$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Carlton Hotel, South Beach

3 stars
1433 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
253 reviews
Perfect place to stay for the beach

This is a nice little beach hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is great and you can... See full review

  • Thankslb
  • Apr 8, 2014
Not Bad At All.

Great location near beach. Just 1 block away. Very convenient. See full review

  • Lafourcade
  • Aug 31, 2014
Boutique stay in South Beach with minimalist design, pool and more

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach is located in Miami's trendy South Beach area, in the heart of the Art Deco district. The beach is less than a block away, and Miami's top nightclubs are within easy reach. This 1938 restored hotel has a range of facilities including an Olympic-sized swimming pool with sun loungers and tropical gardens. The hotel also provides complimentary property-wide Wi-Fi access and meeting rooms that can host for up to 45 people. 

Reasons to stay
  • Located in Miami's swanky South Beach area, famous for its beach, art-deco architecture and vibrant night life
  • Olympic-sized swimming pool
  • Easy access to restaurants, galleries and shopping
  • Meeting space for up to 45 guests
Carlton Hotel South Beach rooms

The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms are stylish and chic with a range of amenities. Find crisp whites everywhere, from the textured blankets to All The Carlton Hotel, South Beach rooms have flat-screen TV with premium satellite channels, free Wi-Fi access, safe deposit box, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and coffeemaker. Bathrooms offer natural bath products and waffle-weave bathrobes. The hotel has three types of rooms: deluxe double queen, deluxe king and superior double queen, all with Egyptian cotton down comforters. Some of the rooms have views of the swimming pool. 

Things to do nearby
  • Espanola Way (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Mansion Miami (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Drive (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Art Deco Historic District (0.7 mi/1.3 km)
  • Miami Beach Botanical Garden (0.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Collins Avenue (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
Policies and Fees

  • A nightly resort fee of $14.14 USD will be charged. (Inclusive of beach and pool towels, local phone calls and Wi-Fi access).
  • A credit card authorization amounting to $150 USD is required at check-in for incidentals and damages. Return of this amount may take 7 to 10 days after check-out.
  • Guests should be 21 years old and above to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlton Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carlton Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Pool View Double
Spectacular pool view rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Pool View King
Spectacular pool view rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic Double
Rooms feature two double beds fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.
Classic King
Rooms feature one king size bed fitted with cozy down comforters & pillows as well as 300 thread count linens. Amenities include wireless internet, bathrobes & spa bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 7, 2007

The Worst stay EVER!

The Carlton Hotel was the worst I've ever stayed at. The employees were very rude never cracked a smile of politeness once. The carpet was nasty, bugs in the bathroom. Our phone didn't work the sheets had stains on it from previous visitors. I could go on and on but I'm sure you get the picture. The location was the best part of the whole trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two popular clubs down a couple of blocks from the hotel, club Mansion and SO BE Live.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddy
Business
NY
May 12, 2009

DONT BELIEVE WHAT YOU SEE!!!

Everything was missing from the hotel. I would never book a reservation without seeing the hotel. every- thing they show on the pictures wasn't true. Nothing like in the picture. Bad staff didn't find my reservation had to wait about 2 hours to go to check in and go to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Birthday Traveler
Business
Maryland
May 28, 2009

Oh No!

The rooms were too small and the bathrooms were so nasty, you didn't want your feet to touch the floor or shower. They didnt want to give us towels, there was no room sevice and the furniture was falling apart. They tried to charge an extra fee per day plus tax that was not stated anywhere in my reservations. This was definitely the worst hotel I had ever been in. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dallas, tx
Aug 15, 2009

Terrible...should not recommend

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was like a 10x10 room for two people. It was dirty and not kept up with. We actually left within 10 minutes of being there and went to find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
miss j.
Business
charlotte, nc
Sep 20, 2009

horrible

This hotel is horrible. unclean, molded rooms. Very small double bed room, not big enough for 4 people. There was mold growing out the closet, the room smelled and the carpet was NASTY. and to top it all off the service was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susie and Fatima
Business
New Jersey
Sep 28, 2009

Not Very Happy....

Once we got to the Carlton Hotel we were excited, this was my first trip so I was super hyped up. Once we got there and went to the room it was so musky and smelled disgusting. We thought maybe it was just cause they turned the AC on, but once we settled in, left and came back we still had the same issue. On top of that the Air Conditioner wasn't even working so the room was so hot. It felt like a 100 degrees in that room. I go and complain to front desk during the night shift and he totally didn't want to hear it. He acted as if we didn't know how to work anything. He preceeded to the room after we told him that it's cooler in the lobby then the room, I might as well sleep here. He had such an attitude and wasn't polite whatsoever. After telling him over and over again about the issues, about a half hour later he decides to give us another room. I feel like his job is to make the guests happy. He didn't even attempt to, it was more like he wanted us to beg and that was definitely uncalled for. Even when we got this new room (room 109 was the old one and room 129 was the new one) the people above us made so much noise and banging throughout the entire night. We complained and still was bothered by all the noise from this one room. Nothing was done. I was not satisfied with the service at all. The morning staff were more accomadating as well as the bartenders and cleaning dept. Other then that I was very disappointed being that this was my first vacation. We shouldn't have to literally explain over and over again what's going on with a room. We also were suppose to get a mini fridge and didn't get that either. I mentioned it to the front desk and they said we weren't suppose to have one, but I told them when I booked the tickets they gave u the option to have 2 queen size beds or one king size bed with a mini fridge. The whole purpose in me and my family getting a king size was for the fridge. On a scale from 1 to 10, 1 being the worse and 10 the best. The Carlton gets a 2.5, I will not recommend this hotel to others at all. We should have been reinbursed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Morlok
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 17, 2009

The Ugly truth

The hotel was not very clean. The room was big but the furniture is very old and almost destroyed. It seems that they dont renovate the hotel very often.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Rock. If you like Sushi you should try this one in Collins Av.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grad
Business
NY
Dec 18, 2009

Not realy good

hidden charges

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seminole, fl
Feb 11, 2010

this is not a pleasant place

no good too small and no hot water in tub and not safe for mei have had surgery at u miller eye on wed it no good we request refund back manger said ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlton Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNHAPPY BADGIRLZ4LIFE
Business
NEW JERSEY
Feb 18, 2010

HOTLE FROM HELL

I arrived at the hotel at 1:30pm only to find out that I could not check in until 4pm. The representaive at the desk informed me that it was going to be a 250.00 dollar security hold on my credit card, and that I will have to pay $25.00 dollars per night for parking, in addition to 12.50 per night for misc. things.[...] I also requested for a late checkout for when it was time for me to leave. The day of my checkout I had returned to the hotel after I had been out shopping the desk clerk requested that I leave the hoel or pay and additioanl $79.00 for a late checkout.I explain to the desk clerk that we had already taken care of this problem when we checked in, and that we requested for a late checkout, do to the fact that our plane was not leaving until 8:50pm that night. However they were not nice nor helpful, so I aggreed to pay the $79.00 to stay there until it was time for us to go to the airport. Half hour later the hotel room phone rang and it was the from desk, it was the manager requesting that we leave or she will call the police on us. I explain to her that I spoke to the desk clerk and he gave me th option, but she didnt not want to listen. Therefore we had to checkout at 3:00pm and just hang out on the beach and drive around until it was time to leave Miami, which was at 8:50pm that night. I do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The picture on the web site is not what the rooms look like. Even though they change the sheets the sheets still have stains on them. I tried to talk to the manager when I was checking out, however she told the front clerk she do not want to deal with me. I thought that was so unprofessional for her, and to treat me as being a visitor to her home town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was close to all sort of attraction, you really dont need a car,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top