$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
313 reviews
chesterfield

Great staff complimentary happy hour couldn't beat it. Great location See full review

  • rob.b
  • Jul 10, 2014
Great location!!! Beautiful place !

Best bang for your buck! Incredible service, great location and wow what a surprise this room was... See full review

  • Zgar man
  • May 18, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.779 -80.1317
Area served
South Beach/Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ireland
Nov 26, 2009

My Experience at The Chesterfield

Arrival to the hotel was good, it was in a great location, easy to find and had secure valet parking available at a cost (€30.00 for 24 hours). Check in was easy and we were quickly shown to the room. The lobby area is small and also has the bar area but it was clean and well kept. The walk to the room was slightly offputting the corridors were narrow and there was a stuffy stale smell in the corridors, it reminded me more of a hostel than a hotel. The room itself was small but did have all the necessary amenities(LCD T.V., IPOD Docking station, safe , iron and ironing board and fully stocked mini-bar. The room was clean. the downside of the room was the lighting, a window overlooking another building did not allow for much natural daylight and the room only had two lamps. The bathroom was a room seperate with a curtain for a shower area but again had everything we need for an overnight stay. Also when staying here be very careful with the bedroom door as the room we stayed in needed to be pulled tight to close correctly, on one occasion we left and came back to find the door agar our own fault as we had presumed it would close behind us. Check out the next morning was slow as there is only one check out desk. The hotel was however very happy to store our luggage for the day complimentary. As you can see from my review the hotel is fine if you are in town for a night or two and don't plan to spend much time in the hotel. I will have to comment on the attentivness of the staff, on the morning of check out I decided to pre check in for my international flight, the hotel has a computer station set up for this purpose. I went through the process however when it came time to print my boarding pass nothing happened. As you can imagine I was a little fustrated as it was my boarding pass I was printing. A staff member came to assist me however it was his first day so although very helpful he was not really able to fix the problem and asked his collegue at reception to help. She seemed to be training him on the morning. The lady could not have been more unhelpful and did not seem to care. She actually disappeared from the desk whe I asked for her assistance and left the guy who was in training. Her attitude really changed my opinion of this hotel. I work in the hospitality industry so I am pretty easy going when something goes wrong however one thing I hate is rude staff. We left the hotel for a few hours and returned to pick up our luggage. I was told the computer was fixed so proceeded to check in a friend of mine, and again nothing printed so a member of staff came over to say it was broken!!! I asked why they did not display a sign to state that it was broken to avoid any issues like this and the staff member walked away. At the time there was eight hotel staff in the hotel lobby decorating the christmas tree and not one of them came to assist us. This is not the corect way to operate a hotel. So as I said the facilities are average but the staff are unfriendly and rude and on this basis I would not return to or recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amelia
Miami, Fl
Oct 31, 2011

Not worth it

When we arrived at the hotel it took us over 30 minutes of waiting in line just to check in. We arrived early around 4:00, and the systems were running slowly; there were only two people at the counter and machinery was very archaic (they had one of the old fashioned credit card swipes to hold your account). The process seemed very inefficient and took a long time. Inside the room it was nice, but so incredibly loud! I felt like we were having a club party in my room the entire time. The music from the bar came right in, and people were loud stumbling drunk back to their roos. Overall, even with the price I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely go to Escopazzo for dinner, it was fantastic!

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queretano
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Its just ok

check in is to late 3pm or late people make a line to check in (frutrated )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 14, 2011

Is it Me?

"Ok" boutique hotel, Lobby needs facelift bigtime room was great and clean, nice bathroom but you can hear veryone outside talking, walking up the stairs, closing doors, etc... Great for beach, shopping and partying, good location. Staff was weak at best, bartender really sucked, was rude, disrespectful and slow. The "free drinks" for happy hour, aren't free! plus it's garbage liquor and you can only get Gin, Vodka or Rum, no wine, beer, scotch, etc. You pay a $15.00 Hotel "surcharge" which i was told was for the "free Drinks" Had to keep getting new room key, because it stopped working? Oh yeah, the phone system sucked, you cant call the front desk. $32 Bucks for valet parking, but that's typical for South Beach. If your looking for real upscale room and treatment go to the Delano, The Fountainbleu or the Tides. If your gona go just remember where you are... book online for best deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

SET Nightclub on Lincoln is Awesone on Sunday night. Great DJ if you like good House Music. The First DJ [...]? was great the second guy was to loud and "hard", first guy played good soulful stuff. $25 to get in but worth it for the atmosphere and FUNKTION ONE sound system. Great eye candy all over the place.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Dec 23, 2010

Mediocre, and not a family place

For a family trip icluding a young couple with a baby and our parents and teenage brother, the hotel was a rather depressing place to stay. We had two rooms (when we arrived to check in, for some reason they only had one room reserved for us, but then added another adjacent room, no problem there). Both were on the first floor, very dark, barely any air or daylight coming through windows if you opened them. The photos of some brightly colored rooms were misleading - we had two very dark, quite depressing rooms. The combination of black, dark-cherry, and metallic colors (with white sheets, though) plus mirrors all around, was not for us. Maybe we just didn't get the "art" of the decor. Furniture, floor, sink and faucet, the door, the window, the blinds, the lighting, even some of their prided mirrors - everything was old, shaky, cheap, and poorly finished. One of the rooms (the one we and our baby took, to give the fresher room to our parents), had very stuffy, sweaty air which the AC could not fix over the 2+ days of our stay. A "clean" bath towel had someone's long hair tucked in it - not something I can accept even at my own home. The laminated squeaky floor was sticky (i.e. dirty) to feet, so I had to be wearing shoes all the time. The hallway was very dark, didn't look clean, and had a strong incense; a bit over-perfumed with non-conventional smell. Plus, cuz' the small lobby area down the hallway doubles as the bar, the noise was very audible - one night, very loud bar noise didn't cease until 4am. The staff of the hotel were alright, quite friendly, but of course we didn't ask for anything special from them either. We didn't ask to be moved to other rooms - taught from past experience that such moves rarely end up in much improvement, plus being in adjacent rooms was preferred. The location was pretty good. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach, lots of restaurants right behind the hotel, lots of shops around. Liked to go to the coffee and croissant place around the corner for breakfast and after lunch. The free airport shuttle service was good, we took it upon arrival (but had to take taxi on return, cuz the shuttle's timing didn't match). The much advertized free cocktails between 7-8: well, I guess anything is good for free, but it was a rather spartanic cocktail of a little vodka with any juice and ice. I had one, thank you. I don't know whether all of the above was just a normal Art Deco experience, but overall it was underwhelming in any case. I chose the place because of its location, the price, and some okey pictures and comments. Would I go there again - unless I am just with my wife and tight on budget (and become a goth:) - most probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, ill
Jun 21, 2010

not the best place

The hotel rooms are small and dark. We did not stay in the room very long, and I dont recommend you do. The hallways smelled horrible and the carpets were filled with questionable stains. The staff however, we very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can get good deals for dining during happy hour.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hunter A
Birmingham, AL
Jan 13, 2014

Forget about sleep

Good points: The rooms are really nice. Jacuzzi tub, hardwood floors, nice iPod station based sound systems. Location is a couple blocks from the park and beach. Right in the middle of restaurants and shops. Bad Points: First thing that stuck out is an extra $15 for a "resort fee." This is due to proximity to the beach and is supposed to give you free drinks between 7-8pm. What they don't tell you is that those free drinks consist of 6 oz cups of cheap rum, vodka or whiskey with your choice of oj, tonic water, coke and nothing. I guess that's better than the $12 mojitos but you'll hate yourself in the morning. The walls are paper thin. We got the back room who's back wall borders the alley. Every box truck that goes by sounds like it's running through the bedroom. We were lucky enough to be there on garbage day which sounded like Optimus Prime was wasted and tripped over the building. You can hear the people around you breathe. That being said, the staff was very nice and there is a free shuttle to the airport. Only catch there is you have to drag your luggage 3 blocks away. Free WIFI but it's really slow. TV was a Sony flatscreen and the furniture was nice, with the exception of the tiny pillows. I hate tiny pillows. Perfect place for hammered Spring Breakers, not so much for weary travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Sagua is a local, fairly priced, Cuban place about 2 blocks down Collins to 7th. Awesome food. If you go over to the street bordering the beach, prepare to spend.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TeeMac
rockaway, NY
Aug 26, 2013

an ok stay

First there was construction going on right in front of the hotel. It was very hard to get into the hotel to begin with. Our room was not in the main chesterfield hotel, it was in a building 2 doors down that was formally the lily, another inconvenience. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy but it was too dark in the room and the bathroom was very awkward (the sink was in another room from the toilet and shower) there is no full length mirror in the room and no counter top on the sink. Overall just an ok experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the specials at the restaurants by the beach. Food can be expensive.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCHH
New York, NY, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Pretty Good for the Area

Stayed in the Suite for one night, it had more room and separate rooms. Was great for hanging out. Huge bad side was that it was at the back of the hotel, windows toward the alley so the garbage and delivery truck did not let us sleep in the morning. WiFi also did not reach where we were staying. Bed was ok, not the most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nikki Beach, Best location for a Sunday Night out.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 13, 2010

Pretty good

I stayed here for 9 days with some friends for spring break. Overall, I liked the hotel and I would go back, but only because I don't think there's anything better for the same price/location, not because I'm in love with the hotel. The hotel's location is great if you're a spring breaker. It's right in the middle of everything and there were constantly tons of people in the lobby bar and outside. It's really close to all the clubs and shopping, which was great. The service was good, the front desk was always very helpful. Downside: the rooms barely had any lighting and were pretty small, there were constantly little bugs wondering around, we received a dirty towel, the shower had no barrier so the water got all over the bathroom, and it got really noisy sometimes. TIP: almsot all the restuarants on Ocean Dr already include a 15-20% tip on your bill, so be careful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Those paper "VIP" wristbands that promoters are handing out on street corners do NOTHING. You don't skip the line, you don't get in free, you don't get a free drink, NOTHING!! They use them to get you to the club hoping that once you're there, you'll just stay. The only thing that sometimes helped us was the VIP passes we got from the hotel, but you still have to be assertive with them. If you're really interested in a club, go over during the day and sometimes they'll be selling real VIP bracelets (usually the real ones are plastic) so you can skip the line. DON'T TRUST THE SKETCHY PROMOTERS ON THE STREET! THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING FOR YOU!

Back to menu Return to top