$71 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 7, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
256 reviews
mini vacation short stay

i had a great stay at the Chesterfield. Location was great. Loved my room in the garden. Clean and... See full review

  • evie
  • Aug 9, 2015
Great stay!

This hotel was great! Walking distance to the beach is a major plus! See full review

  • Elizabeth M.
  • Jul 1, 2015
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
General

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Location

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Dining
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Property features

Intimate, safari-themed hotel one block west of Ocean Drive.

Highlights

Situated in the heart of the South Beach neighborhood, Chesterfield Hotel and Suites is only a block away from pristine the beaches of Lummus Park along the Atlantic Ocean. Take a seat in the hotel's Safari Bar and enjoy some cold drinks while staring at unique statues of monkeys and elephants. Free drinks during happy hour are sure to cheer anyone at this eclectic watering hole.

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Miami Beach, is within walking distance of the vibrant nightlife scene along Ocean Drive and Washington Avenue. If you are looking for something more low-key, relax in the hotel's stylish, modern front lobby and people-watch as the crowds move along Collins Avenue under the Florida sun.

Nearby attractions
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Transportation
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Policies
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$60
3.4 / 5 137 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 199 reviews
★★★
$58
3.4 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$83
3.1 / 5 98 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One queen bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds, or a queen bed and a sofa bed, or a queen bed and a futon. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 300 to 350 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. some offer city view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 300 to 350 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Some offer Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 300 to 350 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Service animals allowed

Dining

Luis Restaurant
Latin American cuisine open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, room service available during certain hours.
Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 256
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VeryDisappointed
Couples
New Haven, CT, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Disgusting

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The room smelled like a decaying animal, literally, and was filthy. I asked to be moved to another room, but it smelled the same. The room was filthy as well, with hairs and sand in the bathtub. I was forced to cut my trip short as a result, but the management would not give me a refund, and did not even offer to cover incidental room expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissatisfied12
Couples
georgia
Jul 21, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was alright and the food was great. HOWEVER, every night we could not get to sleep until at least 3am because the dinky bar downstairs was BLASTING music and TERRIBLE karaoke. It really felt like the staff didn't care about us. Some of them were nice, others were rude and condescending. My advice, stay in one of the high rises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss DC
Couples
Washington, DC
Sep 20, 2012

Never again!!

The hotel rooms were VERY small. The bathroom was so small ,that only one person could fit in there at a time. There was a huge leak in the bathroom ceiling. The staff took care of the problem right away. The hallways were very loud at night with drunk guest laughing and arguing. There were hotel guest prank calling the rooms at 4am. I think charging a resort fee every day was too much, on top of the $100 deposit. We ordered breakfast and they charged us $30 for 4 microwaveable pancakes and sausage. This hotel would not be good for anyone over the age of 25. The best thing about the hotel is the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PKborn
Couples
Chevy Chase, MD
Jan 26, 2013

Shoddy

The good Lord Chesterfield, a man of good manners, would have been stunned by the performance of his namesake in South Beach, Florida. For all its pretenses and central location, I would repeat my stay there only as a last resort. Our room, No. 410, came loaded with Art Deco touches, but it's all a charade. It's a dark room--premium room, the desk alleged--and the blinds were broken, so we couldn't raise or lower them. The bathroom, like those in other rooms, was a decorator's tour de force, but you could not stop the drain of the sink. The front windows wouldn't open, though the one in the bath would. Management sent us to another room, no. 412, where the blinds did work. But the chain that locks the door was broken. For all that, whatever our complaints, management opted for denial rather than repair or some form of consolation. The Chesterfield is not a serious business. They charge a usurious $32 a night to park a car. They don't give a hoot about a guest's complaints or discomfort.. You'll do better at Motel 6. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Otenic. A tiny but terrific French restaurant barely a block away from the hotel.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikewhite30
Couples
Indianapolis, in
Jan 28, 2013

Would never do this again

My wife and I flew there for our honeymoon on 1/24/2013 for three days, got checked in around 10:00pm, hidden hotel fees that they don't mention online was bull so our night started getting messed up from that point, got in our room and it was nothing like it looked online, old and extra small, we could barely move around in there, left out about 10 minutes of being in there to go out til bout 3am got back to the room and turned on the lights and roaches scattered everywhere, they were crawling in our bags and everything, my wife completely freaked out and ran out the room, we went to the front desk about it and all they wanted to do was spray the room and put us back in it, well my wife wasn't going for it, so after a half hour of going back and fourth with staff they finally decided to move us to another hotel up the street which by the way we loved, but only got a few hours of sleep cause we had to get right back up and be moved back down to the same hotel, they then gave us a suite for the rest of our stay for our troubles which was alright but still not pleasing...... All and all our honeymoon started real bad being that my wife and I argued all nite bout the hotel's bulI just wanted to sleep I was drinking for one and tired as ever to deal with the bull.....the beach and ocean drive made our stay much better and everybody outside of our hotel were very friendly.... I want to go back for the summer but I will not be staying anywhere near there ever again, our first time there and too bad of an experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Miami beach

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tired1234
Couples
Miami, Florida
Mar 15, 2013

Nightmare waste of time and money

The bed was dirty from the first second in the room. Bathroom sink was cracked. The toilet would not flush unless you held the handle down. The airport shuttle advertised did not exist. Cost me $100 more. Maids tried to talk down to us in spanish. We speak spanish. Closet was designed with your clothes hanging against shelves. Bamboo scratching against window all night. Free happy hour was a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TURU
Couples
SAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO
Nov 21, 2013

NOT THE WORST BUT CLOSE

I had reserved a room with 2 beds. upon arrival they said that the top rooms were humid and had mold due to the rain. They moved us to a property that was supposed to be better, but further from the beach. When its the only option at 11pm we had to take it. When we arrived the leg of the bed was broken, there was only 1 bed, when i had paid the extra fee for a 2nd bed, and we had to sleep on a couch feeling the crossbar and springs all night. The 2nd night they moved us to the hotel and at least the bed was better, the shower had mold and the toilet leaked from the bottom. Disaster!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THE RESTAURANT C.VI.CHE 105 IN MIAMI WAS AMAZING!!!!

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
orlanod
Jul 27, 2011

Chesterfiled Hotel is not a Hotel!

The Chesterfield staff was a very unhappy group of people. The hotel was poorly managed. Not one of the staff except the nice young man from Spain at the small Street bar smiled and or greeted us in any manner during our 3 day stay there. The service was just plain aful and had a 15% tip added to every tab, I guess this was done to add insult to injury. the alleged hotel is not any better than a poorly run motel in a small town. There were holes in the floor covering, the room was decorated with mini bottles and junk, the phone did not work, the controller on the TV did not work and the alley our room was on was part of the bar over flow area. Thank God the bar was not popular or we would have never been able to sleep, the ear plugs were the only thing that saved us. This is one of many trips to Sobee for us and this was by far the worst experience we ever had. [...]the Chesterfield both mis-represented the accomodationas and I felt robbed. I would have galdly paid another 100$ per night for a real hotel with real service and or at least a friendly or helpful staff. There is more but why waste my time writing. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

never stay at the chesterfield hotel

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurby, Unhappy Customers
Couples
Reading, Pa
May 10, 2010

Shady Business

My boyfriend and i have been to South Beach, Miami many times, all of them enjoyable experiences, including this one...outside of the hotel. We've never felt so unwelcome and disrespected in all the years we've visited. Day 1 - Check In: We arrived early, so we knew there probably wouldn't be a room available for us, okay, we can deal with that. They did not, how ever, offer to check our bags so we could do something else for the afternoon, instead of sit in a hotel lobby. Which by the way, the lobby was dirty and the sofa cushions were ripped up and repaired with tape. While we sat in the lobby, we ordered a few drinks at the bar, 3 each....for $60!!!!! How absurd! They failed to give us a detailed receipt, now i realize it's a tourist spot and i don't expect a $3.50 bottle of Miller Lite, but no WAY would i think they would serve $10 Coronas and Heineken! Day 2 - Went into the closet to grab a pair of shoes, and i found a live roach crawling on the floor...disgusting! Day 4 - Got our room cleaned, but no clean towels?! Day 5 - Happy Hour: We enjoy going to this hotel because of happy hour, but on this particular night, our bartender served us what we thought was Vodka Sprites, but were Vodka Tonics, which we did not order. He did this two nights in a row. On the 2nd night, after our 2nd drink (mind you, these drinks are tiny), he decided to skip over us and wait on 7 other people, while he knew we were waiting to be served, but instead played with his iPhone, his name was Justin. Day 6 - We came back from the beach to find that both of our rooms keys no longer worked and they had locked our door, we still were booked for one more evening, and had to get new room keys. Once entering the room, we found a detailed receipt for the mini bar for 4 flight bottles of liquor, 2 bags of M&Ms, and a bottle of water. In all the years we've ever gone on vacation, we've never used a mini bar, we bought all of our own food & drink. We then went to the front desk and ask them to remove from our bill, which they said they did. Day 7 - Check out day: i was about to take a shower, and we noticed that there was a dead roach stuck between the towels...so i didn't get to take a shower because i felt the bathroom was contaminated. When we went to check out, they DID NOT take of the mini bar purchases and i had to ask them again. And at check in they failed to tell us that there was a $15 surcharge for SHUTTLE - WIFI - PHONE - HAPPY HOUR. All of which are listed on the website as FREE. none of this is FREE folks, you are actually paying for those drinks and the shuttle drive every single day. This trip was fully paid for and they try to nickle & dime you where ever they can. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at as well as dirtiest and most unfriendly and unwelcoming staff. We were sorely disappointed and very upset the first day and the 6th day because of there shenanigans, they practically ruined our last night of vacation because of there poor work ethic. The nicest thing about this place....was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
May 9, 2010

BOOKING NIGHTMARE

I went to check in at the hotel and they told me that I was transferred to another one in the same "group" of hotels. A little strange, but ok... We get to the second hotel and the room they try to give us is NOTHING like what I booked online. The people at the South Beach Group of hotels were completely unorganized. I had to wait on hold forever while they tried to sort out our situation. Finally they transfered us to a suite at a THIRD hotel (at this point we had been trying to check in for more than an hour). When we got there to check in - they didnt have my information. I had to call the South Beach Group reservation line from my cell phone to try to sort it out because the guy behind the counter "couldnt figure it out." FINALLY we got to the room and it was nice - but not worth the headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Louis in South Beach just opened up not too long ago. It was my first time going and I thought it was amazing!! You can also catch the local Miami band Spam All Stars rocking out at Jazzid

Back to menu Return to top