$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
179 reviews
Nice place

4 of us shared one room. It was very clean and comfortable. The front desk and bar staff was VERY... See full review

  • JessMcLaugh
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great location

Enjoyed the complimentary hour drinks, and the location was in the middle of all the main shops and... See full review

  • Steph71409
  • Apr 7, 2014
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7803 -80.1333
Area served
South Beach District
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kentucky World Traveler
Lexington, KY
Jan 6, 2013

Great boutique hotel!

Very nicely decorated boutique hotel right in the middle of everything. Definitely recommend. The bartender was very chatty and helped us get a deal for an evening out starting with cocktail hour at one of their sister hotels and then a limo ride to an old Miami club. Had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nike4865
San Jose
Sep 6, 2013

Labor Day Weekend

The location of the hotel is great. Few blocks from all the clubs and close to Colin st where you can shop till you drop. The stuff are very helpful and friendly and helped order taxi and gave us free passes to the BEST club in South Beach - The Mansion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't purchase the VIP Pass for club in South Miami Beach. Their clubs are not worth paying the $25 they charge for VIP pass to "avoid" waiting in line. They published that the Mansion is in their list of nightclubs but in reality it was not included. not worth the money!!!

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JackieRich
Nj
Aug 2, 2013

6 day vaca

Overall I always make the best out if everything so I will get my money's worth. Staff- staff was not friendly at all I don't remember anyone's name. Cleaning people clean the rooms late everyday sometimes i come back to my room at 4 or 5 pm room is still a mess. Location- location was perfect not to fat from the beach it's very close to ocean drive and Collins, but far from Lincoln rd. Hotel- hotel room were small for three people. If its two people then your fine. Overall I enjoyed my stay I had to problem with the staff or any problems with my room. I would stay there again if I sat for 2 or 3 days, but not a full week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chicadelaisla242
Toronto, Canada
Jul 24, 2013

Great Location, ok services

We stayed the week after the 4th July in the USA. The hotel was very nicely designed and stylish, but the rooms were way tooo dark and didn't have much lighting. At nighttime it was almost like a dungeon. Also, the internet connection was very poor in the rooms and often you had to go in the lobby to acquire a decent signal. On the positive side, we were situated right in the heart of South Beach, which made getting to shops/clubs/restaurants really convenient. Also, there was a public parking lot on both sides of the corner, so we never had a problem finding parking. Overall, great if you just want somewhere to stay while you are just partying around the city, not so great if you actually want to have a relaxing time and enjoy the hotel amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gunz
Spring Valley, NY
Jul 2, 2013

Cool place

Staff very courteous and helpful.. Hotel needs parking space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disappointed102ATL
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jun 25, 2013

Location is Everything!

This hotel is in a great location. It is walking distance from the beach and other hot spots. Plus it is a part of the South Beach group, which have nice amenties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Ocean Drive most of the restaurants have great breakfast specials as low as $5.75.

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kycelo
new york
Jun 22, 2013

Desent vacation with my fiance

the stay at the Chelsea hotel was ok, i had an issue when we first got to the hotel and the concierge was dismissive and unhelpful. i had to insist to speak to the manager and try to fix the issue. there was a lady bartender that would up drinks by 4 dollars just to get gratuity. i didnt like that at all. especially when i would tip her well. didnt realize this until other bartennders tended other days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relaxing friends
boston, ma
Jun 20, 2013

Relaxing

Got there staff wasn't too friendly. Didnt get good direction or information about the area or how to travel or sightseeing events. They need to update their information on their rates and surcharge wasnt happy about that .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NuYrka08
New York, NY
May 14, 2013

No Shuttle...

We stayed at the Chelsea from May 10-13. The final day we were scheduled to take the shuttle at 1p. We checked out at 11:30 and went off to get something to eat. at 12:07 I happened to look at my phone and I see there was a miss call from the hotel. I called back and they said that I missed my shuttle. I said that's not right we are taking the one at 1p. I rush back to the hotel and she says there's nothing that they can do that I have to pay for a cab ($33) because the 1p shuttle broke down and they can't accommodate us to get the airport. I said what about the resort fees I paid that include shuttle service. She said it didn't. I said that's not what I read!! She was so rude and just basically told us to figure out how to get to the airport on our own. I was so upset! Their level of customer service is non existent. That was the one lady at the desk on Monday the one that was there on Saturday night you could find her outside drinking and smoking hookah with hotel guest in the outside patio. Honestly, it's not worth staying here. It was actually my 2nd time (the first time I didn't have these issues) but they will never see me again. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make it over to La Sandwicherie on 14th and Cafe Charlotte between 14th/15th. Both awesome food and the Cafe has a great breakfast special for $4.99.

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gosliga
Corona, CA
Apr 22, 2013

Perfect in every way!

This place is awesome. Ray the bar tender was outstanding. the area in front of the hotel is set up nicely if you like to just eat drink and people watch. The accommodations were excellent and the staff were great! Hated to go. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Gary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MinaMousa
hawaii
Apr 18, 2013

Don't do it

They have no idea what customer service mean. Don't bother find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top