$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
164 reviews
Great Trip

This hotel was close to everything and the staff were very helpful! See full review

  • Jraz
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great Small Hotel

If you want to stay away from the noise and crowds of Ocean Drive this is the hotel for you.... See full review

  • Jazzyblues
  • Jan 17, 2015
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LOU SARAT
BOCA RATON FL
Dec 21, 2012

GREAT PLACE GREAT STAFF

MY GIRLFRIEND AND I HAD A GREAT TIME THERE!! THE STAFF WAS AS GREAT! LEAVING IN FLORIDA THIS PLACE WILL BE ON LIST TO VISIT AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sheli525
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2014

Good location average hotel

This hotel is a pretty good deal for South beach. Location is great, close to restaurants, shopping, clubs and beach. The hotel room itself was just OK. Beds were comfy and large. Fluffy pillows and blankets. Not much storage which is a big problem. No drawers, just a small closet. It was a bit of a problem with 4 females in the room. The floors are wood and they didn't clean them well. It didn't seem like they ever mopped it so had to walk around with flip flops or else my feet would be really gross, eww. Not what I expect from any hotel. They bathroom was just ok. The shower didn't have a door, just half a glass wall which means water went everywhere and made a big mess. I felt the sink was too low and had the same problem there. Plenty of mirrors which was a plus. Lighting was dim, had difficulty putting on makeup since it was pretty dark without sunlight. They have a free happy hour every day which was great. Although they offer a free airport shuttle we were never able to use this service. Big problem. When we arrived in Miami the shuttle never came. (It was supposed to come every hour on the hour). When we finally called the hotel they said one shuttle broke down and was coming every 2 hours. Who wants to wait that long to get to their hotel?! We took a cab. On our last day we made a reservation the night before to have the shuttle take us back to the airport. That morning when we checked out they informed us that we were in fact NOT on the schedule to get picked up and the shuttle was completely booked... This is horrible customer service. We had made a reservation, and they even called us back to confirm. In my opinion don't rely on this "free airport shuttle". We had to take a cab again ($33). Despite all this I do still feel like this hotel is a good deal. Reasonably priced, mostly clean (no cockroaches which is a big plus in Miami), comfortable beds, free happy hour, great location. I would stay here again only if I was on a right budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azndream85
Business
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2014

Average hotel, great location

Pros: - Convenient location; 2 blocks from the beach and from Clevelander; there is a 7-11 a block away - Overall the room was clean - Daily happy hour from 7-8pm at the hotel lobby bar (unlimited free drinks) Cons: - Check-in took a long time; there's only one person working the front desk all day - Shower did not have a fully enclosed door so water leaked all over the floor every time someone took a shower - The fuse went out a few times in our room (first time this has happened in a hotel I've stayed in)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Clevelander - this place has great music and in a very relaxing atmostphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaela
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 15, 2014

Place was good but watch your stuff.

The hotel was good. Great location. Beautiful decor inside. The bar offers a free happy hour. Not too far from the beach and bars. And it's overall a nice place. BUT watch your stuff because the staff will steal! I had $100 plus my credit card stolen and my friend had her card and money stolen as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turista44
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jul 14, 2014

Great location, great price

the hotel is very basic. Small but modern and comfy. Not many amenities offered but they do offer complimentary drinks at the bar from 7-8pm. Short walk from the beach and major hot spots. One big problem was that they do not provide tooth paste so make sure to pack your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own toothpaste! None provided

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie bB
Business
Princeton NJ
Jul 10, 2014

Boutique hotel close to hot spots

My husband and I stayed at Chelsea Hotel 4th of July weekend. Overall, we were very happy with our stay! They offer a free shuttle service to and from the hotel and Miami airport. The pickup was very prompt, and the driver was friendly. The hotel itself was charming, and quiet for the most part. There is a bar in the lobby that offers a happy hour with free and discounted drinks. The outdoor patio space is a nice place to sit and enjoy the weather as well. Location was awesome! Just 2 blocks from the beach, with plenty of restaurants and shops on the way. There was even a bus stop at the intersection nearby, for those who may need public transportation. Beach towels were provided at the front desk, and could exchange for fresh ones as much as needed! That saved tons of carryon space having read this from somebody's review before we left :) The Room was fairly spacious. Bed was comfortable. In room safe for valuables. The housekeeping came daily, but seemed to only really replace towels..not sheets or anything else. This didn't bother us too much, but might be worth sharing. The Chelsea was a great spot to stay for a long weekend, priced right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A Fish Called Avalon was a terrific spot to grab a fresh seafood dinner. Delicious food, and impeccable service! The best in South Beach. Right on Ocean Ave, just a short walk from Chelsea Hotel Also a side note :: The "Lochers" ( little locker cubbies available on the beach) only accept cards, no cash. So if you plan on doing any water activities and want to lock up your things, don't forget a card. Very reasonably priced, I believe $10 for a full day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desert Mike
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 4, 2014

Great location

A small hotel with cute small rooms. Enough to be comfortable but I wouldn't try packing a family of 4 in to thier rooms. This was ideal for my wife and I because of the amazing location and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JessMcLaugh
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 30, 2014

Nice place

4 of us shared one room. It was very clean and comfortable. The front desk and bar staff was VERY nice and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iku chan
Business
Sunnyvale, California
Jun 27, 2014

miami

The Chelsea is in good location and the stuff are were perfect, only one thing that was thiefness. Because we had a lot of coins in door pocket, about 10$ was dissapeared,that was bad sign at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jerrica
Business
Toledo, ohio
Jun 24, 2014

If your short on cash book here!

Missed our cruise so we didn't want to go all out on some fancy hotel. Checked out the internet and seen I could get this hotel for 10% off and it was close to the beach and the best price I could find. The room wasn't that bad I mean it came with a flat sceeen and a mini fridge so that was a plus. They have a restaurant and bar but I didn't try the food although the bartender told me it was cheap and very good. Cons: everytime I wanted hot water I had to play with the faucet by turning it off and on for several minutes. When I called maintenance for this issue they took forever and I had to keep calling only to be told that the water heater is old and il just have to keep turning it off and on. Another thing this isn't a hotel that will have things you may have forgotten to pack like toothbrush or comb but there are quite a few stores on this street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your a drinker I don't recommend buying alcohol at any restarant or club because Miami is very expensive. I would suggest buying at the liquor stores located around town way cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindy Vision
Business
Albuquerque, nm
Jun 23, 2014

Great beach getaway

Friendly lobby staff. Happy hour everyday from 7-8. Great location. No major complaints . Decent price .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevelander was 2 blocks from here . And probably one of the best outdoor clubs in miami. So much fun !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top