$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
148 reviews
Small but oh so cute

The pictures shown doesn't do this hotel any justice... It's cute and comfortable. My favorite part... See full review

  • Tyip
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great place!

From the front desk staff to the bartenders, everyone was so nice! Also, the room was nice, cool,... See full review

  • JessMcLaugh
  • Aug 23, 2014
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7803 -80.1333
Area served
South Beach District
Nearby airports
Miami and Fort Lauderdale
Area description
South Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerrica Benton
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 2, 2011

Cozy Hotel

Chelsea is located few blocks from the beach. Overall it's a clean and a cozy hotel. Rooms are a bit small, but the beds/pillows are very comfortable and make up for that. Front desk/bar staff were very nice and accomodating and arranged taxi service for us etc. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels provided. However, I travelled with a friend, and the only issue we had was when we asked for a room with 2 double beds, to our surprise they wanted to charge us $40 per night for this. Not very convenient, wouldn't have booked this hotel if that was stated before hand. Good for couples, not great for singles sharing a room together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining can be costly on Ocean Drive, definitely a tourist trap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Jul 26, 2011

Disgusting facility!

The staff was really kind but this hotel is disgusting. I couldn't wait to get up the following morning to leave. The hallways and rooms are dank, dark and have a damp odor. There were bugs in my shower. The parking was $30 per day. I was shocked. For $130 I could've stayed at a safe, clean well know hotel chain on the mainland. As a woman I did NOT feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
GA
Jul 26, 2011

Great Stay

Great Stay! Walking distance to beach,shopping,dining and clubbing. Art deco area.Free Happy Hour everyday at 7. nice decor..comfy bed..clean rooms..big tv, safes and iron in room. FREE shuttle to and from airport.Scooter and bike rentals walking distance from hotel. I didn't want to come home.lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2011

Chelsea

Had a great time in Miami and the Chelsea hotel is located in the heart of it all. Unfortunately, on the first day there were unexpected daily fees that didn't offer complementary continental breakfast or any special amenities. Our room was cute but the days after it seemed like only our bed was made up and nothing else was cleaned in the room. Every day we had to request either towels to toilet paper- which are the essentials. The happy hour served watered down drinks. The only relic I got to take was the South beach carring bag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Queens, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Worth it!

All in all no major complaints. The front desk staff was very helpful and accomodating. The hotel was decent. The decor is dark and a little dreary especially in the hallway, but the rooms were clean and served their purpose. This was a quick girls getaway, and my first time to Miami. I was there to relax and party as much as possible. In that respect, the hotel was perfect. The location was great! A short walk to everything- food, clubs and the beach, which is all I needed. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice tv and radio, but the closet is small, and so we didnt even bother unpacking. The major thing the room was missing was a long mirror, which is an easy fix, the hotel should consider. We stayed in room 310 so noise was not a problem at all. The free happy hour is cool, but of course it's bottom shelf liquor, but it's still a perk, as is the free airport shuttle, but it does stop running at midnight.You won't leave with the pampered feeling you get at a resort, but it's not a resort, so if your expectations are on track you won't be disappointed. Would stay there again, would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The majority of the clubs are on Washington and therefore walking distance. Just make sure to ask what type of music will be played on the nights you go out. You will be bombarded with flyers telling you this info so pay attention so that you're not disappointed. There's something for everyone. Most of the clubs are free for ladies before a certain time usually 12 or 1 am, so don't miss out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price"

This was my 6th time at South Beach and I know I will stay at The Chelsea again. The room was clean and the robes came in handy after a nice cool shower. The location was perfect!...just two blocks from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please eat at Lairo's....delicious cuban food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
rancho cucamonga. california
Jul 10, 2011

Good stay close to south beach

The hotel overall was great my only complaint would be that there was no full length mirrors and no ipod hookup, although they say they have one, they don't have any auxiliary cords for the ipods or anywhere to plug them into in the room. The room itself is really nice and so is the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashley jo
las vegas, nv
May 24, 2011

Fun Times! Nice staff!

Very nice staff, Rooms a bit tiny, Shower gets floor wet, Very cool decor, Bartenders work off tips, Cook loves to cook, Bring your own hair dryers, Close to beach and shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and Nightclubs very close! Even to walk in heels!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
May 23, 2011

Miamitsw11

The Hotel is ok for what we paid. Two great things about the hotel is happy hour and the airport shuttle because the cab fare from Mia airport to south beach can cost between 32 to 40 dollars. I didnt like that the hotel had no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 19, 2011

good location

The hotel was small, and there was no wifi unless you had a room close to the lobby, which I requested. The hotel staff is nice, and I did enjoy my stay. The hotel is located in a good spot. It is right next to the beaches, clubs and shopping centers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Every thing is in walking distance and parking is very expensive all over South Beach. Unless you are planning to leave South Beach on your vacation a car is not needed. Parking meters charge you more than a dollar an hour 9am to 3am every day even holidays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search