$128 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
157 reviews
Birthday getaway

It was very clean and the staff was very plesent will staff there again soon!!! See full review

  • Deaishot
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great Location, Great staff

This was my first time staying at Chelsea as well as my first time in Miami. My overall experience... See full review

  • DC Fed Single Guy
  • Oct 18, 2014
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 157
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hatim
Business
Kentucky
Aug 2, 2014

Vacation

Great time, very friendly and very clean. Also very close to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Muscle Dad
Business
Fontana, CA
Jul 28, 2014

Awesome Family Summer Vacation!!

My girlfriend and I decided to take our kids to South Beach, FL for this years summer vacation. Our family consist of two adults, a teenager and a 9yr old child. I have to say when we arrived to our hotel it had nice music, friendly staff. We checked in without a problem. Had to pay some resort fee that was not included in our booking. But we did expect it. Our room was in the second floor Room 209, it was a double bed with a flat screen tv, stereo system, small filled fridge for you to buy drinks etc. The room was very small but clean. A/C worked great small shower and closet. Although the room was small we made it work but the Location was EXCELLENT. Location definitely made up for the room size. Convenient located next to a bank, convenient store, liquor store, pizzeria, two short blocks from Ocean Blvd., which is the main strip where the BEACH and all the RESTAURANTS and NIGHT LIFE are located. I try to be as detailed as possible to help anyone with their booking. Because a review like this helped me!! Oh, Happy Hour every night from 7-8pm was totally free and the free Shuttle to and from Miami airport made our experience more enjoyable. Our entire family enjoyed our stay and vacation!! Thank You Hotel Staff and Bartenders for a Great Stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The complete Ocean Blvd Strip is just a short two blocks away!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazzyblues
Business
New York
Jun 22, 2014

Great small hotel!

The hotel was perfect for my needs. I booked a room for 1 night after a cruise. It was perfect. Beautiful room but small. There were 4 of us, so moving around was a bit cramped. Room is better for 2. The hotel is a short 2 blocks from the action on Ocean Drive. This was perfect as I was able to walk along Ocean Drive during the day and evening, but avoid the noise and crowds at bedtime. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SassyTredo
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 22, 2014

terrible

booked this hotel and within the hour the weather was no drive-able from orlando to miami. There was a tornado and hurricane alert watch on the news to prove so. We also had delayed flights to prove that as well. We called right away and there was no manager available until the following day which doesn't make any sense. I would hope and think a manager needs to be readily available to handle any issues at any time. They refused to credit us another night or refund the money. Also they did not answer the hotel number several times which is very unprofessional. This website also did not help our dilemna by refunding or crediting us to another night at a later time. Very unprofessional and terrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather Wanderlust
Business
Greensboro, NC
Apr 24, 2014

A little gem in South Beach

We really enjoyed our stay at this art deco hotel in South Beach. We arrived early and decided to leave our luggage at the front desk while we scoped out the area. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the public beach, and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars around. During the day, it was a bit noisy. It sounded like someone was moving furniture upstairs as there was a consistent dragging sound coming from above us. There was loud music playing down the hall. But that all stopped around 7-8 PM and we enjoyed quiet through the night and into the next morning. Happy hour, free cocktails from 7-8, was a nice treat and a fun way to start the night. We found the staff to all be nice and courteous. This place had a great front patio atmosphere. Large overstuffed lounges, hookah, large umbrellas to shade. It was a really wonderful place. OH, and we loved the shampoo and conditioner provided. That point's always a gamble for us women, and why we hate to leave home without our own, but the Chelsea Hotel's shower and bath products were fantastic. Would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Bakery up a block (1043 Washington Ave) is phenomenal! Don't miss it for breakfast. Best cappuccino and croissant I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
That Cool Guy
Business
Upstate New York
Dec 30, 2013

Great Location (Club, Women, Beach & Food)

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days which made my experience in Miami amazing. This hotel had open bar, and on a Friday night limos was picking customers up for a good price from the hotel, I felt like a baller. The hotel lobby was the best pre game before the club oh my gosh so amazing once again free open bar. The staff was so nice cleaning my room every morning from a wild night and they provide me and my guess with beach towels every afternoon . Chelsea hotel I will be back next year :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timdog38
Business
news York
Oct 23, 2013

great night stay

The room was great it was comfortable I had no issues I would stay again in a heartbeat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anagbohorquez
Business
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Jan 11, 2012

Chelsea Hotel

Overall it wasn't a bad hotel, but I still think that you can find a better one, I do loved the hotel decoration although I wouldn't stay one more time there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2011

Chelsea

Had a great time in Miami and the Chelsea hotel is located in the heart of it all. Unfortunately, on the first day there were unexpected daily fees that didn't offer complementary continental breakfast or any special amenities. Our room was cute but the days after it seemed like only our bed was made up and nothing else was cleaned in the room. Every day we had to request either towels to toilet paper- which are the essentials. The happy hour served watered down drinks. The only relic I got to take was the South beach carring bag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yogi
Business
wisconsin
Feb 26, 2011

iN THE MIDDLE OF THE ACTION!

We booked the Chelsea because we wanted to see South beach! The next day we were leaving for a cruise. We will definitely go back. The service was excellent. Every thing was within walking distance. It was like the boutique hotels in europe. Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top