$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
315 out of 315
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TURU
Business
SAN JUAN, PUERTO RICO
Nov 21, 2013

NOT THE WORST BUT CLOSE

I had reserved a room with 2 beds. upon arrival they said that the top rooms were humid and had mold due to the rain. They moved us to a property that was supposed to be better, but further from the beach. When its the only option at 11pm we had to take it. When we arrived the leg of the bed was broken, there was only 1 bed, when i had paid the extra fee for a 2nd bed, and we had to sleep on a couch feeling the crossbar and springs all night. The 2nd night they moved us to the hotel and at least the bed was better, the shower had mold and the toilet leaked from the bottom. Disaster!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THE RESTAURANT C.VI.CHE 105 IN MIAMI WAS AMAZING!!!!

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
juanie
Business
novi, mi
May 21, 2014

Will never come back here again!!!

Horrible. Stayed her from May 8-13, 2014 and the 1st room they gave me ...room 211...had black mold (clearly) all over the bathroom ceiling..(you couldn't miss it). I complained to the front desk and they took me to a 2nd room. In the 2nd room the a/c didn't work. After I checked out, I emailed management 5/14/2014, about this and they have done nothing for me to date. One person named Chris Rollins emailed me back saying he was going to look into it and has yet to email me back with a response, resolution, or anything. One manager called me today and said he would give me back my resort fee, $82, WHICH IS NO WHERE NEAR ACCEPTABLE FOR THE INCONVIENCE, told me he was going to call me back and has not!!! Ridiculous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 8, 2010

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible

The room with the number of beds we booked (well in advance) had been given away. We were stuck with 1 king size bed, and a prison style shower. There was never an apology just "oh well, there's nothing that can be done." We finally got in touch with a manager who moved us to the room we booked. But it hadn't been cleaned and the previous guest had drank out of the mini-bar. It took an act of congress for me to get the staff to not charge me for the drink and then remove the items from our room entirely so that there would be no mistake of who should be billed for missing items. I then called the desk to ask for an ironing board (since one was not in the room) and was told they would bring one right up....it never came. There was no parking garage so we had to valet the car for $30/day which was never stated until arrival. If the hotel wasn't in the middle of South Beach where all the entertainment is located it would rank as my number 1 worst hotel experience...currently it is 2nd due to the fact the worst had roaches [*] (but at least they had good service).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Every bill (resturant/bar/club) has an automatic 15-18% gratuity added. Thus, be cautious on your tipping. Also, if your looking for a cheap meal that is very good, Pizza Rican on 8th & Washington has the best pizza and it's only $5 a slice. A true steal in South beach.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IT SUCKED
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

NOT TO GOOD

WALLS PAPER THIN, ROOMS SMALLER THAN A SHOE BOX, IT SUCKED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 18, 2010

NEVER AGAIN

[...]. The stay started with me being placed in the wrong room type, even though I verified this at check in. I was then moved into the loudest room in which I have ever stayed. My windows looked directly into the bar not 10 feet from my room. Until 5am, dance music blared so loudly I could not hear my own TV. (I mean, once they located a remote control for me. They are a precious commodity in this hotel.)I would have moved, except that friends on the second floor where just as mortified by the sound. Plus, I can't tell you how many items in the room where either broken, missing or in disrepair. I actually slept at a friend's place the second night of my stay because I was so exhausted from lack of sleep. I feel completely taken advantage of by this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Webster. Amazing clothing store for men and woman at 12th and Collins.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlanod
Jul 27, 2011

Chesterfiled Hotel is not a Hotel!

The Chesterfield staff was a very unhappy group of people. The hotel was poorly managed. Not one of the staff except the nice young man from Spain at the small Street bar smiled and or greeted us in any manner during our 3 day stay there. The service was just plain aful and had a 15% tip added to every tab, I guess this was done to add insult to injury. the alleged hotel is not any better than a poorly run motel in a small town. There were holes in the floor covering, the room was decorated with mini bottles and junk, the phone did not work, the controller on the TV did not work and the alley our room was on was part of the bar over flow area. Thank God the bar was not popular or we would have never been able to sleep, the ear plugs were the only thing that saved us. This is one of many trips to Sobee for us and this was by far the worst experience we ever had. [...]the Chesterfield both mis-represented the accomodationas and I felt robbed. I would have galdly paid another 100$ per night for a real hotel with real service and or at least a friendly or helpful staff. There is more but why waste my time writing. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

never stay at the chesterfield hotel

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurby, Unhappy Customers
Business
Reading, Pa
May 10, 2010

Shady Business

My boyfriend and i have been to South Beach, Miami many times, all of them enjoyable experiences, including this one...outside of the hotel. We've never felt so unwelcome and disrespected in all the years we've visited. Day 1 - Check In: We arrived early, so we knew there probably wouldn't be a room available for us, okay, we can deal with that. They did not, how ever, offer to check our bags so we could do something else for the afternoon, instead of sit in a hotel lobby. Which by the way, the lobby was dirty and the sofa cushions were ripped up and repaired with tape. While we sat in the lobby, we ordered a few drinks at the bar, 3 each....for $60!!!!! How absurd! They failed to give us a detailed receipt, now i realize it's a tourist spot and i don't expect a $3.50 bottle of Miller Lite, but no WAY would i think they would serve $10 Coronas and Heineken! Day 2 - Went into the closet to grab a pair of shoes, and i found a live roach crawling on the floor...disgusting! Day 4 - Got our room cleaned, but no clean towels?! Day 5 - Happy Hour: We enjoy going to this hotel because of happy hour, but on this particular night, our bartender served us what we thought was Vodka Sprites, but were Vodka Tonics, which we did not order. He did this two nights in a row. On the 2nd night, after our 2nd drink (mind you, these drinks are tiny), he decided to skip over us and wait on 7 other people, while he knew we were waiting to be served, but instead played with his iPhone, his name was Justin. Day 6 - We came back from the beach to find that both of our rooms keys no longer worked and they had locked our door, we still were booked for one more evening, and had to get new room keys. Once entering the room, we found a detailed receipt for the mini bar for 4 flight bottles of liquor, 2 bags of M&Ms, and a bottle of water. In all the years we've ever gone on vacation, we've never used a mini bar, we bought all of our own food & drink. We then went to the front desk and ask them to remove from our bill, which they said they did. Day 7 - Check out day: i was about to take a shower, and we noticed that there was a dead roach stuck between the towels...so i didn't get to take a shower because i felt the bathroom was contaminated. When we went to check out, they DID NOT take of the mini bar purchases and i had to ask them again. And at check in they failed to tell us that there was a $15 surcharge for SHUTTLE - WIFI - PHONE - HAPPY HOUR. All of which are listed on the website as FREE. none of this is FREE folks, you are actually paying for those drinks and the shuttle drive every single day. This trip was fully paid for and they try to nickle & dime you where ever they can. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at as well as dirtiest and most unfriendly and unwelcoming staff. We were sorely disappointed and very upset the first day and the 6th day because of there shenanigans, they practically ruined our last night of vacation because of there poor work ethic. The nicest thing about this place....was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 9, 2010

BOOKING NIGHTMARE

I went to check in at the hotel and they told me that I was transferred to another one in the same "group" of hotels. A little strange, but ok... We get to the second hotel and the room they try to give us is NOTHING like what I booked online. The people at the South Beach Group of hotels were completely unorganized. I had to wait on hold forever while they tried to sort out our situation. Finally they transfered us to a suite at a THIRD hotel (at this point we had been trying to check in for more than an hour). When we got there to check in - they didnt have my information. I had to call the South Beach Group reservation line from my cell phone to try to sort it out because the guy behind the counter "couldnt figure it out." FINALLY we got to the room and it was nice - but not worth the headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Louis in South Beach just opened up not too long ago. It was my first time going and I thought it was amazing!! You can also catch the local Miami band Spam All Stars rocking out at Jazzid

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NewYork, NY
Oct 24, 2010

Dirty

The hotel was dirty. Pros: location. Cons: the hotel is a bit outdated & dirty. I had to ask for housekeeping to clean our mattress because when I was inspecting it I found it to be filled w dirt, sand, even chips, under the mattress was pretty awful as well. I even found a ketup package under the mattress. Room was also very dark & once we found a roach in the shower. I would say this place feels more like an ok motel, certainly not a hotel. Would not go back :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael Townsend
Business
Temple Hills, MD
Mar 4, 2010

The Chesterfield Hotel in Miami, FL

Due to the illness and hospitalization of my father, I had to cancel my trip to Miami on Feb 22 thru March 1. In speaking with the hotel, they did not treat me in a professional matter by hanging up on me a couple of time and not returning my call. Thay also kept my entire hotel fee of $929.00. I have emailed a copy of the medical note from my father's doctor about my involvement with his care...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top