$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
265 reviews
Fun Spot in the heart of South Beach

The Chesterfield is a fun little hotel that's a block from the beach. The have clean, well detailed... See full review

  • Matthew S.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great place for travel with friends

It really is a nice little hotel next to everything in south beach. Staff is super nice and rooms... See full review

  • SalsaStyle
  • Jan 12, 2015
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 265
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Minnie11
Business
LA
Jul 25, 2012

so bad

I am so angry about this hotel. I booked it on Obitz which shows that it is two double beds or a King bed. But when I arrived there, a stuff told me that if you needed two double beds you had to pay extra $40. That is so ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 8, 2010

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible

The room with the number of beds we booked (well in advance) had been given away. We were stuck with 1 king size bed, and a prison style shower. There was never an apology just "oh well, there's nothing that can be done." We finally got in touch with a manager who moved us to the room we booked. But it hadn't been cleaned and the previous guest had drank out of the mini-bar. It took an act of congress for me to get the staff to not charge me for the drink and then remove the items from our room entirely so that there would be no mistake of who should be billed for missing items. I then called the desk to ask for an ironing board (since one was not in the room) and was told they would bring one right up....it never came. There was no parking garage so we had to valet the car for $30/day which was never stated until arrival. If the hotel wasn't in the middle of South Beach where all the entertainment is located it would rank as my number 1 worst hotel experience...currently it is 2nd due to the fact the worst had roaches [*] (but at least they had good service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Every bill (resturant/bar/club) has an automatic 15-18% gratuity added. Thus, be cautious on your tipping. Also, if your looking for a cheap meal that is very good, Pizza Rican on 8th & Washington has the best pizza and it's only $5 a slice. A true steal in South beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NewYork, NY
Oct 24, 2010

Dirty

The hotel was dirty. Pros: location. Cons: the hotel is a bit outdated & dirty. I had to ask for housekeeping to clean our mattress because when I was inspecting it I found it to be filled w dirt, sand, even chips, under the mattress was pretty awful as well. I even found a ketup package under the mattress. Room was also very dark & once we found a roach in the shower. I would say this place feels more like an ok motel, certainly not a hotel. Would not go back :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Townsend
Business
Temple Hills, MD
Mar 4, 2010

The Chesterfield Hotel in Miami, FL

Due to the illness and hospitalization of my father, I had to cancel my trip to Miami on Feb 22 thru March 1. In speaking with the hotel, they did not treat me in a professional matter by hanging up on me a couple of time and not returning my call. Thay also kept my entire hotel fee of $929.00. I have emailed a copy of the medical note from my father's doctor about my involvement with his care...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shocked and Appalled
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 7, 2010

Miserable Stay

I AM NOT A PERSON WHO COMPLAINS ABOUT HOTELS OR RESTAURANTS WITH ANY REGULARITY. In fact, I think that my partner and I are pretty easy going about most travel issue. However, this experience was so bad that I have to warn others. [...] The price was appealing and we thought that for a few nights it would be just fine. Wrong! [...] 1. The hotel isn't really a hotel. It's really a nightclub with loud club music and a small check in desk stuck in the corner of the room. When we arrived at 9 p.m. on Friday the "lobby" was jam packed with 20-something club-goers. Hey, I'm all for fun, but it took forever to check in because we couldn't even hear the clerk over the music. Remember, there are rooms above all of this. We found out later that the hotel becomes mobbed with people in the evening who are there for the "free" happy hour and I guess they just never leave.2. On the way to our room we walked up a filthy and smelly outdoor stairwell to a street-side third floor room. We passed a woman leaving a hotel room who had undoubtedly been turning a trick.3. The room was very stylish and we were certainly pleased with how spacious it was. This is the only remotely positive thing I can say.4. There were probably 50 little black bugs stuck up in the light fixtures and when we turned the light off to go to bed they fell on top of the comforter. When I started looking around I realized that the room was totally filthy.5. The noise level all night long was absolutely unbelievable. The hotel cannot do anything about the traffic, obviously, but there were people partying on the sidewalk below even at 5 a.m. We tried using ear plugs, but it still didn't block out the noise. 6. Our friends who stayed in another part of the hotel told us that there was urine in the elevator on Sunday morning.7. When we checked out on Sunday morning we were charged a $30 per night resort fee. I recall seeing something about this and I am accustomed to paying a resort fee. However, the clerk said that the resort fee was to cover the "free" happy hour. LOLOLOLOL. I couldn't believe it.This is no place to come if you want to sleep at all. This is definitely, definitely not a place for anyone over the age of 20. And, it is certainly no place for children. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you want to party, this is the place for you!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Que
Business
Detroit
Jun 17, 2014

bed bugs or something

There was bugs all in our room, mosquitoes and everything so we got switched. The next night I had red itchy bumps from the new room. Bad stay overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queretano
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Its just ok

check in is to late 3pm or late people make a line to check in (frutrated )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trying to stay alive
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 26, 2012

Don't stay here if you want to be safe!!!!

On my second night I was verbal assaulted in the hallway of the hotel by 8 females. When I called down to report the abuse and the large noise that continued for over a hour no one answered. I decided to call the police and they were able to come in a handle the situation. The next day I spoke with the general manager and he explained" This is Miami". not a good answer, have your fun just don't have it in the hallway after midnight. Let me say the rooms are very small and when you allow 8 people to stay in one room there will be problems. The next night like clock work the noise started back up and was constant till about 3pm. Once again I called down to the front desk NO ANSWER! At this point I was ready to leave and never come back to this place. When I spoke with the staff 6am that same day he stated that he had been busy at other hotels and was not there to get the phone. As I was talking to him about 4 of the people that I was having problems with came walking down the stairs and he said nothing to them. When I questioned him he just looked at me like he was afraid of them. Final word- this is a dormitory run hotel and I spent $189.00 plus $15.00 a day, to me that is real money and would have expected better service. Not once did they say can we move you to another one of our 8 hotels so that you will be comfortable and feel safe. NEVER GOING BACK TO SOUTH BEACH HOTEL GROUP TOO UNSAFE!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Happy Hour next door to Chesterfield, if Chris is doing sushi STAY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyce01
Business
New York
Oct 23, 2012

Horrible stay

Do yourself a favor and dont waste your time and money at this hotel. Most of the staff is very rude, especially the bartender with the dark hair. Rooms are small and not very clean. The mini bar in the rooms are tempting and is solely their to rip you off so stay away from it. The best thing about this hotel is its location, thats about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ivy G
Business
Fleetwood, ny
May 14, 2013

What the heck was that about?! please read

Went for my best friends birthday. The bus that picks u up from the airport lost her luggage on the highway. Thats right u read correctly. The staff was not informative at all. When we asked questions we were given attitude. Customer service was not there main goal. Save ur money and skip the sushi bar next door. It was very "food court sushi" The pros: good location. Most important keep ur rocords for what they charge u. I had weird charges on my card which Im disputing now. In the end if customer service is not important to u then hey why not. Others be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Happy hour at most hotels at 7pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top