$198 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
View map of 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Great for 21st Birthday

Loved it. Especially the complimentary happy hour! See full review

  • MMB2
  • Feb 25, 2015
Great Trip

This hotel was close to everything and the staff were very helpful! See full review

  • Jraz
  • Jan 21, 2015
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
no good
Business
NY city
Jan 7, 2010

no good

no good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiffaney
Business
Wilm, Wilmington, NC 28401, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Don't believe what they say!

I paid for a king size bed and a smoking room. We were quite surprised when we entered our room and found one double bed. My boyfriend is 6'3....his feet dangled off the end. When we called the front desk she insisted that it was indeed a king sized and told us they don't even have smoking rooms. She was nice enough to offer us a room with 2 of the same bed, but said they could not be pushed together. There was no knob on the inside of the bathroom door. There were extension cords dangling from the wall which you better not touch because if you do, you will hear a sizzling sound and the TV will never work the same. There was also some mystery substance splattered on the wall next to the bed. The staff was very awkward also. They would ask if you needed anything and just stand there even if you said you were fine, like they were just hanging out with you. And to top it all off, I'm pretty positive the bartender was trying to hit on my boyfriend right in front of me haha! That was right before she charged me $13 for a Captain and coke! Luckily we only had to stay there one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kinna
Business
Nyc
Jan 28, 2013

Horrible

Do not stay here ! Checked in and first thing I saw was a big cockroach ! Front desk girl was rude and glared at me the whole eight days I stayed there . Loud music you cannot get away from roaches in the room and they try to charge you 40 extra a night for 2 people instead of one . Don't do it stayed in many hotels in the past in south beach this by far was the worst !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MinaMousa
Business
hawaii
Apr 18, 2013

Don't do it

They have no idea what customer service mean. Don't bother find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NuYrka08
Business
New York, NY
May 14, 2013

No Shuttle...

We stayed at the Chelsea from May 10-13. The final day we were scheduled to take the shuttle at 1p. We checked out at 11:30 and went off to get something to eat. at 12:07 I happened to look at my phone and I see there was a miss call from the hotel. I called back and they said that I missed my shuttle. I said that's not right we are taking the one at 1p. I rush back to the hotel and she says there's nothing that they can do that I have to pay for a cab ($33) because the 1p shuttle broke down and they can't accommodate us to get the airport. I said what about the resort fees I paid that include shuttle service. She said it didn't. I said that's not what I read!! She was so rude and just basically told us to figure out how to get to the airport on our own. I was so upset! Their level of customer service is non existent. That was the one lady at the desk on Monday the one that was there on Saturday night you could find her outside drinking and smoking hookah with hotel guest in the outside patio. Honestly, it's not worth staying here. It was actually my 2nd time (the first time I didn't have these issues) but they will never see me again. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make it over to La Sandwicherie on 14th and Cafe Charlotte between 14th/15th. Both awesome food and the Cafe has a great breakfast special for $4.99.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SassyTredo
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 22, 2014

terrible

booked this hotel and within the hour the weather was no drive-able from orlando to miami. There was a tornado and hurricane alert watch on the news to prove so. We also had delayed flights to prove that as well. We called right away and there was no manager available until the following day which doesn't make any sense. I would hope and think a manager needs to be readily available to handle any issues at any time. They refused to credit us another night or refund the money. Also they did not answer the hotel number several times which is very unprofessional. This website also did not help our dilemna by refunding or crediting us to another night at a later time. Very unprofessional and terrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel lover1986
Business
Atlanta
May 27, 2014

No comfort

Very very small rooms, no pool or fitness center or microvave in the room. They pack the little fridge with so much unneccesary stuff u have no room for your own stuff. Called for towels and wash clothes multiple times. They didnt replenish soaps. No real comforter for beds.... REALLY cramped space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Feb 1, 2010

Small, Smelly and Misrepresented hotel

[...] It was a small, smelly, poorly run hotel. The elevators and lobby smelled musty. We had to call for hot water in the shower and sink. We had to wait over 30 mins to get electricity in our room. The people were nice in the lobby and bar, but I would NEVER, EVER, EVER stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MARYLAND
May 27, 2010

Never Again!!!!!!

The check in process want well. The stayed was scheduled for 4 nights. The first night was okay, however the second night we realized that the air condition was broken and brought it to the attention of the hotel staff. We we moved to another room however shorty there after we realized that we had some unexpected vistors in the room...Termites!! Yes in the bed and in our bags. I immediatley want to the front and brought it to the attention of the staff, but was told that nothing could be done because there was no manager on duty on Sunday's..have you ever heard such!!!. We were told that we could use some additional blanket on the bed to cover up the bugs....UNBELIEVABLE..UNPROFESSIONAL! We demanded to be move to yet again another room but was told there were NONE available and we were left to go back to the room that didn't have any air..NO air in Miami!!!I was very dissatified with my stay and will NEVER recommend anyone to stay here. The only accommodation that we were offered was a debit of the $15 dollar a day fee which we told was $17 due to taxes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie the Student
Business
North Carolina
Mar 25, 2010

Don't believe the hype!!

My friends and I went to South Beach for Spring Break and all we really needed in a hotel was somewhere to shower and to sleep. The room are REALLY, REALLY small...like I really couldn't believe it......it was hard to even move around. The sink in the bathroom was dirty and had hair in it when we first arrived. The beds are just a cheap mattress on a platform made out of wood (NOT comfortable at all), ABSOLUTELY NO LIGHT in the rooms AT ALL. There are three lamps in the room, the lamp over the bed would flicker the entire time it was on, the floor lamp had this huge shade over it and wasn't bright at all and the other lamp is very, very small. The "free drinks" are a max of two and the drinks come in a super small cup and not even worth the walk to the bar and the wait for the bartender to fix it. The staff at the front desk seemed to ALWAYS have an attitude and when I first got there to check in I stood at the front desk for about 5 minutes while she finished a phone conversation and then had a conversation with this guy who worked there before I was even greeted. The pictures on the website make the hotel look a lot better than it really is. The location isn't that bad. Its a few blocks from ocean drive and its right down the street from some really good pizza places. I would NEVER, EVER stay at the Chelsea hotel again or suggest it to anyone else. Hated the entire time we spent in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in South Beach to relax and not spend a lot of money on food I would suggest NOT eating on Ocean Drive. Try walking towards Lincoln Road, there are a lot of cheaper restaurants that way without all the "South Beach hype" or check out the pizza places along Washington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top