$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
265 reviews
Fun Spot in the heart of South Beach

The Chesterfield is a fun little hotel that's a block from the beach. The have clean, well detailed... See full review

  • Matthew S.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great place for travel with friends

It really is a nice little hotel next to everything in south beach. Staff is super nice and rooms... See full review

  • SalsaStyle
  • Jan 12, 2015
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss.
Business
New York City, NY
Oct 14, 2010

Not Bad

Room was not like same as the picture shown on their website. I stayed on the first floor and it was so loud cause it was close to the Lobby/Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SilentSkipperU2
Business
Allston, MA
Jan 8, 2010

what we expected for south beach artdeco

My boyfriend and I arrived at Miami International Airport at 6pm and were able to catch the free South Beach Group shuttle. it arrives in between terminals G and H on the second level every two hours on the odd hour. We had a hard time finding it at first, so I called the hotel to be sure we didn't miss it--man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle driver was very friendly as well--she helped us with our bags to and from the shuttle, as well as for our return trip. This is NOT a hotel to stay at if you're not prepared for South Beach! Most of the hotels have bars, as does this one, and people are there to party so it's very loud--you can hear people in their rooms, doors slamming, cleaning people, music, etc. But that's what we were prepared for. Front desk staff was very friendly when we arrived. We went to our room (smallest one they offer, with one queen bed), opened the door and it was occupied! We freaked out and went back to the front desk. After a lot of running around and shouting in Spanish between the hotel staff, a man took our bags out of the building and started to walk down the street. We had no idea what was going on! We later realized there was an available room in the adjoining building next door--this building was called Lily. We ended up getting a suite and I wasn't charged any extra for it! There were two beds, king and queen size, mini fridge, two TV's--very spacious. The rooms are dark though, and we didn't have much of a view, so no natural light either. Our shower was weird because there was no edge and the only drain was in the middle of the room, so it flooded whenever you took a shower! Other than that, the hotel was just what we needed--a place to sleep and get ready! Pretty clean, comfortable bed, very friendly staff. Can't beat the free vodka and rum drinks from 7-8pm every night! There is a $15 PER NIGHT resort fee, so don't be surprised when they bill you for it when you check out, as well as some city and art deco historical district taxes! South Beach is incredible, we had so much fun, we didn't even get to do and see everything. Unfortunately, we were in Miami for the coldest weather they've had in 10 years! But even still, this city rocks! I highly recommend Fogo de Chao Brazilian steak house, Zeke's Roadhouse for $4 beers, Mango's for the experience, Bella Cuba, Hofbrau Munchen and just general people watching all around. All around great trip, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep an eye on your restaurant bills--a lot of restaurants add gratuity, anywhere from 10-18%. Also, take advantage of all the different types of cuisine offered in South Beach--you can get anything from Japanese to Italian to Cuban to Domincan to German!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2010

All right for one night

My friends and I booked this hotel because of its proximity to South Beach. The location is excellent - it's probably the best feature of the hotel. However, it lacked in many areas to be the comfortable, beachy place we thought it was. The phones in the rooms don't work, so the front desk can't be contacted - you have to either go to the lobby or call from your cell phone. If you call from your cell, your call may not be answered because the lobby is a club at night, so there is really loud music and the clerks can't hear the phone (they can barely hear you when you talk to them in person). The rooms were very small, tight, and dark. Not convenient for girls needing a decent light/mirror to use when putting make up on. The beds were comfortable though. Parking is inconvenient because there isn't any - you have to use a valet service that takes 15-20 minutes to bring your vehicle to you, so if not having access to your car whenever you need is an inconvenience, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2010

SoBe Great!

Friendly staff. Free hotel/airport shuttle. Excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tegroeg
Business
Orlando Florida
Nov 8, 2010

Chesterfield Hotel

I reserved a Junior Suite for three nights. The first night I was given a room that was 9'x10' with a king bed one chair and a 20inch TV. The bathroom was off to the side and was 2.5'x4'. The next morning I opened the Chesterfield web site and called up the picture of the junior suite that was instrumental in making me reserve the suite. Couldn't believe it. The clerk told me that all the rooms were different. I showed him the picture of the room that I reserved and paid for and now want. This was in the Morning, They had the room for me at 2:45 in the afternoon. There was a room like that. The first Suite was room 515, this was a sub regular room. The next room, 521 was the suite. I will be more careful in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staff was courteous but to the end said that room 515 is a suite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pinkgirl
Business
New York, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Oceanside getaway

I enjoyed my overall stay at this hotel although I still feel that it was somewhat overpriced. The room had a beautiful, unique and funky decor but it felt somewhat small and had us tripping over quite a few things just to get around. I have to add that the lighting is very poor in the rooms in this hotel but i believe that was intentional due to the overall atmosphere of the entire hotel to resemble that of a nightclub, with a bar right in the front lobby and dance music being played night and day. The tv only had one channel but there were a set of nice speakers for you to play your music as you get ready for the club and whatnot. I might also add that they offer complimentary beach towels and free shuttle to and from the airport, plus happy hour at the bar from 7-8. The location is probably the best selling point, as it is literally a five minute walk from the beach and 10 minutes, by cab, to the clubs nearby. I originally signed up for a room with a jacuzzi but didn't end up getting one since the receptionist claimed that what you sign up for through Orbitz might not be exactly what it says, so buyer beware. I did enjoy my trip overall, (I was in Miami, i couldn't complain) but I might've tried harder to find a place that offered something more considering the price i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers free admission passes to certain clubs on certain nights so be sure to take full advantage of them. Otherwise, you could end up paying 10-20 dollars per person just for admission. Plus, you can pregame in the hotel before you leave, being that the clubs are mostly 5-15 minute drives away. Be sure you know what kind of music and crowd to anticipate at the club before you plan to go because it varies depending on the day of the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 4, 2010

decent hotel in a great location

The hotel is good if you don't plan on spending a lot of time there. The staff was very friendly. Always music playing in the lobby which was nice. The airport shuttle is very convenient and saves you money on a taxi. My only complain was the lighting in the room was bad and the rooms were a little smaller than I thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 25, 2010

Location, Location

Great value for south beach, location is perfect and rooms are clean and with hardwood floors a major plus with the humidity from Miami. Be prepared to party hotel lounge is loud and on the weekends playing loud music until after 1:00. So if you are looking for a restful experience this is not it, however it is the perfect place for the party crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua for the best food in the area, great value and the cubam dishes are amazing, portions are big and can be shared. Much better than Larios and half the price, you just do not have the scenery. Also for breakfast Davids on Collins and 11 also a great value and great special fries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MIA FL
Jun 10, 2010

good, bad & ugly

I WAS VERY SURPRISED AT CHECKOUT THAT THE HOTEL CHARGES AN ADDITIONAL $15 "HOTEL FEE". REALLY UPSET THAT THE HOTEL FEES WERE NOT CLEARLY REVEALED [...], OR BY HOTEL STAFF UPON CHECKIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 13, 2010

Pretty good

I stayed here for 9 days with some friends for spring break. Overall, I liked the hotel and I would go back, but only because I don't think there's anything better for the same price/location, not because I'm in love with the hotel. The hotel's location is great if you're a spring breaker. It's right in the middle of everything and there were constantly tons of people in the lobby bar and outside. It's really close to all the clubs and shopping, which was great. The service was good, the front desk was always very helpful. Downside: the rooms barely had any lighting and were pretty small, there were constantly little bugs wondering around, we received a dirty towel, the shower had no barrier so the water got all over the bathroom, and it got really noisy sometimes. TIP: almsot all the restuarants on Ocean Dr already include a 15-20% tip on your bill, so be careful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Those paper "VIP" wristbands that promoters are handing out on street corners do NOTHING. You don't skip the line, you don't get in free, you don't get a free drink, NOTHING!! They use them to get you to the club hoping that once you're there, you'll just stay. The only thing that sometimes helped us was the VIP passes we got from the hotel, but you still have to be assertive with them. If you're really interested in a club, go over during the day and sometimes they'll be selling real VIP bracelets (usually the real ones are plastic) so you can skip the line. DON'T TRUST THE SKETCHY PROMOTERS ON THE STREET! THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING FOR YOU!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top