$77 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
View map of 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAllenG
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Dark rooms, Noisy neighbors

The room was dark, the AC was blasting directly on the bed, and the neighbors came back at 3AM two nights in a row and shared their family disputes with the whole floor. And the "resort fees" were just another way to collect extra cash. No pool, no spa, we got towels for the beach and coupons for drinks that we could only use later than normal happy hour and then not for beer or wine or anything we wanted to drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abran
Business
Milwaukee,WI
Mar 7, 2012

It was a great getaway/Famliy Getaway

It was a great place to stay at; staff very hospitable/freindly;shops,dining & clubs are within walking distence; don't need a car, free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All Clubs/Dining are just walking distance from the hotel, not too expensive if you stay away from the Beach resturants on Ocean Drive.

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lesbian couple
Business
Providence ,RI
Feb 27, 2012

It is all about the beach...

First, we were there to go to the beach, nap in the late afternoon and then eat a late dinner. The free pickup shuttle at the airport leaves every hour on the hour. Location is the best part of the hotel. The room was spotless, no bed bugs...we checked first thing. Noisy? It depended on the night and I presume what floor you were on. The walls are thin. We were on the first floor and could sleep. Bring earplugs and you will be ready to solve your own problem. It is South Beach after all. Speaking of which, five minute walk to the beach. Clean, clear blue water and warm sand. Prepare to pay at least $35 a day to rent two beach chairs and an umbrella. If you are going clubbing bring dress clothes. And seriously budget for alcohol. We stayed five nights. Would stay again if the deal was the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sully2
Business
coventry ct
Feb 4, 2012

boutique means teeny tiny room

in heart of south beach -- small hotel but nice bar/front of hotel viewing area -- be careful of wooden platform around bed as it is a shin killer -- free happy hour 7-8 each night but you do pay a $15 nightly surcharge -- close to Lincoln and Espanola outdoor malls with dining extravaganza -- watch out for 2 for 1 on Ocean blvd ($16-19 beers) and tips included in your bill

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln mall -- Paul bakery and Ballans for bfast -- Nexxt for wide variety and good happy hour; Bella Cuba on Washington for cuban food

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vic Nice
Business
New York City
Jan 24, 2012

Good time

I had an amazing time staying at this hotel. Nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KateN
Business
Boston MA
Jan 23, 2012

Not great for groups

The most notable feature about this hotel is that the shower is not enclosed from the rest of the bathroom. You are basically showering in the same space as the sink and the toilet. I didn't mind this at first because I was staying in the room solo, and privacy was not an issue. But after actually showering, the entire bathroom was wet - the toilet, the sink, and the floor. I had to put towels down on the floor so that even an hour later, I could walk in the bathroom. I thought it was kind of gross - I can't imagine how any party more than 1 person would not hate this. Front desk people are nice but slow. I do give them credit for calling me to inform me that the shuttle schedule had changed - a nice personal touch showing that they care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Peruvian restaurant close by (Pollo something?)

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anagbohorquez
Business
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Jan 11, 2012

Chelsea Hotel

Overall it wasn't a bad hotel, but I still think that you can find a better one, I do loved the hotel decoration although I wouldn't stay one more time there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kendall29
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Great for couples that want to have fun.

Its just 3 blocks away from the beach, there are many different places to eat most stay open all night so no matter what time you get hungry you can get some good food. There is a parking lot on the next block which saved me some money b/c valet was 30 a night and it could take up to 45 mins for them to get your car so I tried my luck with the meters and it ended up being cheaper cuz I wasnt parked there all day. But the hotel was great, staff was great. Only problem I really had was that the walls were pretty thin. And I wouldnt recommend families with kids coming because downstairs area is a bar/ lounge area all night. Overall we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley
Nov 28, 2011

Cool Hotel

We had a good time at this hotel, except that the housekeeping was not up to par, and only the bathroom and sheets were changed, no dusting, etc. Otherwise the happy was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for the drinks when it is happy hour 4-7 pm on the tourist traps!

Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiffaney
Business
Wilm, Wilmington, NC 28401, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Don't believe what they say!

I paid for a king size bed and a smoking room. We were quite surprised when we entered our room and found one double bed. My boyfriend is 6'3....his feet dangled off the end. When we called the front desk she insisted that it was indeed a king sized and told us they don't even have smoking rooms. She was nice enough to offer us a room with 2 of the same bed, but said they could not be pushed together. There was no knob on the inside of the bathroom door. There were extension cords dangling from the wall which you better not touch because if you do, you will hear a sizzling sound and the TV will never work the same. There was also some mystery substance splattered on the wall next to the bed. The staff was very awkward also. They would ask if you needed anything and just stand there even if you said you were fine, like they were just hanging out with you. And to top it all off, I'm pretty positive the bartender was trying to hit on my boyfriend right in front of me haha! That was right before she charged me $13 for a Captain and coke! Luckily we only had to stay there one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top