes/curtains. Air conditioning. Climate control.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Dining

Game on Sports Bar
Enjoy our classic caf style menu as you mix + mingle with friends at our sidewalk or poolside tables. Created by Robbin Haas, the revamped menu features consistently fresh dishes, products and quality ingredients. A perfect atmosphere for mixing, mingling and socializing - the menu also introduces an ever-popular "shared dishes" concept starring Tuna, Beef + Chicken Sliders, hearty portioned salads and a variety of Tacos that can be mixed + matched to satisfy your taste buds!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Clevelander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
L Dizzle
Business
Northern VA
Jun 12, 2010

loud but excellent location

my boyfriend and i went for a week. great location - in the middle of everything. but the website promises great amenities like beach chairs, umbrellas, cell phone chargers, and none were provided. hotel rooms were very small and you could hear anything and everything going on in the hallways; the walls were paper-thin. music played loudly until 5am every night so unless you're on the opposite side like we were, you would never get a good nights rest. maid service daily, although we had to call for the correct amount of towels and new shampoo/conditioner every single afternoon. beds were very low to the ground and tiny. overall, great location but would not go back. next time, need more upscale and better amenities. website needs to be updated so they advertise correct information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

in the middle of plenty of dining options. great restaurant at the Tides Hotel - La Marea. excellent food!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aulli17
Business
Clinton, WI
Jun 4, 2010

Good Buy and great location

THe service was top notch, drinks werent too expensive for Ocean Blvd, and its right on the middle of the strip. Will stay here again if I'm in South beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across from the beach and a lot of the clubs are within a block or 2

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
when I'm not traveling I watch Thirteen
Business
brooklyn ny
May 28, 2010

hard rock hotel

Being handed a welcome 10 oz frozen drink [gratis] in the check in line was a great first impression, other hotels, bars, restaurants, post offices, doctor's offices etc. should take note on that warm welcome. This is like the hard rock cafe of hotel's, I think that says a lot. I.E. If you like the hard rock franchise and think it is cool then you will love this place, it has that same spirit, only in a south beach hotel. Like when they clean your room there is a little card that says 'ready to rock'. In other words, it's a sight to see, fairly overpriced, not actually cool in any way, nor especially fun to hang out there for long because of the contrived "fun/cool" agenda, which is actually not cool, - gets old fast. Room, a double double was small, and there attempt at trendy came off as chintzy [looking for the right word...], bathroom had doors that did not close correctly because they were the slidey kind that leave a gap in the middle about 1/2 inch, AND were tinted see through glass which in some ways helped me get to know my adult family member traveling/vacation partner better, but not in a good way. parking was 29 dollars valet style, kind of lame considering next door is 15 dollars [not sure if that included overnight]. The owners are clever in that they have figured out how to charge for everything, but this is south beach, so par for the course I guess. I would personally like something just, "nice", sans gimmick that you can't shut off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, NY
May 11, 2010

Fabulous

The staff was very personable. They made you feel like you were at home. Definitely on top of everything. Everything was clean. Any problems were taken care of immediately & you were compensated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

You really don't have to leave the hotel. You can eat, drink & party there. Even relax & get sun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 16, 2010

The Clevlander is the place to be!

We arrived at the hotel to pina coladas! I thought the staff was amazing! No matter where you went, people were saying hello! Room was a little small and had no drawers to put your belongings. It only had a small closet with 5 hangers? The safe did not work either. The bathroom was on the small side as well, but we managed. The hotel itself has great energy surrounding it! It is fun, a hot spot and def a great location. The pool is small and no one seems to use it due to its location of being so close to the outdoor restaurant and bar area. We left happy with pina coladas as well provided by the concierge upon departure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nikki Beach on Ocean. Maxine's Restaurant on Collins! Oceans 10 next to the Clevelander!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uca
Business
indianapolis
Apr 13, 2010

Havin really FUN

We had really fun this hotel,bar and the foods are amazing.You should really try this hotel when you go miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Apr 12, 2010

clevelander hotel

great party !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oberlin, OH
Apr 1, 2010

really nice room, but...

We chose the Clevelander because the last Miami trip we took, 2 years ago, it was under renovation and we wanted to see if it was all that it was made out to be. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The room was really clean and comfortable, although we did have the foresight on choosing a room facing the ocean and not the patio/bar. We loved the location! Being so close to all the nightlife and the beach in particular! There was only one thing that we, my husband and I, didn't like.. the pool was only for display, it is in the middle of the bar and stage area, no one used it. I wish they didn't advertise that they even have a pool. The patio and terrace on the 4th and 6th floor were really nice! The bar wasn't our kind of hang out though. Loud music and an unusual flow to the area, we chose other locations nearby to drink and socialize. I would recommend this hotel to others, but the music is loud and plays long into the night, choose a room facing the ocean, a beautiful way to go to sleep and wake up!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Trumpet
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 18, 2010

Fun and more fun!

It was great! I thought I wouldn't sleep, as I had room a room overlooking the outdoor bar. But, I slept just fine. The place was jammed on a tuesday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clevelander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
illmaticitaliana
Business
Chicago,IL
Mar 2, 2010

fun spot, hard to sleep...

The hotel was very clean and the service was great. The cafe area was live (even on a Monday) and the atmosphere was upbeat and fun. I had "upgraded" to an ocean view room, but felt like the room we received (rm 302) was supposed to be part of a bigger suite and was sectioned off. As a result the room seemed very small, just enough room to put suitcases on either side of the bed, and the bathroom was three feet from the base of the bed. Also, it was VERY difficult to sleep because the folks staying next door were up until 5am and had guests in and out of their room. Though they were talking at a normal level, the entire conversation could be heard in our room via the connecting door that was only feet from the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top