$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

3 stars
View map of 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aapdesai
Stamford, CT
Dec 26, 2012

Very Good

It was way better than i expected it to be. Room size, bed, bath, cleanliness, etc everything was luxury and that too at prime location. Very short walk to Miami South beach and ocean drive restaurants. Excellent hotel. I was there for only 1 night. Wish it was more. Definitely recommend to others. Only problem is car parking. If possible avoid taking your own car there. You have public transport available on Washington street (very short walk) or you can take cabs. Hotel provides shuttle to Miami airport. Thumbs Up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny Leo
Business
Guatemala
Dec 24, 2012

Not exacly what it promises

Take note, the hotel charges a MANDATORY $15 for amenities posted as free on Or...tz. Needs more care in cleanliness, window faces onto back alleyway and trucks make a terrific noise early am. Great location & interesting decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
First timer South Beach
Business
Dallas, Texas
Dec 17, 2012

Could use some overall Improvement

Free shuttle and other amenities? If you don't count the mandatory extra $15 per day charge for Beach Towels, free drink between 7-8pm, and a few other things that I don't recall. It's a small boutique hotel, that could use a little touch up, but my price including the extra charges for the free stuff was about $400 per person including airfare from Dallas for a 3 day 2 night weekend stay. Room: Hotel staff was ok or average at best, The room was fine,a little noisy due to courtyard right outside. I did not like the setup for room snacks and bar. I would suggest you do inventory immediately on arrival to avoid any extra charges. We were charged for a $3.50 bottle of water on our second day, I saw the receipt left on top of refrigerator on our return to room that evening and went to front desk, the did remove it without any problem. They upgraded our room on arrival to a single king bed, in the building next door to the main hotel for no extra charge. Also the elevator was not working in main hotel, and there is no elevator in the suites building. There was a little mold in the shower. Housekeeping did not clean room, so I guess be sure to leave the Dirty Room door hanger out, but they did enter to count snacks and bar usage that day while we where out. Location: Was great if you are looking for somewhere a 500 feet from the beach. Amenities: No microwave in room, or in the hotel. Ice machine was located downstairs in the main hotel building. Would I stay Again?: Maybe, but not my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food offers being hard sold on the stroll down South Beach where a little pricey, 2 people can easily spend $100 with a alcoholic drink and meal, but about what I expected for a tourist spot. I suggest walking a block to Washington ave and eating if you want a better price value, and standard fastfood like Burger King.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tominus
Business
savannnah
Dec 15, 2012

not bad in this price

hotel is near the south beach but u can't see ocean in ur room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enyce01
Business
New York
Oct 23, 2012

Horrible stay

Do yourself a favor and dont waste your time and money at this hotel. Most of the staff is very rude, especially the bartender with the dark hair. Rooms are small and not very clean. The mini bar in the rooms are tempting and is solely their to rip you off so stay away from it. The best thing about this hotel is its location, thats about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smiley Elizabeth
Business
New Jersey
Oct 18, 2012

Had a GREAT time!

Miami is my go to spot for a quick getaway. I have been there about 8xs, but this is my first stay at the Chesterfield. After reading the reviews, I was not sure what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised. The location is perfect! Far enough away from all the hustle and bustle to be able to get rest but close enough that you're at the beach, Mangos, Wet Willie's in under 10minutes. My stay started with an upgrade into a Junior Suite. The room was clean, spacious, and quiet. Staff was great, especially Marcial, Tavaris, and Daniel! Will definitely stay again! As a matter of fact, I'm booking a stay now :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phi1ip H
Business
DC
Oct 16, 2012

Hidden Costs

Lobby was well decorated with a nice front terrace facing the street with tables. Upon check-in we were upgraded at no cost to a king suite which a pleasant surprise. After a somewhat exhausting climb up a narrow outside stairway we entered our lovely and very well decorated upscale room with stone flooring and clear glass sink in the bath. There were wine glasses and opener, stereo (which guests in other rooms enjoyed until the wee hours of the morning) and flat screen TV with poor reception. The bath was gorgeous, but the toilet while looking very trendy was painful to operate with a button on the side of the tank next to wall that was difficult to press and had to be held in for several sseconds until it flushed. The air conditioning system was nice forced air with vents rather than the window units found in many hotels, however the thermostat wasn't functioning properly and no matter what temperature we set it at, the compressor would never stop, allowing the room to become quite chilly inspite of the warm South Beach climate. The only control we had was to shut it off when it got too cold which became a problem at night after falling asleep in a comfortable room with the system shut off, since we woke up a few hours later sweating profusely and in need of another shower. Over all though the hotel has a trendy upscale vibe and attracts a hip younger crowd. Free watered down drinks are provided from 7 to 8 pm in the lobby area which can be enjoyed at tables on the front terrace, don't try to get a another drink at 8:01 pm because you will be flatly denied regardless of how well you tipped the cute blonde eastern european bar tender up to that point. There's also free high speed wifi available throughout the hotel and in the rooms, did I say free? Well, management likes to tout it as free, but then charges a $15 fee (16.95 after taxes) every day of your stay payable directly to the hotel upon checkout. This is in addition to the daily rate paid through the online booking service. I did see that when booking the room but didn't realize it was a daily charge and upon further contemplation, it occurs to me that since there is no way to opt out and not use the bar service or wifi this is really just a way to confuse guests and make their daily rate look better when comparing with other hotels. You will also need to pay for parking, the most reasonable rate we found was at the public garage a couple blocks away for $1/hr or $20/day. So be prepared for the hidden fees and be sure to calculate them when comparing rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very quaint french restaurant called the 'Otentic' a few blocks away. It's a very small restaurant but the food is amazing, especially the escargot. And you will fall in love with the little black dog wandering around with his tongue hanging out. The chef is a very nice, friendly and enthusiastic fellow who shops daily for fresh ingredients so the Sunday we were there, we were unable to enjoy crepes, but he mentioned they are usually available every other day of the week. The only restroom available is a disgusting public restroom next door, so be prepared and don't let that detract from the excellent quisine at this charming restaurant.

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wannabea
Business
Conyers, GA
Oct 5, 2012

Chesterfield

This is a great hotel if you want to hit up the beach or go clubbing. If you're more into seeing the sights and being on the go in a car, then this hotel is probably not for you. There is no wireless in the room but you can get signal outside. Valet parking is $32 a night so staying here w/o a car is probably preferable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Sep 20, 2012

Good for a couple and small family

Excellent and very helpful employees. Near Ocean Drive and Washington. You can walk and get to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miss DC
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 20, 2012

Never again!!

The hotel rooms were VERY small. The bathroom was so small ,that only one person could fit in there at a time. There was a huge leak in the bathroom ceiling. The staff took care of the problem right away. The hallways were very loud at night with drunk guest laughing and arguing. There were hotel guest prank calling the rooms at 4am. I think charging a resort fee every day was too much, on top of the $100 deposit. We ordered breakfast and they charged us $30 for 4 microwaveable pancakes and sausage. This hotel would not be good for anyone over the age of 25. The best thing about the hotel is the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chesterfield Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missy Walker
Business
Singer Island, FL
Sep 16, 2012

Great hotel in South Beach

The service was great from the time we walked in, to the time we checked out. Nice upgrade to a suite from Pedro.....and Raul was very professional - nice customer service. The room and bathroom was beautiful. A little noise from the street, but not that bad.......ceiling fans in the rooms would have been nice. Good audio/visual systems........fridge a plus. Also, huge ice-maker downstairs. Will definitely be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

News Cafe - always open, always good food!!!

Back to menu Return to top