$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Chelsea Hotel

3 stars
View map of 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
182 reviews
Great Value

This hotel was conveniently located near the beach, and inexpensive places to eat. The staff was... See full review

  • Kyiana C.
  • Apr 6, 2015
great hotel

The hotel was great. Staff was friendly and very helpful/accommodating. only thing I wished was... See full review

  • Nelson A.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Miami boutique hotel on Washington Avenue with cabanas, VIP club access.

This 49-room boutique hotel packs in the amenities on the fashionable Washington Avenue. Guests can live like South Beach locals with complimentary passes to nightclubs, alfresco dining and private cabanas for people watching. Look for feng shui spaces with bamboo floors, soft lighting and floating Japanese-style furniture.

Highlights
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport to the hotel
  • Free cocktails between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Two blocks from Ocean Drive and close to South Beach nightclubs
  • VIP passes to clubs
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Rooms

South Beach is a mix of Mediterranean, Miami modern and Art Deco styles, but the Chelsea Hotel opts for a different aesthetic. Rooms have an Asian quality, thanks to full-slate bathrooms, amber lighting, bamboo floors and platform beds. Black-and-white jacquard-printed drapes create more sex appeal.

Features

The hotel tends to the needs of guests, from VIPs to budget travelers. A shuttle runs every day from Miami International Airport to pick up visitors.

 

Every night, the lobby bar hosts a free happy hour between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. Free VIP passes to area clubs allows for smooth entry past the velvet rope.

Transportation
  • Transportation
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (4 minutes)
  • Miami Convention Center (17 minutes)
  • Miami International Airport (21 minutes)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (35 minutes)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.7 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $15 plus tax per day payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami International Airport and complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel will also authorize up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate at check-in. Guests using check cards should be aware that it might take up to 10 days for the bank to release the authorized funds.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Chelsea Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Two double sized or one queen sized walnut platform bed with down comforters/duvet and 300-thread count linens. Flat-panel TV with 66 premium cable including HBO, CNN & BET. Minibar, compact refrigerator and in-room safe. Slate bathrooms, vessal sunken ceramic sink, spa styled shower with mirrored wall and glass partition. Guest room is wrapped from floor to ceiling in walnet wood, drapes are baroch velvet with hints of mustard and beige. Complimentary wireless internet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chelsea Bar & Restaurant
Before you head out to any one of the South Beach nightclubs that are just steps from our door, have a cocktail and enjoy the vibe at the Chelsea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LOU SARAT
BOCA RATON FL
Dec 21, 2012

GREAT PLACE GREAT STAFF

MY GIRLFRIEND AND I HAD A GREAT TIME THERE!! THE STAFF WAS AS GREAT! LEAVING IN FLORIDA THIS PLACE WILL BE ON LIST TO VISIT AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NikNak73
Business
Dallas
Apr 27, 2015

Solo trip

Second stay at the Chelsea & once again, I was impressed. I arrived late so I missed the free HH. However, I fell in luv with room #114! I will definitely be requesting this room on future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 25, 2015

Girls Trip

We had a great time. The hotel was really cute, clean and in a great location. Walking distance from the beach and the strip. I've booked another stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoFlyer
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Worst Sleep Of My Life

First I'll start with the positives. The hotel was in an great location. It was walking distance to the beach, restaurants, bars, shops, ect. I also liked the shuttle to and from the airport. Just be aware that it starts running at 7-8am so if you have an earlier flight, you will be out of luck. The hotel room was small but clean for the most part. As far as the negatives, I only really have one big one. The walls/floors are literally paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING! All day and night I can hear the footsteps of the person above me to the point where I can hear what part of the room they were in. It was very loud and something you just couldn't ignore. I was on the second of three floors. I called the front desk to let them know about the issue and asked for a room change. I think his name was Andrew said he would see what was available and call my room back. I didn't receive a call back AT ALL. I went down to the front desk later to schedule a shuttle and he was like, oh you're the one who called earlier? We called the person above you and let them know about the noise their making Okay!? Of course you can't stop someone from walking on a floor so the noise and problem continued all night and all morning. I got maybe three hours of sleep that night. My suggestion will be to stay in a room away from the bar (to avoid the music they play) and on floor 3 if you want any sleep at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauren
Business
N/A
Apr 16, 2015

Good deal for spring breakers

I booked this hotel with four other friends in their standard two bed/one bath room for spring break this year. We were greeted with a friendly staff and were givin an overview of all the fees upfront. Valet was also offered that was around $30 a night. They even had a free happy hour on all alcohol at their lobby bar , so that was a plus. The only thing my friends an I didn't like is that there was no access to the hotels pool. We were excited to be able to lounge in the sun on the roof top pool that was shown in pictures of the hotel online, but once we arrived we were told that the hotel pool is only accessible to customers that are staying in the hotel suite. Another downside of this hotel was the size of the bathroom. This would've been perfectly ok for a couple, but with five people total in a room and all girls getting ready for the night, it was extremely difficult to use the mirrors/bathroom. Overall, the price you pay to stay is worth it , considering the great location it is in, being about only a block away from major resturaunts, shops, bars and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Traveler
Business
Edgewater
Apr 8, 2015

Horrible Staff - Stay Away!

Horrible staff that is unhelpful and customer service is definitely NOT a priority. I was absolutely appalled by the (nonexistent) service of the staff at Chelsea Hotel. The front desk staff are passive aggressive and make you feel like you are a bother if you ask questions and for any type of assistance - they just don't want to be there! I book my vacation package and the site does not allow one to select the # of guests in a room if purchasing flights for one person. Yet I put in a special request for an add'l rollaway bed (you would think that the hotel would assume you are staying with more than one guest). The hotel completely disregards that request and assigns my friends and I a room with one king bed. They tell us to check back the next morning for a room w double beds - mind you, they are annoyed and bothered by us at this point and want us to go away. We wake up early in an effort to have our room switched out and the female staff member is frowning and raises her eyebrows as she checks the system to let us know that we'll need to pay more for an upgrade! Is a room with double beds an upgrade? I've always had the option of choosing btwn these two types of rooms at the same price! You are better off paying a bit more and staying at a decent hotel willing to provide good customer service to their guests. Location is the only thing going for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Traveler
Business
Edgewater
Apr 8, 2015

Horrible Staff - Stay Away!

Horrible staff that is unhelpful and customer service is definitely NOT a priority. I was absolutely appalled by the (nonexistent) service of the staff at Chelsea Hotel. The front desk staff are passive aggressive and make you feel like you are a bother if you ask questions and for any type of assistance - they just don't want to be there! I book my vacation package and the site does not allow one to select the # of guests in a room if purchasing flights for one person. Yet I put in a special request for an add'l rollaway bed (you would think that the hotel would assume you are staying with more than one guest). The hotel completely disregards that request and assigns my friends and I a room with one king bed. They tell us to check back the next morning for a room w double beds - mind you, they are annoyed and bothered by us at this point and want us to go away. We wake up early in an effort to have our room switched out and the female staff member is frowning and raises her eyebrows as she checks the system to let us know that we'll need to pay more for an upgrade! Is a room with double beds an upgrade? I've always had the option of choosing btwn these two types of rooms at the same price! You are better off paying a bit more and staying at a decent hotel willing to provide good customer service to their guests. Location is the only thing going for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyiana C.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Great Value

This hotel was conveniently located near the beach, and inexpensive places to eat. The staff was very helpful but the outdoor furniture needs to be updated. Overall my stay here was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nele
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Good location

Hotel room was clean but very small, also it didn't have a dresser to put our clothes in, but overall the room was nice and the hotel is in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alejandra A.
Business
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

Girls Getaway

Staff is great! Check-in was a breeze. We arrived and we're in our rooms within 15 mins. Rooms are decent but the bathrooms are extremely small. Probably take up only 5 of the room. I was in a group of 4 girls whom I am very close with thankfully. If not I don't believe I would have felt comfortable. But overall, I enjoyed my time in the Chelsea especially with the one hour open bar ]. Great price and slept great, what more can you ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skyler E.
Business
Rocky Mount
Mar 16, 2015

Good Vacation

Hotel Chelsea was in a great location. 2 blocks area from the beach and many restaurants. Room was pretty small. Staff was really nice and drinks free from 7-8 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top