$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
179 reviews
Nice place

4 of us shared one room. It was very clean and comfortable. The front desk and bar staff was VERY... See full review

  • JessMcLaugh
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great location

Enjoyed the complimentary hour drinks, and the location was in the middle of all the main shops and... See full review

  • Steph71409
  • Apr 7, 2014
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7803 -80.1333
Area served
South Beach District
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 179
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gunz
Spring Valley, NY
Jul 2, 2013

Cool place

Staff very courteous and helpful.. Hotel needs parking space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NuYrka08
New York, NY
May 14, 2013

No Shuttle...

We stayed at the Chelsea from May 10-13. The final day we were scheduled to take the shuttle at 1p. We checked out at 11:30 and went off to get something to eat. at 12:07 I happened to look at my phone and I see there was a miss call from the hotel. I called back and they said that I missed my shuttle. I said that's not right we are taking the one at 1p. I rush back to the hotel and she says there's nothing that they can do that I have to pay for a cab ($33) because the 1p shuttle broke down and they can't accommodate us to get the airport. I said what about the resort fees I paid that include shuttle service. She said it didn't. I said that's not what I read!! She was so rude and just basically told us to figure out how to get to the airport on our own. I was so upset! Their level of customer service is non existent. That was the one lady at the desk on Monday the one that was there on Saturday night you could find her outside drinking and smoking hookah with hotel guest in the outside patio. Honestly, it's not worth staying here. It was actually my 2nd time (the first time I didn't have these issues) but they will never see me again. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make it over to La Sandwicherie on 14th and Cafe Charlotte between 14th/15th. Both awesome food and the Cafe has a great breakfast special for $4.99.

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firebayer
Nyack, New York, Vereinigte Staaten
Feb 3, 2013

Nice!

Small quite hotel close to ocean drive. Free cocktails from 7 -8 p.m.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DDemon
Washington, DC
Nov 16, 2012

A great Birthday trip

The location is GREAT! The staff is very friendly and the room was perfect for a beach getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marcusnyc
brooklyn
Sep 25, 2012

..

Live DJ & happy hour, great place to pre-game. They host a party there on saturday I think starts at 8 and end just before midnight. this place is great to pre-game before you hit a club or lounge. only a couple blocks from ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gmoney1966
Charlottesville, VA, USA
May 18, 2012

Bargain!!!

Just what I needed!! Will stay there again!! Do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Free happy hour and on the public transit route to downtown.

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sully2
coventry ct
Feb 4, 2012

boutique means teeny tiny room

in heart of south beach -- small hotel but nice bar/front of hotel viewing area -- be careful of wooden platform around bed as it is a shin killer -- free happy hour 7-8 each night but you do pay a $15 nightly surcharge -- close to Lincoln and Espanola outdoor malls with dining extravaganza -- watch out for 2 for 1 on Ocean blvd ($16-19 beers) and tips included in your bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln mall -- Paul bakery and Ballans for bfast -- Nexxt for wide variety and good happy hour; Bella Cuba on Washington for cuban food

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KateN
Boston MA
Jan 23, 2012

Not great for groups

The most notable feature about this hotel is that the shower is not enclosed from the rest of the bathroom. You are basically showering in the same space as the sink and the toilet. I didn't mind this at first because I was staying in the room solo, and privacy was not an issue. But after actually showering, the entire bathroom was wet - the toilet, the sink, and the floor. I had to put towels down on the floor so that even an hour later, I could walk in the bathroom. I thought it was kind of gross - I can't imagine how any party more than 1 person would not hate this. Front desk people are nice but slow. I do give them credit for calling me to inform me that the shuttle schedule had changed - a nice personal touch showing that they care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Peruvian restaurant close by (Pollo something?)

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VUVUC
Aruba
Sep 16, 2011

Chelsea has really nice rooms

Very nice rooms, nice staff and a no-nonsense atmosphere. The free drinks between 7 and 8 may outweigh the obligatory extra daily fee of 15 USD you have to pay in addition to the Hotel Room fee, i.e. when you manage to get there on time. Don't forget to pay the bargirl an extra tip for each 'free'drink, as she seems to depend on that completely...strange world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
May 23, 2011

Miamitsw11

The Hotel is ok for what we paid. Two great things about the hotel is happy hour and the airport shuttle because the cab fare from Mia airport to south beach can cost between 32 to 40 dollars. I didnt like that the hotel had no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top