Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
317 reviews
Gorgeous!

Staff was amazingly helpful! Best hotel thus far! Would recommend this to anyone! See full review

  • AJWard123
  • Jul 17, 2014
chesterfield

Great staff complimentary happy hour couldn't beat it. Great location See full review

  • rob.b
  • Jul 10, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.779 -80.1317
Area served
South Beach/Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First timer South Beach
Dallas, Texas
Dec 17, 2012

Could use some overall Improvement

Free shuttle and other amenities? If you don't count the mandatory extra $15 per day charge for Beach Towels, free drink between 7-8pm, and a few other things that I don't recall. It's a small boutique hotel, that could use a little touch up, but my price including the extra charges for the free stuff was about $400 per person including airfare from Dallas for a 3 day 2 night weekend stay. Room: Hotel staff was ok or average at best, The room was fine,a little noisy due to courtyard right outside. I did not like the setup for room snacks and bar. I would suggest you do inventory immediately on arrival to avoid any extra charges. We were charged for a $3.50 bottle of water on our second day, I saw the receipt left on top of refrigerator on our return to room that evening and went to front desk, the did remove it without any problem. They upgraded our room on arrival to a single king bed, in the building next door to the main hotel for no extra charge. Also the elevator was not working in main hotel, and there is no elevator in the suites building. There was a little mold in the shower. Housekeeping did not clean room, so I guess be sure to leave the Dirty Room door hanger out, but they did enter to count snacks and bar usage that day while we where out. Location: Was great if you are looking for somewhere a 500 feet from the beach. Amenities: No microwave in room, or in the hotel. Ice machine was located downstairs in the main hotel building. Would I stay Again?: Maybe, but not my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food offers being hard sold on the stroll down South Beach where a little pricey, 2 people can easily spend $100 with a alcoholic drink and meal, but about what I expected for a tourist spot. I suggest walking a block to Washington ave and eating if you want a better price value, and standard fastfood like Burger King.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tominus
savannnah
Dec 15, 2012

not bad in this price

hotel is near the south beach but u can't see ocean in ur room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcadcman
arlington, va
Nov 23, 2012

Location Location Location

Known as southbeach group, this team is great. This property is located in a great location, close to beach, shops, restaurants, bike rental, etc. if you plan to stay in a 5 mile area of hotel, DONT rent a car. Parking is $32 / day plus taxes. They will pick you up and drop off to airport as part of your $15/day Resort Fee. Also, free internet if your room is on the 1st floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyce01
New York
Oct 23, 2012

Horrible stay

Do yourself a favor and dont waste your time and money at this hotel. Most of the staff is very rude, especially the bartender with the dark hair. Rooms are small and not very clean. The mini bar in the rooms are tempting and is solely their to rip you off so stay away from it. The best thing about this hotel is its location, thats about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smiley Elizabeth
New Jersey
Oct 18, 2012

Had a GREAT time!

Miami is my go to spot for a quick getaway. I have been there about 8xs, but this is my first stay at the Chesterfield. After reading the reviews, I was not sure what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised. The location is perfect! Far enough away from all the hustle and bustle to be able to get rest but close enough that you're at the beach, Mangos, Wet Willie's in under 10minutes. My stay started with an upgrade into a Junior Suite. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. Staff was great, especially Marcial, Tavaris, and Daniel! Will definitely stay again! As a matter of fact, I'm booking a stay now :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phi1ip H
DC
Oct 16, 2012

Hidden Costs

Lobby was well decorated with a nice front terrace facing the street with tables. Upon check-in we were upgraded at no cost to a king suite which a pleasant surprise. After a somewhat exhausting climb up a narrow outside stairway we entered our lovely and very well decorated upscale room with stone flooring and clear glass sink in the bath. There were wine glasses and opener, stereo (which guests in other rooms enjoyed until the wee hours of the morning) and flat screen TV with poor reception. The bath was gorgeous, but the toilet while looking very trendy was painful to operate with a button on the side of the tank next to wall that was difficult to press and had to be held in for several sseconds until it flushed. The air conditioning system was nice forced air with vents rather than the window units found in many hotels, however the thermostat wasn't functioning properly and no matter what temperature we set it at, the compressor would never stop, allowing the room to become quite chilly inspite of the warm South Beach climate. The only control we had was to shut it off when it got too cold which became a problem at night after falling asleep in a comfortable room with the system shut off, since we woke up a few hours later sweating profusely and in need of another shower. Over all though the hotel has a trendy upscale vibe and attracts a hip younger crowd. Free watered down drinks are provided from 7 to 8 pm in the lobby area which can be enjoyed at tables on the front terrace, don't try to get a another drink at 8:01 pm because you will be flatly denied regardless of how well you tipped the cute blonde eastern european bar tender up to that point. There's also free high speed wifi available throughout the hotel and in the rooms, did I say free? Well, management likes to tout it as free, but then charges a $15 fee (16.95 after taxes) every day of your stay payable directly to the hotel upon checkout. This is in addition to the daily rate paid through the online booking service. I did see that when booking the room but didn't realize it was a daily charge and upon further contemplation, it occurs to me that since there is no way to opt out and not use the bar service or wifi this is really just a way to confuse guests and make their daily rate look better when comparing with other hotels. You will also need to pay for parking, the most reasonable rate we found was at the public garage a couple blocks away for $1/hr or $20/day. So be prepared for the hidden fees and be sure to calculate them when comparing rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very quaint french restaurant called the 'Otentic' a few blocks away. It's a very small restaurant but the food is amazing, especially the escargot. And you will fall in love with the little black dog wandering around with his tongue hanging out. The chef is a very nice, friendly and enthusiastic fellow who shops daily for fresh ingredients so the Sunday we were there, we were unable to enjoy crepes, but he mentioned they are usually available every other day of the week. The only restroom available is a disgusting public restroom next door, so be prepared and don't let that detract from the excellent quisine at this charming restaurant.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannabea
Conyers, GA
Oct 5, 2012

Chesterfield

This is a great hotel if you want to hit up the beach or go clubbing. If you're more into seeing the sights and being on the go in a car, then this hotel is probably not for you. There is no wireless in the room but you can get signal outside. Valet parking is $32 a night so staying here w/o a car is probably preferable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Virginia
Oct 4, 2012

Fantastic Trip

The trip was great and awesome and its very fun at the night life

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan, PR
Sep 20, 2012

Good for a couple and small family

Excellent and very helpful employees. Near Ocean Drive and Washington. You can walk and get to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss DC
Washington, DC
Sep 20, 2012

Never again!!

The hotel rooms were VERY small. The bathroom was so small ,that only one person could fit in there at a time. There was a huge leak in the bathroom ceiling. The staff took care of the problem right away. The hallways were very loud at night with drunk guest laughing and arguing. There were hotel guest prank calling the rooms at 4am. I think charging a resort fee every day was too much, on top of the $100 deposit. We ordered breakfast and they charged us $30 for 4 microwaveable pancakes and sausage. This hotel would not be good for anyone over the age of 25. The best thing about the hotel is the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top