$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
164 reviews
Great Trip

This hotel was close to everything and the staff were very helpful! See full review

  • Jraz
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great Small Hotel

If you want to stay away from the noise and crowds of Ocean Drive this is the hotel for you.... See full review

  • Jazzyblues
  • Jan 17, 2015
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 164
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Devon D.
Business
Springfield
Jan 5, 2015

Chelsea Miami Beach

The hotel was good for the length of our stay- about 4 nights. The room was clean, but very small. I would say this is a good value for a budget traveler (couple or small group of friends). A few things to be aware of: there are very few plugs and they are awkwardly placed, & not every room has a full length mirror. I enjoyed the location. The beach was about two blocks away and there were several shops and restaurants in walking distance. We had some trouble with the shuttle (airport to hotel), but all in all I'm glad that it was provided because that is one less expense to have. Parking is hard to come by in Miami Beach and I'm glad we didn't have to deal with that hassle. I enjoyed my stay at the Chelsea and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan to go to bars/clubs, check out close they are before purchasing promoters' packages. Several club promotors tried to sell us packages that included transportation but we declined because all the clubs were within a three-block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T. Tittie
Business
Virginia
Sep 30, 2014

Pretty Decent

The location was great. Not as noisey as some reviews claim it to be. It did not have a microwave nor fridge for personal use but overall was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marls super G
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Sep 10, 2014

Fun place

Went to this place for bachelorette getaway weekend and it was overall ok. The hotel is cute and clean. The staff were helpful. Free drinks during happy hour was a plus and the location was optimal - only two or three blocks from beach. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Candis G
Business
Manhattan, New York
Sep 3, 2014

Great location!

This hotel was only a few blocks from ocean ave. the hotel room was okay, just wished it was a little bigger. Pros: location! Bar; free drinks from 7-8 Free bus shuttle from and to airport Cons: -Slightly discriminative. I was told by a staff that they aren't allowed to play hip hop music ( to some this may be a good thing, but I personally think that all kinds of music should be played without excluding hip hop music) -maid service was horrible. Did a horrible job at cleaning the room. -small space -no pool -no wifi connection in my room - found a lizard on my bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyip
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 26, 2014

Small but oh so cute

The pictures shown doesn't do this hotel any justice... It's cute and comfortable. My favorite part of the room was the open showers. The hotel is located two blocks away from the beach and all the fun things to do in Miami. I plan on returning to Miami next year and this hotel is on the top of the list to stay at

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't fall for the happy hour tricks on south beach we needed up paying $70 for a drink separately

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JessMcLaugh
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 23, 2014

Great place!

From the front desk staff to the bartenders, everyone was so nice! Also, the room was nice, cool, and comfortable. We had four people and enough room for it to work for the night. Great deal for S. Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Rodriguez
Business
New York
Aug 9, 2014

Girls Trip

This is my second time staying at this hotel- definitely a good hotel for the price. Location is convenient as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vita G
Business
Capitol heights md
Jul 28, 2014

My birthday week

When my friend and I arrived really had no clue what to expect. But the staff was friendly the bartenders were amazing. My room was much more comfortable than the first hotel we were at. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos on ocean dr. I had a blast on both floors. Had to take my shoes off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheli525
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2014

Good location average hotel

This hotel is a pretty good deal for South beach. Location is great, close to restaurants, shopping, clubs and beach. The hotel room itself was just OK. Beds were comfy and large. Fluffy pillows and blankets. Not much storage which is a big problem. No drawers, just a small closet. It was a bit of a problem with 4 females in the room. The floors are wood and they didn't clean them well. It didn't seem like they ever mopped it so had to walk around with flip flops or else my feet would be really gross, eww. Not what I expect from any hotel. They bathroom was just ok. The shower didn't have a door, just half a glass wall which means water went everywhere and made a big mess. I felt the sink was too low and had the same problem there. Plenty of mirrors which was a plus. Lighting was dim, had difficulty putting on makeup since it was pretty dark without sunlight. They have a free happy hour every day which was great. Although they offer a free airport shuttle we were never able to use this service. Big problem. When we arrived in Miami the shuttle never came. (It was supposed to come every hour on the hour). When we finally called the hotel they said one shuttle broke down and was coming every 2 hours. Who wants to wait that long to get to their hotel?! We took a cab. On our last day we made a reservation the night before to have the shuttle take us back to the airport. That morning when we checked out they informed us that we were in fact NOT on the schedule to get picked up and the shuttle was completely booked... This is horrible customer service. We had made a reservation, and they even called us back to confirm. In my opinion don't rely on this "free airport shuttle". We had to take a cab again ($33). Despite all this I do still feel like this hotel is a good deal. Reasonably priced, mostly clean (no cockroaches which is a big plus in Miami), comfortable beds, free happy hour, great location. I would stay here again only if I was on a right budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azndream85
Business
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2014

Average hotel, great location

Pros: - Convenient location; 2 blocks from the beach and from Clevelander; there is a 7-11 a block away - Overall the room was clean - Daily happy hour from 7-8pm at the hotel lobby bar (unlimited free drinks) Cons: - Check-in took a long time; there's only one person working the front desk all day - Shower did not have a fully enclosed door so water leaked all over the floor every time someone took a shower - The fuse went out a few times in our room (first time this has happened in a hotel I've stayed in)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Clevelander - this place has great music and in a very relaxing atmostphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top