$238 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 17, 2015 Check-out: Mar 20, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
275 reviews
great

nice all around vacation spot really fun at night for festival folks!!! See full review

  • Dolores S.
  • Feb 26, 2015
Chesterfiel is FULL OF LIFE!

My two friends and I arrived at the Chesterfield Hotel right on time and had a QUICK check in. We... See full review

  • RomeosCorner
  • Feb 20, 2015
South Beach boutique hotel marries old and new Miami Beach

The hotel is located in a prime area of South Beach, between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. Jetsetters appreciate the Art Deco exterior details with contemporary interiors. The hotel has 90 rooms and black-and-white cabanas. A safari-themed lobby -- complete with African tribal masks -- welcomes guests into the intimate space. The hotel boasts a rooftop sundeck and hot tub and romantic, softly lit rooms. 

Highlights
  • Safari-themed boutique hotel with Art Deco exterior and modern decor
  • Free shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport
  • Private rooftop sundeck and hot tub
  • Happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Scooter, bike and skateboard rentals
Rooms

Dramatic lighting -- think candles and chandeliers -- create a sense of sultriness in the 90-room property. Rooms have doubles or kings. The Chesterfield Rooms take inspiration from nature, incorporating colors like green, eggplant and mahogany into the walls and bedding. The Chesterfield Penthouse looks like a South Beach bachelor pad decked out with a white leather sofa, king bed and matching wall units. Each room has a T-1 Internet connection, mini bar, safe and Mascioni linens and robes.

Features

 

The hotel is ideally situated for visitors wanting to be close to the South Beach action. However, its appeal goes beyond location. The property embodies the chic boutique experience, with its lounge (called, what else: Safari Bar?) and residential-style suites at sister and next-door property The Lily-Leon.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (3 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.0 mi/ 0.0 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.2 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jackie Gleason Theater (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1.1 mi/ 1.8 km)
Business
  • T-1 Internet connection
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. daily.
  • Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card," this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chesterfield Hotel and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites Rooms

Junior Suite
One king bed with down duvet and 300-thread-count Frette linens. Courtyard view. Floors 1-2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 250-300 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Deluxe Suite
Two queen beds or one double bed. Two sofa beds. Down comforters (bed spreads) and 300-thread-count Italian Frette linens. Balcony. Courtyard view. Floors 1 and 2 in building next to main hotel. Exterior-corridor access. 400 to 450 square feet. Green and purple hues, original 1929 wood trim, mahogany furnishings, white-on-white accents, crystal-and-silver chandelier. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Flat-screen plasma TV with premium channels. Daily newspaper. In-room safe. Minibar. Spa-style bathroom with designer spa toiletries. Hair dryer. Iron/Ironing Board.
Standard Room
One king bed or two double beds. Duvet and down comforter with Frette-brand linens of 300-thread-count cotton. 200 square feet. City view. Modern decor features mahogany furnishings, concrete, and aluminum accents. High-speed Internet access. CD player. Cable TV with premium channels. Complimentary daily newspaper. Minibar. In-room safe. Open free-flow raining shower with mirrored walls and cedar ceilings. Designer toiletries. Hairdryer. Iron and ironing board.
Family Room
2 Queen Beds and 1 (stacked) bunk bed. Max Occupancy 6.
Premium Room
450 square feet Max Occupancy: 5 adults

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Rooftop deck for 100 persons.

Dining

Safari Bar
This small, but cute, hotel bar features zebra print windows treatments, African masks scattered along the walls and lots of leopard print bar stools. The incredibly friendly staff encourages lounging.
Safari Grill
American cuisine open for lunch and dinner, room service available. Omelets made to order each morning from 8 AM to 10 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (275)

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Macabee2006
Business
Florida
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent hotel, excellent price!

We had a great time at the Chesterfield, and were very pleased with the quality of the hotel, especially for the price. The rooms were clean, modern, and not your typical hotel look. Great boutique hotel for a hotel chain price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 14, 2011

Is it Me?

"Ok" boutique hotel, Lobby needs facelift bigtime room was great and clean, nice bathroom but you can hear veryone outside talking, walking up the stairs, closing doors, etc... Great for beach, shopping and partying, good location. Staff was weak at best, bartender really sucked, was rude, disrespectful and slow. The "free drinks" for happy hour, aren't free! plus it's garbage liquor and you can only get Gin, Vodka or Rum, no wine, beer, scotch, etc. You pay a $15.00 Hotel "surcharge" which i was told was for the "free Drinks" Had to keep getting new room key, because it stopped working? Oh yeah, the phone system sucked, you cant call the front desk. $32 Bucks for valet parking, but that's typical for South Beach. If your looking for real upscale room and treatment go to the Delano, The Fountainbleu or the Tides. If your gona go just remember where you are... book online for best deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

SET Nightclub on Lincoln is Awesone on Sunday night. Great DJ if you like good House Music. The First DJ [...]? was great the second guy was to loud and "hard", first guy played good soulful stuff. $25 to get in but worth it for the atmosphere and FUNKTION ONE sound system. Great eye candy all over the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherbear
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 9, 2011

Perfect Location!

My friends and I visit South Beach almost every year, this place makes my top hotel list. If you want to be near all the popular nightclubs, restaurants, bars, beach and most importantly Ocean Drive then this is the place to stay. The decor of the standard room is very chic and has a huge back area which includes the couch,mini-fridge,and bathroom. The couch has an insert bed you can pull out if needed and the area includes curtains for privacy. The hotel lobby is nice to take pics and start your night by drinking at the bar, the outdoor area is very welcoming as well, definately the place to stay if you want be near all the fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Top nightclubs are a short walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Am I missing something?
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 8, 2011

This hotel was a fleabag sold as "hip"

Where to begin with this dump? I was supposed to stay at the Chesterfield Hotel, but when I arrived I was informed my reservation had been moved to their sister hotel the Whitelaw. Great, so I walk all my luggage down the street and check in at the Whitelaw (which took over twenty-five minutes - just one couple ahead of me). The room was clean but reeked of Fabreeze and the bed mattress was hard as concrete. I did have a lovely view of the PUMA shoe store, however. The bathroom mirror was seriously and dangerously chipped where you enter the shower (couldn't get warm water the first time I attempted to use it) and the sink was the size of a small dog dish. Another random observance was that all the electrical wall plates were missing?!? The one ice maker was in this decrepit basement and the door to the ice chest had rusted off one of its two hinges. The only plus was the complimentary bottom shelf happy hour, which I needed to help get to sleep since they blasted wall shaking, cheesy club music until well past two am each night I was there. I get that gaudiness is part of "the vibe" of south beach and if I weren't there on business, this would easily be one of the last places I would ever voluntarily choose to be, but for the price of stay, I would expect more than ostentatious decor and Popov vodka.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 23, 2010

Mediocre, and not a family place

For a family trip icluding a young couple with a baby and our parents and teenage brother, the hotel was a rather depressing place to stay. We had two rooms (when we arrived to check in, for some reason they only had one room reserved for us, but then added another adjacent room, no problem there). Both were on the first floor, very dark, barely any air or daylight coming through windows if you opened them. The photos of some brightly colored rooms were misleading - we had two very dark, quite depressing rooms. The combination of black, dark-cherry, and metallic colors (with white sheets, though) plus mirrors all around, was not for us. Maybe we just didn't get the "art" of the decor. Furniture, floor, sink and faucet, the door, the window, the blinds, the lighting, even some of their prided mirrors - everything was old, shaky, cheap, and poorly finished. One of the rooms (the one we and our baby took, to give the fresher room to our parents), had very stuffy, sweaty air which the AC could not fix over the 2+ days of our stay. A "clean" bath towel had someone's long hair tucked in it - not something I can accept even at my own home. The laminated squeaky floor was sticky (i.e. dirty) to feet, so I had to be wearing shoes all the time. The hallway was very dark, didn't look clean, and had a strong incense; a bit over-perfumed with non-conventional smell. Plus, cuz' the small lobby area down the hallway doubles as the bar, the noise was very audible - one night, very loud bar noise didn't cease until 4am. The staff of the hotel were alright, quite friendly, but of course we didn't ask for anything special from them either. We didn't ask to be moved to other rooms - taught from past experience that such moves rarely end up in much improvement, plus being in adjacent rooms was preferred. The location was pretty good. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach, lots of restaurants right behind the hotel, lots of shops around. Liked to go to the coffee and croissant place around the corner for breakfast and after lunch. The free airport shuttle service was good, we took it upon arrival (but had to take taxi on return, cuz the shuttle's timing didn't match). The much advertized free cocktails between 7-8: well, I guess anything is good for free, but it was a rather spartanic cocktail of a little vodka with any juice and ice. I had one, thank you. I don't know whether all of the above was just a normal Art Deco experience, but overall it was underwhelming in any case. I chose the place because of its location, the price, and some okey pictures and comments. Would I go there again - unless I am just with my wife and tight on budget (and become a goth:) - most probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 23, 2010

Nice hotel

Nice little hotel A bit small but it was confortable and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGT
Business
Atlata, GA
Dec 16, 2010

Great Location and Value at cheap price

It was pretty huge room with wirl pool.. Awesome people and location... I love here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mosoleg
Business
new york
Dec 6, 2010

Lie

Lie. upon arrival we were placed in another hotel under a different name with the worst conditions. not internet and WIFI (21 century!!!!) staff of stealing personal items/ and noisy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 20, 2010

All right for one night

My friends and I booked this hotel because of its proximity to South Beach. The location is excellent - it's probably the best feature of the hotel. However, it lacked in many areas to be the comfortable, beachy place we thought it was. The phones in the rooms don't work, so the front desk can't be contacted - you have to either go to the lobby or call from your cell phone. If you call from your cell, your call may not be answered because the lobby is a club at night, so there is really loud music and the clerks can't hear the phone (they can barely hear you when you talk to them in person). The rooms were very small, tight, and dark. Not convenient for girls needing a decent light/mirror to use when putting make up on. The beds were comfortable though. Parking is inconvenient because there isn't any - you have to use a valet service that takes 15-20 minutes to bring your vehicle to you, so if not having access to your car whenever you need is an inconvenience, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tegroeg
Business
Orlando Florida
Nov 8, 2010

Chesterfield Hotel

I reserved a Junior Suite for three nights. The first night I was given a room that was 9'x10' with a king bed one chair and a 20inch TV. The bathroom was off to the side and was 2.5'x4'. The next morning I opened the Chesterfield web site and called up the picture of the junior suite that was instrumental in making me reserve the suite. Couldn't believe it. The clerk told me that all the rooms were different. I showed him the picture of the room that I reserved and paid for and now want. This was in the Morning, They had the room for me at 2:45 in the afternoon. There was a room like that. The first Suite was room 515, this was a sub regular room. The next room, 521 was the suite. I will be more careful in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staff was courteous but to the end said that room 515 is a suite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top