Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
314 reviews
chesterfield

Great staff complimentary happy hour couldn't beat it. Great location See full review

  • rob.b
  • Jul 10, 2014
Great location!!! Beautiful place !

Best bang for your buck! Incredible service, great location and wow what a surprise this room was... See full review

  • Zgar man
  • May 18, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.779 -80.1317
Area served
South Beach/Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ed G. H
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 3, 2011

horrible hotel stay

This hotel was one of the worst experieces ive ever encountered while on vacation. Firstly, i was forced to sleep in a single rooom with a single bed with a male family member, when i specifically paid for a double bed. Secondly, when i arrived at the hotel the music was so loud I barely could her myself speak to the front desk. In addition, there was'nt any WIFI throughout the hotel, only in the lobby area, where they have live music playing. I would not recommend this hotel to my enemy. The only bright side to this hotel experence was its location, it was in the heart of South Beach, walking distance to all activities. Another flaw in this hotel service is its housekeeping, their housekeepers do not understand English. I would leave my room during the early hours of the day and upon my return my room would still be a mess. On too many occasions I would request clean face towels and beach towels and on top of it all the hotel manager only work from 9am to 5pm daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for a taxi, take a nice stroll along the beach

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 18, 2010

NEVER AGAIN

[...]. The stay started with me being placed in the wrong room type, even though I verified this at check in. I was then moved into the loudest room in which I have ever stayed. My windows looked directly into the bar not 10 feet from my room. Until 5am, dance music blared so loudly I could not hear my own TV. (I mean, once they located a remote control for me. They are a precious commodity in this hotel.)I would have moved, except that friends on the second floor where just as mortified by the sound. Plus, I can't tell you how many items in the room where either broken, missing or in disrepair. I actually slept at a friend's place the second night of my stay because I was so exhausted from lack of sleep. I feel completely taken advantage of by this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Webster. Amazing clothing store for men and woman at 12th and Collins.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NewYork, NY
Oct 24, 2010

Dirty

The hotel was dirty. Pros: location. Cons: the hotel is a bit outdated & dirty. I had to ask for housekeeping to clean our mattress because when I was inspecting it I found it to be filled w dirt, sand, even chips, under the mattress was pretty awful as well. I even found a ketup package under the mattress. Room was also very dark & once we found a roach in the shower. I would say this place feels more like an ok motel, certainly not a hotel. Would not go back :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
junior67
hollywood, fl
Jun 19, 2013

Horrible expierience

This place had water damage so they tried to accommodate me at their sister location. The other place was crowded, filled with music and poor customer service as well as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 18, 2010

NEVER AGAIN

[...]. The stay started with me being placed in the wrong room type, even though I verified this at check in. I was then moved into the loudest room in which I have ever stayed. My windows looked directly into the bar not 10 feet from my room. Until 5am, dance music blared so loudly I could not hear my own TV. (I mean, once they located a remote control for me. They are a precious commodity in this hotel.)I would have moved, except that friends on the second floor where just as mortified by the sound. Plus, I can't tell you how many items in the room where either broken, missing or in disrepair. I actually slept at a friend's place the second night of my stay because I was so exhausted from lack of sleep. I feel completely taken advantage of by this hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop at the Webster. Amazing clothing store for men and woman at 12th and Collins.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
juanie
novi, mi
May 21, 2014

Will never come back here again!!!

Horrible. Stayed her from May 8-13, 2014 and the 1st room they gave me ...room 211...had black mold (clearly) all over the bathroom ceiling..(you couldn't miss it). I complained to the front desk and they took me to a 2nd room. In the 2nd room the a/c didn't work. After I checked out, I emailed management 5/14/2014, about this and they have done nothing for me to date. One person named Chris Rollins emailed me back saying he was going to look into it and has yet to email me back with a response, resolution, or anything. One manager called me today and said he would give me back my resort fee, $82, WHICH IS NO WHERE NEAR ACCEPTABLE FOR THE INCONVIENCE, told me he was going to call me back and has not!!! Ridiculous!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurby, Unhappy Customers
Reading, Pa
May 10, 2010

Shady Business

My boyfriend and i have been to South Beach, Miami many times, all of them enjoyable experiences, including this one...outside of the hotel. We've never felt so unwelcome and disrespected in all the years we've visited. Day 1 - Check In: We arrived early, so we knew there probably wouldn't be a room available for us, okay, we can deal with that. They did not, how ever, offer to check our bags so we could do something else for the afternoon, instead of sit in a hotel lobby. Which by the way, the lobby was dirty and the sofa cushions were ripped up and repaired with tape. While we sat in the lobby, we ordered a few drinks at the bar, 3 each....for $60!!!!! How absurd! They failed to give us a detailed receipt, now i realize it's a tourist spot and i don't expect a $3.50 bottle of Miller Lite, but no WAY would i think they would serve $10 Coronas and Heineken! Day 2 - Went into the closet to grab a pair of shoes, and i found a live roach crawling on the floor...disgusting! Day 4 - Got our room cleaned, but no clean towels?! Day 5 - Happy Hour: We enjoy going to this hotel because of happy hour, but on this particular night, our bartender served us what we thought was Vodka Sprites, but were Vodka Tonics, which we did not order. He did this two nights in a row. On the 2nd night, after our 2nd drink (mind you, these drinks are tiny), he decided to skip over us and wait on 7 other people, while he knew we were waiting to be served, but instead played with his iPhone, his name was Justin. Day 6 - We came back from the beach to find that both of our rooms keys no longer worked and they had locked our door, we still were booked for one more evening, and had to get new room keys. Once entering the room, we found a detailed receipt for the mini bar for 4 flight bottles of liquor, 2 bags of M&Ms, and a bottle of water. In all the years we've ever gone on vacation, we've never used a mini bar, we bought all of our own food & drink. We then went to the front desk and ask them to remove from our bill, which they said they did. Day 7 - Check out day: i was about to take a shower, and we noticed that there was a dead roach stuck between the towels...so i didn't get to take a shower because i felt the bathroom was contaminated. When we went to check out, they DID NOT take of the mini bar purchases and i had to ask them again. And at check in they failed to tell us that there was a $15 surcharge for SHUTTLE - WIFI - PHONE - HAPPY HOUR. All of which are listed on the website as FREE. none of this is FREE folks, you are actually paying for those drinks and the shuttle drive every single day. This trip was fully paid for and they try to nickle & dime you where ever they can. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at as well as dirtiest and most unfriendly and unwelcoming staff. We were sorely disappointed and very upset the first day and the 6th day because of there shenanigans, they practically ruined our last night of vacation because of there poor work ethic. The nicest thing about this place....was leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady P
South Beach Miami
Apr 19, 2010

Horrible,can't judge book by it's cover!

The hotel is cute but small and the staff was pretty friendly. They play the music from 7pm until 10pm very annoying. The rooms are extremely small barely any room to walk around, it's like being in a closet! I personally hated the bathroom, no tub and the shower head in the ceiling. The hotel isn't that clean and their no amenities. On a good note it's round the corner from the beach. Also, the hotel not too far from the night clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlanod
Jul 27, 2011

Chesterfiled Hotel is not a Hotel!

The Chesterfield staff was a very unhappy group of people. The hotel was poorly managed. Not one of the staff except the nice young man from Spain at the small Street bar smiled and or greeted us in any manner during our 3 day stay there. The service was just plain aful and had a 15% tip added to every tab, I guess this was done to add insult to injury. the alleged hotel is not any better than a poorly run motel in a small town. There were holes in the floor covering, the room was decorated with mini bottles and junk, the phone did not work, the controller on the TV did not work and the alley our room was on was part of the bar over flow area. Thank God the bar was not popular or we would have never been able to sleep, the ear plugs were the only thing that saved us. This is one of many trips to Sobee for us and this was by far the worst experience we ever had. [...]the Chesterfield both mis-represented the accomodationas and I felt robbed. I would have galdly paid another 100$ per night for a real hotel with real service and or at least a friendly or helpful staff. There is more but why waste my time writing. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

never stay at the chesterfield hotel

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IT SUCKED
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

NOT TO GOOD

WALLS PAPER THIN, ROOMS SMALLER THAN A SHOE BOX, IT SUCKED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top