$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
149 reviews
Small but oh so cute

The pictures shown doesn't do this hotel any justice... It's cute and comfortable. My favorite part... See full review

  • Tyip
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great place!

From the front desk staff to the bartenders, everyone was so nice! Also, the room was nice, cool,... See full review

  • JessMcLaugh
  • Aug 23, 2014
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7803 -80.1333
Area served
South Beach District
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babygurl79
bronx, ny
Oct 1, 2012

south beach

one of the best hotel i stayed since the years i've been going to south beach.....very clean...i do love the rooms exactly like the pics....staff are great....hookah $15...drinks special i do recommend this hotel is 2 blocks away from ocean drive....i will stay here again...love it love i...by the way no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marcusnyc
brooklyn
Sep 25, 2012

..

Live DJ & happy hour, great place to pre-game. They host a party there on saturday I think starts at 8 and end just before midnight. this place is great to pre-game before you hit a club or lounge. only a couple blocks from ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
METSFAN
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 5, 2012

Great lounge!!

We loved just chilling outside in the front of the hotel. The staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You can receive open bar, a limo ride and entry into a club for $30 through the club! We found out a little too late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
METSFAN
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 5, 2012

Perfect!

This hotel was very clean and in the perfect location. The staff was very friendly and the ambiance was very relaxing and peaceful. I love the outside lounging area as well as the lobby. The shuttle that comes with the hotel is awesome. I have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Apparently you can do a party package deal through the hotel - open bar, limo and entry to the club for $30 but we found out a little late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love Miami
Chicago, IL
Aug 4, 2012

My stay

I had a really good experience at this hotel. When we arrived we were upgraded to the mini suite for free and the people at the front desk were always helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm Beach County, Florida
Jul 18, 2012

Nice-ish...

The Good: Location. 2 1/2 blocks from Ocean Ave and the Beach. Lincoln Rd and Española Way are 9 and 6 blocks away receptively. People watching from the outdoor patio area will keep you entertained as all the colorful of people that traverse (or stumble) down Washington Ave pass by. Finally, The Automatic Ikea Room Generator ™ derived bedroom was cute and clean. The Bad: The front desk was unpleasant, bordering on rude. The l bar/lounge/check-in is small, cramped and grossly under air conditioned. The bathroom, although clean, was designed with out doors (chic) but the shower head was too close to the opening resulting in puddles in the bathroom floor (not chic). The WiFi is only available in the lobby is really REALLY slow. The really BAD: The hotel advertises a happy-hour between 7-8 where you can get free well drinks at the bar/lounge/check-in area. The 2 bar tenders where absolutely laughable at there obvious stretching of that happy hour and trying to give out as few drinks as possible in that 1 hour. It was really comedic. They would walk around and behave as though as they were really busy but there were only 4 guests trying to get some free drinks from the bar. I tipped, they even rang the big bell. Did I get better service. No. This is why that bar is empty at 8:02. If they gave better service I would've stayed there a little longer and bought my own drinks. Ridiculous. In conclusion, for the money it's a rather sweet deal. Nice building, clean and comfortalbe. However, with so many other hotels fighting for your business why go and stay somewhere with terrible customer service?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gmoney1966
Charlottesville, VA, USA
May 18, 2012

Bargain!!!

Just what I needed!! Will stay there again!! Do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Free happy hour and on the public transit route to downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bentley79
Atlanta
Apr 24, 2012

Great hotel with an accommodating staff

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised on how convenient it was to everything. We didnt have a car so needed something that was in walking distance of the beach and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was kept clean. The room itself was very nice, the bed and pillows were very comfortable also. Plus the bar inside the hotel does Happy Hour with FREE drinks from 7pm to 8pm every day! It included all well liquors, but still was a great way to start the night off. I will stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Off 14th and Washington there is a sandwhich shop called: La Sandwicherie which was awesome! Croissant/turkey/tomato/lettuce/french pickles and fresh mozzarella cheese, toasted or cold was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAllenG
Alexandria, VA, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Dark rooms, Noisy neighbors

The room was dark, the AC was blasting directly on the bed, and the neighbors came back at 3AM two nights in a row and shared their family disputes with the whole floor. And the "resort fees" were just another way to collect extra cash. No pool, no spa, we got towels for the beach and coupons for drinks that we could only use later than normal happy hour and then not for beer or wine or anything we wanted to drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abran
Milwaukee,WI
Mar 7, 2012

It was a great getaway/Famliy Getaway

It was a great place to stay at; staff very hospitable/freindly;shops,dining & clubs are within walking distence; don't need a car, free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All Clubs/Dining are just walking distance from the hotel, not too expensive if you stay away from the Beach resturants on Ocean Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top