Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
View map of 1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
207 reviews
aweson hotel

Love this hotel!! I will stay again. Love the outside by the pool it very relaxing. See full review

  • Kimyata G.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Miami for the Weekend

I had a last minute trip to miami and this hotel was in a perfect location and was for a great... See full review

  • Haley R.
  • Apr 15, 2015
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
General
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Location

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area, in the heart of the Art Deco district. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. This 1938 restored hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides complimentary property-wide Wi-Fi access and meeting rooms that can host for up to 45 people. 

Dining

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

Rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen TV with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and coffeemaker. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. 

Highlights
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Nearby attractions
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
Policies

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$68
3.5 / 5 253 reviews
★★★
$60
3.4 / 5 137 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★
$58
3.1 / 5 74 reviews

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 207
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
4
Value:
2.1

31% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aurora Family Man
Family
Aurora, IL
Jul 29, 2014

Not what I was expecting for the price unfortunately

For the price, I was expecting a lot more from this hotel. To start, the room was extremely dirty and had no drawers at all to store clothing. We got the 2 bed suite for my family of 4 and we had to make due with the 4 hangers that were left to us in the closet. The room had a stale smell to it that I could only imagine came from the wall air conditioner unit that was mounted above the closet and leaked onto the passageway floor. We ended up making a reservation at a nearby hotel and staying there at a much better price in a room with drawers, hangers and no leaky air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

No need for a car to get around. Everything is in walking distance

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ccamp1
Family
NJ
Apr 10, 2014

SoBe Spring Break with Family

The hotel was nice except the room was a little sparse. There wasnt even a dresser for clothes. Living out of the suitcase for 4 days is fine when single, but when with the family is not a good experience. Plus the AC wouldnt stay on when we left the room so when we returned the room was an oven. It was also a bit noisey. But i wont hold that against them since we were in a GREAT location on South Beach. On the good side the staff was fanatastic and very helpful. Also they didnt bother us when we went next door to the liquor store for $2.50 beers as opposed to $6 at the hotel bar. I totally recommend for the adventurous family. The location was superb and price was reasonalbe. Beach was super close!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont go to the first place you see, there were a lot of hidden gems and great places to eat if you search a bit.

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyduck
Family
DC
Dec 29, 2013

Everything You Need At A Bargain Rate

This was my 4th or 5th stay at The Carlton. Miami Beach prices are higher over Xmas and the Carlton is no exception. It is however a bargain relative to it's competitors. Located almost at the corner of Collins and Espanola Way it is near the beach (1 block), Jerry's Deli (across the street and dozens of bars restaurants and shops The rooms are comfortable and spotless. The A/C, wi-fi, and tv work well (note-only basic 22 channel tv). My only complaint is that an additional lamp would help. The service is great. Naomi at the desk is a delight. Finally, few SOBE hotels have pools. The Carlton's pool, which gets sun from 10-5, is clean, comfortable and a real pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua (Best Cuban Rest.) and Manolo (Best Cuban Baked Goods) are only 7 and 8 blocks away ..

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reeta the traveller
Family
St. Louis, Missouri
Feb 18, 2013

Unearable stay

We booked 2 nights stay in this hotel. As soon as we enter the hotel we knew hotel wasn't going to be good. Decor at the lobby looked 1* hotel. Once we came to to the room, it was cold. It was raining outside, temperature was really low. We called the front desk, they said somebody will come, nobody showed up. It was late night. They had air conditioner on all night. My brother is 75, just got out of neumonia. He was sleeping with wool cap on, sweater on. I was frozen, couldn't sleep all night. In the morning we decided to go to another hotel for 2nd night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyduck
Family
DC
Dec 28, 2012

Quality at a low price

The Carlton is located on Collins AV almost at Espanola Way. Across the street from Jerry's Deli and Grill Fish good dining is steps away. Perhaps more importantly, the beach is one short block away. The rooms are pretty basic but very comfortable. The staff is mst gracious and helpful, the free wi-fi strong and the pool is very nice. I We stayed over Xmas and the price was surprisingly low. I'll be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jerry's Deli is NY south. Huge menue, Best corned beef for over a thousand miles. All in Soth Beach's best example of Art-Deco Splendor

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveMiami
Family
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Visiting Family

We were a visitng family of 6 young adults & teenagers with an add'l family member who ended up staying with the boys for the week in 2 rooms. The hotel staff including bartenders were courteous and friendly. We did have minor inconveniences ie. broker toilet seat cover, lack of towels, and broken air conditioner but maintenance were quick on the repairs and accommodating us with extra towels & shampoos. The location was excellent only a block away from Ocean Ave. The young adults loved the nite life and we all loved the beach, local resturants and shopping. We took a day trip to Key West a must see if you never been. Would have prefer free parking for guest instead of the $25.00/$27.00 fee per day. The street parking turned out to be better. We had a wonderful time and I would definitely stay there again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Leon, Mexico
Aug 1, 2011

Really Bad

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach it's like a Table Dance, I Should leave from there and no body give me my money back. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
nyc
Apr 27, 2011

very bad service

the hotel was not clean they are not customer servce driven not good servce in all areas. the hotel is can pass for a motel not a hotel, towels not so nice. the carpet very dirty.there is nothing nice about the hotel not even the rooms they charge you $12.50 plus $0.83 tax for 2 bottle of water and using their beach towel. the siming pool was very dirty, the chairs on the entrancce are old.what u see on there website is all there expect that is is very old and smaller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food in that area is very reasonable loved it every thing was very nice with the resturants in miami

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Mexico
Jan 4, 2011

Good

Its good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
alaska
Dec 24, 2010

bad and ugly

the room was terrible.the front desk was rude, internet didn't work in the room and they made me pay for it any way. the t.v. channels didn't come in very well, called the front desk they said theyed send someone up and never did. over all i would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iron sushi, great food great price.

Back to menu Return to top