$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
313 reviews
Great location!!! Beautiful place !

Best bang for your buck! Incredible service, great location and wow what a surprise this room was... See full review

  • Zgar man
  • May 18, 2014
Great hotel

Enjoyed staying there, room was very comfy and clean. Interior was unique and neat. The only thing... See full review

  • Sashanola
  • Apr 3, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.779 -80.1317
Area served
South Beach/Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VeryDisappointed
New Haven, CT, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Disgusting

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The room smelled like a decaying animal, literally, and was filthy. I asked to be moved to another room, but it smelled the same. The room was filthy as well, with hairs and sand in the bathtub. I was forced to cut my trip short as a result, but the management would not give me a refund, and did not even offer to cover incidental room expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shocked and Appalled
St. Louis, MO
Jun 7, 2010

Miserable Stay

I AM NOT A PERSON WHO COMPLAINS ABOUT HOTELS OR RESTAURANTS WITH ANY REGULARITY. In fact, I think that my partner and I are pretty easy going about most travel issue. However, this experience was so bad that I have to warn others. [...] The price was appealing and we thought that for a few nights it would be just fine. Wrong! [...] 1. The hotel isn't really a hotel. It's really a nightclub with loud club music and a small check in desk stuck in the corner of the room. When we arrived at 9 p.m. on Friday the "lobby" was jam packed with 20-something club-goers. Hey, I'm all for fun, but it took forever to check in because we couldn't even hear the clerk over the music. Remember, there are rooms above all of this. We found out later that the hotel becomes mobbed with people in the evening who are there for the "free" happy hour and I guess they just never leave.2. On the way to our room we walked up a filthy and smelly outdoor stairwell to a street-side third floor room. We passed a woman leaving a hotel room who had undoubtedly been turning a trick.3. The room was very stylish and we were certainly pleased with how spacious it was. This is the only remotely positive thing I can say.4. There were probably 50 little black bugs stuck up in the light fixtures and when we turned the light off to go to bed they fell on top of the comforter. When I started looking around I realized that the room was totally filthy.5. The noise level all night long was absolutely unbelievable. The hotel cannot do anything about the traffic, obviously, but there were people partying on the sidewalk below even at 5 a.m. We tried using ear plugs, but it still didn't block out the noise. 6. Our friends who stayed in another part of the hotel told us that there was urine in the elevator on Sunday morning.7. When we checked out on Sunday morning we were charged a $30 per night resort fee. I recall seeing something about this and I am accustomed to paying a resort fee. However, the clerk said that the resort fee was to cover the "free" happy hour. LOLOLOLOL. I couldn't believe it.This is no place to come if you want to sleep at all. This is definitely, definitely not a place for anyone over the age of 20. And, it is certainly no place for children. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you want to party, this is the place for you!!!

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Townsend
Temple Hills, MD
Mar 4, 2010

The Chesterfield Hotel in Miami, FL

Due to the illness and hospitalization of my father, I had to cancel my trip to Miami on Feb 22 thru March 1. In speaking with the hotel, they did not treat me in a professional matter by hanging up on me a couple of time and not returning my call. Thay also kept my entire hotel fee of $929.00. I have emailed a copy of the medical note from my father's doctor about my involvement with his care...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Que
Detroit
Jun 17, 2014

bed bugs or something

There was bugs all in our room, mosquitoes and everything so we got switched. The next night I had red itchy bumps from the new room. Bad stay overall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glassman 1965
Business
Laguna Niguel, CA
Feb 23, 2014

Worst Hotel Stay in Years

Location in South Beach was appealing, but there is no sound reduction in windows - so extremely noisy all night. Toilet not cleaned. NO HOT WATER. Lighting with 40 watt bulbs. WiFi reception intermittent. Air Conditioner pointed directly to bed, so couldn't run it at night. One call to desk never answered after 30 rings. There should never be a reason to have this hotel ever recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss DC
Washington, DC
Sep 20, 2012

Never again!!

The hotel rooms were VERY small. The bathroom was so small ,that only one person could fit in there at a time. There was a huge leak in the bathroom ceiling. The staff took care of the problem right away. The hallways were very loud at night with drunk guest laughing and arguing. There were hotel guest prank calling the rooms at 4am. I think charging a resort fee every day was too much, on top of the $100 deposit. We ordered breakfast and they charged us $30 for 4 microwaveable pancakes and sausage. This hotel would not be good for anyone over the age of 25. The best thing about the hotel is the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NewYork, NY
Oct 24, 2010

Dirty

The hotel was dirty. Pros: location. Cons: the hotel is a bit outdated & dirty. I had to ask for housekeeping to clean our mattress because when I was inspecting it I found it to be filled w dirt, sand, even chips, under the mattress was pretty awful as well. I even found a ketup package under the mattress. Room was also very dark & once we found a roach in the shower. I would say this place feels more like an ok motel, certainly not a hotel. Would not go back :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Jul 8, 2010

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible

The room with the number of beds we booked (well in advance) had been given away. We were stuck with 1 king size bed, and a prison style shower. There was never an apology just "oh well, there's nothing that can be done." We finally got in touch with a manager who moved us to the room we booked. But it hadn't been cleaned and the previous guest had drank out of the mini-bar. It took an act of congress for me to get the staff to not charge me for the drink and then remove the items from our room entirely so that there would be no mistake of who should be billed for missing items. I then called the desk to ask for an ironing board (since one was not in the room) and was told they would bring one right up....it never came. There was no parking garage so we had to valet the car for $30/day which was never stated until arrival. If the hotel wasn't in the middle of South Beach where all the entertainment is located it would rank as my number 1 worst hotel experience...currently it is 2nd due to the fact the worst had roaches [*] (but at least they had good service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Every bill (resturant/bar/club) has an automatic 15-18% gratuity added. Thus, be cautious on your tipping. Also, if your looking for a cheap meal that is very good, Pizza Rican on 8th & Washington has the best pizza and it's only $5 a slice. A true steal in South beach.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Townsend
Temple Hills, MD
Mar 4, 2010

The Chesterfield Hotel in Miami, FL

Due to the illness and hospitalization of my father, I had to cancel my trip to Miami on Feb 22 thru March 1. In speaking with the hotel, they did not treat me in a professional matter by hanging up on me a couple of time and not returning my call. Thay also kept my entire hotel fee of $929.00. I have emailed a copy of the medical note from my father's doctor about my involvement with his care...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissatisfied12
georgia
Jul 21, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was alright and the food was great. HOWEVER, every night we could not get to sleep until at least 3am because the dinky bar downstairs was BLASTING music and TERRIBLE karaoke. It really felt like the staff didn't care about us. Some of them were nice, others were rude and condescending. My advice, stay in one of the high rises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top