$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trying to stay alive
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 26, 2012

Don't stay here if you want to be safe!!!!

On my second night I was verbal assaulted in the hallway of the hotel by 8 females. When I called down to report the abuse and the large noise that continued for over a hour no one answered. I decided to call the police and they were able to come in a handle the situation. The next day I spoke with the general manager and he explained" This is Miami". not a good answer, have your fun just don't have it in the hallway after midnight. Let me say the rooms are very small and when you allow 8 people to stay in one room there will be problems. The next night like clock work the noise started back up and was constant till about 3pm. Once again I called down to the front desk NO ANSWER! At this point I was ready to leave and never come back to this place. When I spoke with the staff 6am that same day he stated that he had been busy at other hotels and was not there to get the phone. As I was talking to him about 4 of the people that I was having problems with came walking down the stairs and he said nothing to them. When I questioned him he just looked at me like he was afraid of them. Final word- this is a dormitory run hotel and I spent $189.00 plus $15.00 a day, to me that is real money and would have expected better service. Not once did they say can we move you to another one of our 8 hotels so that you will be comfortable and feel safe. NEVER GOING BACK TO SOUTH BEACH HOTEL GROUP TOO UNSAFE!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Happy Hour next door to Chesterfield, if Chris is doing sushi STAY!

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyce01
Business
New York
Oct 23, 2012

Horrible stay

Do yourself a favor and dont waste your time and money at this hotel. Most of the staff is very rude, especially the bartender with the dark hair. Rooms are small and not very clean. The mini bar in the rooms are tempting and is solely their to rip you off so stay away from it. The best thing about this hotel is its location, thats about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First timer South Beach
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 17, 2012

Could use some overall Improvement

Free shuttle and other amenities? If you don't count the mandatory extra $15 per day charge for Beach Towels, free drink between 7-8pm, and a few other things that I don't recall. It's a small boutique hotel, that could use a little touch up, but my price including the extra charges for the free stuff was about $400 per person including airfare from Dallas for a 3 day 2 night weekend stay. Room: Hotel staff was ok or average at best, The room was fine,a little noisy due to courtyard right outside. I did not like the setup for room snacks and bar. I would suggest you do inventory immediately on arrival to avoid any extra charges. We were charged for a $3.50 bottle of water on our second day, I saw the receipt left on top of refrigerator on our return to room that evening and went to front desk, the did remove it without any problem. They upgraded our room on arrival to a single king bed, in the building next door to the main hotel for no extra charge. Also the elevator was not working in main hotel, and there is no elevator in the suites building. There was a little mold in the shower. Housekeeping did not clean room, so I guess be sure to leave the Dirty Room door hanger out, but they did enter to count snacks and bar usage that day while we where out. Location: Was great if you are looking for somewhere a 500 feet from the beach. Amenities: No microwave in room, or in the hotel. Ice machine was located downstairs in the main hotel building. Would I stay Again?: Maybe, but not my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food offers being hard sold on the stroll down South Beach where a little pricey, 2 people can easily spend $100 with a alcoholic drink and meal, but about what I expected for a tourist spot. I suggest walking a block to Washington ave and eating if you want a better price value, and standard fastfood like Burger King.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mindful Visit
Business
Miami Beach
Feb 8, 2013

great location, poor facility

Room facilities are poor, and service attitude needs to be improved. But location is great. Basically you get what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ivy G
Business
Fleetwood, ny
May 14, 2013

What the heck was that about?! please read

Went for my best friends birthday. The bus that picks u up from the airport lost her luggage on the highway. Thats right u read correctly. The staff was not informative at all. When we asked questions we were given attitude. Customer service was not there main goal. Save ur money and skip the sushi bar next door. It was very "food court sushi" The pros: good location. Most important keep ur rocords for what they charge u. I had weird charges on my card which Im disputing now. In the end if customer service is not important to u then hey why not. Others be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Happy hour at most hotels at 7pm.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jujubees
Business
San Francisco
May 25, 2013

Great location but never a quiet night.

A block from the beach, brand name shops lined outside the hotel, a block from public transpo, plenty of restaurants around the site, room had a zen like ambience with a jacuzzi but partying at the common area...terrace and garden... went on until dawn. Outside conversations can be overheared even with the AC on. Good for younger clientele. Not good for kids. Just mind your own business and dont expect too much from the staff. Must be passed out to get a good sleep. Peaceful at day, loud at night! A bang for your buck. I still would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located from beach, shopping and dining. Block from public transpo.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ireland
Nov 26, 2009

My Experience at The Chesterfield

Arrival to the hotel was good, it was in a great location, easy to find and had secure valet parking available at a cost (€30.00 for 24 hours). Check in was easy and we were quickly shown to the room. The lobby area is small and also has the bar area but it was clean and well kept. The walk to the room was slightly offputting the corridors were narrow and there was a stuffy stale smell in the corridors, it reminded me more of a hostel than a hotel. The room itself was small but did have all the necessary amenities(LCD T.V., IPOD Docking station, safe , iron and ironing board and fully stocked mini-bar. The room was clean. the downside of the room was the lighting, a window overlooking another building did not allow for much natural daylight and the room only had two lamps. The bathroom was a room seperate with a curtain for a shower area but again had everything we need for an overnight stay. Also when staying here be very careful with the bedroom door as the room we stayed in needed to be pulled tight to close correctly, on one occasion we left and came back to find the door agar our own fault as we had presumed it would close behind us. Check out the next morning was slow as there is only one check out desk. The hotel was however very happy to store our luggage for the day complimentary. As you can see from my review the hotel is fine if you are in town for a night or two and don't plan to spend much time in the hotel. I will have to comment on the attentivness of the staff, on the morning of check out I decided to pre check in for my international flight, the hotel has a computer station set up for this purpose. I went through the process however when it came time to print my boarding pass nothing happened. As you can imagine I was a little fustrated as it was my boarding pass I was printing. A staff member came to assist me however it was his first day so although very helpful he was not really able to fix the problem and asked his collegue at reception to help. She seemed to be training him on the morning. The lady could not have been more unhelpful and did not seem to care. She actually disappeared from the desk whe I asked for her assistance and left the guy who was in training. Her attitude really changed my opinion of this hotel. I work in the hospitality industry so I am pretty easy going when something goes wrong however one thing I hate is rude staff. We left the hotel for a few hours and returned to pick up our luggage. I was told the computer was fixed so proceeded to check in a friend of mine, and again nothing printed so a member of staff came over to say it was broken!!! I asked why they did not display a sign to state that it was broken to avoid any issues like this and the staff member walked away. At the time there was eight hotel staff in the hotel lobby decorating the christmas tree and not one of them came to assist us. This is not the corect way to operate a hotel. So as I said the facilities are average but the staff are unfriendly and rude and on this basis I would not return to or recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thought developer
Business
Puerto Peñasco, Son. Mx
Mar 21, 2010

Interesting trip

It was a little intriguing that been in Miami Beach where allmost everything is clear, colored, white the inside of this Hotels (old refubished low class dormitory constructions into Hotels) are so dark and not welcoming in the inside, they are a good business so they should reinvest in them with space, light and a bit of life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 14, 2011

Is it Me?

"Ok" boutique hotel, Lobby needs facelift bigtime room was great and clean, nice bathroom but you can hear veryone outside talking, walking up the stairs, closing doors, etc... Great for beach, shopping and partying, good location. Staff was weak at best, bartender really sucked, was rude, disrespectful and slow. The "free drinks" for happy hour, aren't free! plus it's garbage liquor and you can only get Gin, Vodka or Rum, no wine, beer, scotch, etc. You pay a $15.00 Hotel "surcharge" which i was told was for the "free Drinks" Had to keep getting new room key, because it stopped working? Oh yeah, the phone system sucked, you cant call the front desk. $32 Bucks for valet parking, but that's typical for South Beach. If your looking for real upscale room and treatment go to the Delano, The Fountainbleu or the Tides. If your gona go just remember where you are... book online for best deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

SET Nightclub on Lincoln is Awesone on Sunday night. Great DJ if you like good House Music. The First DJ [...]? was great the second guy was to loud and "hard", first guy played good soulful stuff. $25 to get in but worth it for the atmosphere and FUNKTION ONE sound system. Great eye candy all over the place.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, ill
Jun 21, 2010

not the best place

The hotel rooms are small and dark. We did not stay in the room very long, and I dont recommend you do. The hallways smelled horrible and the carpets were filled with questionable stains. The staff however, we very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can get good deals for dining during happy hour.

Back to menu Return to top