$128 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
157 reviews
Birthday getaway

It was very clean and the staff was very plesent will staff there again soon!!! See full review

  • Deaishot
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great Location, Great staff

This was my first time staying at Chelsea as well as my first time in Miami. My overall experience... See full review

  • DC Fed Single Guy
  • Oct 18, 2014
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brania
Business
New York, NY
May 28, 2014

Comfortable & Convenient

I would like to start by saying that the Staff at this hotel is absolutely amazing! This is a boutique-styled hotel with free happy hour every day! The happy hour makes up for it not having a pool. Also, the location is PERFECT, just 2 blocks from south beach. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an awesome Cuban restaurant on Collins & 7th. A very short walk from the hotel with amazing prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel lover1986
Business
Atlanta
May 27, 2014

No comfort

Very very small rooms, no pool or fitness center or microvave in the room. They pack the little fridge with so much unneccesary stuff u have no room for your own stuff. Called for towels and wash clothes multiple times. They didnt replenish soaps. No real comforter for beds.... REALLY cramped space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SassyTredo
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 22, 2014

terrible

booked this hotel and within the hour the weather was no drive-able from orlando to miami. There was a tornado and hurricane alert watch on the news to prove so. We also had delayed flights to prove that as well. We called right away and there was no manager available until the following day which doesn't make any sense. I would hope and think a manager needs to be readily available to handle any issues at any time. They refused to credit us another night or refund the money. Also they did not answer the hotel number several times which is very unprofessional. This website also did not help our dilemna by refunding or crediting us to another night at a later time. Very unprofessional and terrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
freeasabird1913
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 29, 2014

Couple getawat

Good location, the music heard from the adiacent Astor Hotel is very loud during the day and night. Staff is friendly, but looks a little lazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather Wanderlust
Business
Greensboro, NC
Apr 24, 2014

A little gem in South Beach

We really enjoyed our stay at this art deco hotel in South Beach. We arrived early and decided to leave our luggage at the front desk while we scoped out the area. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the public beach, and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants and bars around. During the day, it was a bit noisy. It sounded like someone was moving furniture upstairs as there was a consistent dragging sound coming from above us. There was loud music playing down the hall. But that all stopped around 7-8 PM and we enjoyed quiet through the night and into the next morning. Happy hour, free cocktails from 7-8, was a nice treat and a fun way to start the night. We found the staff to all be nice and courteous. This place had a great front patio atmosphere. Large overstuffed lounges, hookah, large umbrellas to shade. It was a really wonderful place. OH, and we loved the shampoo and conditioner provided. That point's always a gamble for us women, and why we hate to leave home without our own, but the Chelsea Hotel's shower and bath products were fantastic. Would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Bakery up a block (1043 Washington Ave) is phenomenal! Don't miss it for breakfast. Best cappuccino and croissant I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melix
Business
Los Angeles ca
Apr 11, 2014

Cozy Hotel, nice location

It is such a cute hotel and so cozy.....walking distance to the beach and a lot of great restaurants. I loved their free shuttle to and from the airport. However, some of their staff were so lazy! When we asked for a menu she acted like we were interupting her or something. Anyway, the happy hour with free drinks from 7-8 is awesome except they need to liven the place up a bit with better music etc. The bar tender ETHAN was amazing, so friendly. The cleaning staff were also a bit lazy, when we requested the sheets to be changed, it was never done... or when we asked to have extra towels we didn't receive them. I would recommend this hotel if you go with an open mind and accept that they are a little too laid back. Also their prices should be lower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole Diver
Business
New York, NY
Apr 9, 2014

No complaints

The hotel was clean, nicely decorated with tasteful accents. The patio is spacious and nice, and the location is fine. The staff members we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. Good value in Miami!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Front Porch Cafe further up the strip offered a fresh, reasonable brunch. For the upscale experience, I love to get sushi or brunch at the Delano. Both are a long walk or short cab ride away. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach and they give you towels at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph71409
Business
Hialeah
Apr 7, 2014

Great location

Enjoyed the complimentary hour drinks, and the location was in the middle of all the main shops and bars of south beach :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nilda205
Business
North Miami Beach, FL
Mar 20, 2014

Pleaseantly Surprised!

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary on a Monday night. We booked a standard room and when we arrived the gentleman that checked us in upgraded our room because it was our anniversary at no charge. That was really nice of the hotel. The room was really nice, clean, modern and pretty. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noushie
Business
South beach, miami
Mar 13, 2014

Loved it

Perfect place to stay. Not too expensive but still top notch & right be the beach. This was my first time in south beach and I loved my hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensiveeee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top