$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
255 reviews
mini vacation short stay

i had a great stay at the Chesterfield. Location was great. Loved my room in the garden. Clean and... See full review

  • evie
  • Aug 9, 2015
Great stay!

This hotel was great! Walking distance to the beach is a major plus! See full review

  • Elizabeth M.
  • Jul 1, 2015
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
General

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Location

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Dining
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Property features

Intimate, safari-themed hotel one block west of Ocean Drive.

Highlights

Situated in the heart of the South Beach neighborhood, Chesterfield Hotel and Suites is only a block away from pristine the beaches of Lummus Park along the Atlantic Ocean. Take a seat in the hotel's Safari Bar and enjoy some cold drinks while staring at unique statues of monkeys and elephants. Free drinks during happy hour are sure to cheer anyone at this eclectic watering hole.

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Miami Beach, is within walking distance of the vibrant nightlife scene along Ocean Drive and Washington Avenue. If you are looking for something more low-key, relax in the hotel's stylish, modern front lobby and people-watch as the crowds move along Collins Avenue under the Florida sun.

Nearby attractions
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Transportation
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Policies
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$60
3.4 / 5 137 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 199 reviews
★★★
$58
3.4 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$83
3.1 / 5 98 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One queen bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds, or a queen bed and a sofa bed, or a queen bed and a futon. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 300 to 350 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. some offer city view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 300 to 350 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 300 to 350 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Service animals allowed

Dining

Luis Restaurant
Latin American cuisine open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, room service available during certain hours.
Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 255
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
skcc
Family
NYC
Jan 15, 2013

There are bed bugs here

I should've known that this place would be dirty since the bathtub was not cleaned when my family checked. We though we had mosquito bites, but upon arriving home, we continued to get more bites, so they were bedbugs. Do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
juanie
Family
novi, mi
May 21, 2014

Will never come back here again!!!

Horrible. Stayed her from May 8-13, 2014 and the 1st room they gave me ...room 211...had black mold (clearly) all over the bathroom ceiling..(you couldn't miss it). I complained to the front desk and they took me to a 2nd room. In the 2nd room the a/c didn't work. After I checked out, I emailed management 5/14/2014, about this and they have done nothing for me to date. One person named Chris Rollins emailed me back saying he was going to look into it and has yet to email me back with a response, resolution, or anything. One manager called me today and said he would give me back my resort fee, $82, WHICH IS NO WHERE NEAR ACCEPTABLE FOR THE INCONVIENCE, told me he was going to call me back and has not!!! Ridiculous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ed G. H
Family
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 3, 2011

horrible hotel stay

This hotel was one of the worst experieces ive ever encountered while on vacation. Firstly, i was forced to sleep in a single rooom with a single bed with a male family member, when i specifically paid for a double bed. Secondly, when i arrived at the hotel the music was so loud I barely could her myself speak to the front desk. In addition, there was'nt any WIFI throughout the hotel, only in the lobby area, where they have live music playing. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemy. The only bright side to this hotel experence was its location, it was in the heart of South Beach, walking distance to all activities. Another flaw in this hotel service is its housekeeping, their housekeepers do not understand English. I would leave my room during the early hours of the day and upon my return my room would still be a mess. On too many occasions I would request clean face towels and beach towels and on top of it all the hotel manager only work from 9am to 5pm daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for a taxi, take a nice stroll along the beach

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cutrese H.
Family
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

Horrible

Hotel sucks. Staff not very helpful. Room very small. No microwave and bathroom wasn't clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Washington, DC
Dec 23, 2010

Mediocre, and not a family place

For a family trip icluding a young couple with a baby and our parents and teenage brother, the hotel was a rather depressing place to stay. We had two rooms (when we arrived to check in, for some reason they only had one room reserved for us, but then added another adjacent room, no problem there). Both were on the first floor, very dark, barely any air or daylight coming through windows if you opened them. The photos of some brightly colored rooms were misleading - we had two very dark, quite depressing rooms. The combination of black, dark-cherry, and metallic colors (with white sheets, though) plus mirrors all around, was not for us. Maybe we just didn't get the "art" of the decor. Furniture, floor, sink and faucet, the door, the window, the blinds, the lighting, even some of their prided mirrors - everything was old, shaky, cheap, and poorly finished. One of the rooms (the one we and our baby took, to give the fresher room to our parents), had very stuffy, sweaty air which the AC could not fix over the 2+ days of our stay. A "clean" bath towel had someone's long hair tucked in it - not something I can accept even at my own home. The laminated squeaky floor was sticky (i.e. dirty) to feet, so I had to be wearing shoes all the time. The hallway was very dark, didn't look clean, and had a strong incense; a bit over-perfumed with non-conventional smell. Plus, cuz' the small lobby area down the hallway doubles as the bar, the noise was very audible - one night, very loud bar noise didn't cease until 4am. The staff of the hotel were alright, quite friendly, but of course we didn't ask for anything special from them either. We didn't ask to be moved to other rooms - taught from past experience that such moves rarely end up in much improvement, plus being in adjacent rooms was preferred. The location was pretty good. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach, lots of restaurants right behind the hotel, lots of shops around. Liked to go to the coffee and croissant place around the corner for breakfast and after lunch. The free airport shuttle service was good, we took it upon arrival (but had to take taxi on return, cuz the shuttle's timing didn't match). The much advertized free cocktails between 7-8: well, I guess anything is good for free, but it was a rather spartanic cocktail of a little vodka with any juice and ice. I had one, thank you. I don't know whether all of the above was just a normal Art Deco experience, but overall it was underwhelming in any case. I chose the place because of its location, the price, and some okey pictures and comments. Would I go there again - unless I am just with my wife and tight on budget (and become a goth:) - most probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GEEGEEdada
Family
Atlanta, GA
Feb 27, 2010

OK Hotel

The Elevetor was not reliable. No food. No hot water. The bar/lobby is small and dark. [...]was the only helpfull person in this hotel. It took a long time to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

walk area around 16th street. We found it at the end of the trip.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gulf coast boater
Family
Mississippi
Feb 18, 2014

Good walking distance to fun

A little noisy in the morning due to road construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Henryhs
Family
Alaska
Mar 29, 2013

Hotel on S Beach

The location is very good, but no coffee maker in the room or public area was disappointing. The staff was not helpful for anything. The room is clean, but there were too much insects. We won't recommend it for others. Henry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I prefer to have an easy free parking.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Jun 27, 2011

Family getaway

It has a great location but rooms are very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angel Phily
Family
Philadelphia , PA
Aug 24, 2014

One night getaway

It was close to the beach but very congested n noisy and it was hard to find parking space,room sleep for 6 but very small with only one bathroom. we needed to stay for only one night so it worked out ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top